
qlawdat |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I got into a brief argument last night about preparing spells. A fellow player was pretty sure he had read somewhere that you can only prepare spells once per day, and he thought it specified once every 24 hours. I don't think that is true. I am pretty sure a "day" starts after you take an eight hour rest, and the 24 hour period has nothing to do with it. Now what he could have been thinking of is how clerics prepare spells, which seems to indicate they have time sync it up with the time of day. This was all good and fine until I mentioned the ring of sustenance, which has an odd phrase it.
This ring continually provides its wearer with life-sustaining nourishment. The ring also refreshes the body and mind, so that its wearer needs only sleep 2 hours per day to gain the benefit of 8 hours of sleep. This allows a spellcaster that requires rest to prepare spells to do so after only 2 hours, but this does not allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day. The ring must be worn for a full week before it begins to work. If it is removed, the owner must wear it for another week to reattune it to himself.
Now I am not sure how it works. Anyone know the ruling?