![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() Does the weapon have the same bulk fully loaded as it does empty? Or do we add the ammunition to the weapon? For example, a Flame Rifle has a bulk of 1. It requires Petrol. A standard Petrol Tank has a Bulk of 1. So is loaded Flame Rifle bulk 2? No angle here, just trying to figure out the bulk of my weapons. ![]()
![]() No special plans, just curious. Can a Paladin wield a Sword of Life Stealing? Not sure why they couldn't, just seems like a very un-paladin-like weapon name. Only spell required in creation is Enervation, which despite being Necromancy and a negative energy effect, is a non-evil spell. ![]()
![]() Really confusing me, but I doubt there's really an official answer out there. Okay, so can I dual wield two instances of Unarmed Strike? Or rather, is the ability to strike Unarmed considered it's own weapon that can be many weapons, or is Unarmed Strike unable to be wielded twice? For example, a caster uses Magic Weapon on a Monk's Unarmed Strike. Since the Monk is dual wielding those two unarmed strikes, is only one affected by Magic Weapon, or are they both affected by the same spell? I know with natural weapons, like paired claws, a spell would need to distinguish which claw it applied to. Regarding unarmed strike, I'm under the impression that it can represent any body part, or even the entire body, of the character, so affecting a single weapon becomes very abstract. ![]()
![]() Just a double check, to conditional modifiers to saves for the character apply to the save for an item in your possession? For example, would the Dwarf Racial Trait Hardy apply it's bonus to saves for weapons that the Dwarf is wielding? In a more specific example, the Spell Break. If I cast this spell on the Dwarf's Weapon, does the +2 racial bonus on saves Vs Spells apply to the saves for this weapon? I think the answer is yes to all of them, but doublechecking because it is somewhat illogical that the racial bonus would improve the saves of held objects. ![]()
![]() If you earned the xp level up during combat, can you level up during combat? Furthermore, how do HP gained through leveling up or additional spells spell per day get applied during combat? For sake of arguement, assume the PC has already built their next level character, so this isn't going to slow the game down. Does the PC *suddenly* remember that they have more health and that they can cast a few more spells today? Or rather, when does leveling up happen and how does it manifest in-game? ![]()
![]() How does bleed work and why is this a useful Cantrip? Why doesn't it have the Evil Descriptor (is there a non-evil way to use this spell...)? And does it work on creatures subject to Ferocity or Orc Ferocity? Furthermore, how would the caster know who is an eligible target for Bleed? Just sort of assumed to work on enemies that become unconscious during combat...? Or is the caster automatically aware who is eligible as a target upon casting this spell? ![]()
![]() First, any reason I'd need to be unarmored, unencumbered, or using unarmed strike to use the Monkey Style feat? Second, while Crawling on all fours, am I considered having 4 legs for things where the number of legs matter (like carry weight)? Third, any mechanical reason I can't employ a shield or melee weapons while prone/crawling? ![]()
![]() If my PC is small in size, and they cast Reduce Person to make them Tiny, would a reach weapon have a reach of 0ft or 5ft? Not in the FAQ for the CRB, though seems like it should be. Doesn't even require an obscure character build for this one to come up - Just needs a Gnome or Halfling with their 1st level in Wizard or Sorcerer and a Longspear for their weapon. I'm wondering with regards to a PC in Core PFS. ![]()
![]() Several of the books and rules reference subgroups of animals without actually explaining how those groups are defined. Are these defined groups, or is it intended as a vague rule entirely up to the GM? Is the idea that I just look them up on wikipedia, or is there some offical resouce that groups them together? For example, the Boar Shaman archetype for the druid gains bonuses when summoning boars "and other porcine creatures. Is "Porcine" a defined term in pathfinder? I can find it on webster's dictionary, but that's not an offical rules resource. . ![]()
![]() If my Kineticist has a hook hand, can they use that "hand" to gather power? Not sure if Gather power is referencing the literal use of hands or if they just are referencing the pathfinder limit on weapons used (like only being able to use two hands worth of weapons in a given turn). Needless to say, loss of 1 hand is pretty crippling for the kineticist. ![]()
![]() If the Phantom is resigned to provided passive buffs via Shared Consciousness (Su) does it count towards the PFS limit on pets (mount, combat pet, and non-combat pet)? Not sure if I'm wording it right, but I'm wondering if I can take a level dip in Spiritualist for those two skill focuses via Shared Consciousness (Su) without having it affect my limit on pets provided the phantom stays in my "mind" and never manifests during the session. If wondering, the angle is just trying to get more skill bonuses to counterbalance on an unconventional build that has large penalties to important skills (trying to get the double peg leg character to function....). ![]()
![]() Tinkering with Pirate builds, and an interesting question arose. If a Druid is missing a limb (perhaps because they have a hook hand or peg leg), does their wild shape include those missing limbs as if they weren't missing? More specifically, I'm wondering if the penalties for peg legs or the lack of hand for a hook hand will carry over to the wild shaped form. It is notable that the peg legs are not armor, merely non-magical, slottless equipment. Is there some sort of more general FAQ reguarding polymorph effects and missing limbs? I probably missed it, might be very obvious and even in the CRB. ![]()
![]() Any reason my Spiritualist would be unable to wear heavy armor or use a tower shield? Obviously, I'd be really crippled without the feats, but just double checking there isn't an actual rule that prevents the spiritualist from having a Phantom and lots of armor - the summoner has a rule like that, I think, which is why I'm asking. ![]()
![]() Sling Flail feat. When used as a flail, does the weapon have the Disarm and Trip weapon properties as per a normal Flail? I'm inclined to say it does, but it really doesn't say. Looking for a second opinion. ![]()
![]() Rather obscure and convoluted, but bear with me: Okay, 1st level Human Druid. Takes Vermin Heart and Ooze Whisperer. Aside from effects on wild empathy, both of these feats allow me to treat the creature type in the title (Vermin and Ooze) as if they were animals for spells and such. 2nd, and all later levels, are as Serpentine Sorcerer. Bloodline Arcana allows me to treat animals (and magical beasts and Monstrous Humanoids) as if they were humanoids that understood my language for the purposes of mind affecting/language dependent spells. So, since this character treats oozes and vermin as animals, and treats animals as humanoids, can I cast Charm Person (example) on Oozes and Vermin? Does it even work like this when I have multiple abilities that treat one as another? ![]()
![]() CRB says we can use Arrows as light improvised weapons (damage as dagger with x2 crit multiplier). As far as I read it, they'll get destroyed on a hit as normal for ammunition. Two questions arrise: First, are they still Ammunition from the stance of the actions required to draw them? Second, if the arrow is magical, is the effect still applied on a hit? Example, +1 Holy Arrows. My character is a 10th level fighter. He's got two attacks with +1 holy arrows, the first at +6 (+10-4 for improvised) and the second at +1(+5 for the second swing, -4 for improvised). Without getting into other bonuses or penalties, first does the attack "use up" the arrow, requiring the fighter to draw a second arrow for his second attack? And if so, does any part of the +1 holy enhancement apply to this attack? PS: If not already answered in an FAQ somewhere, please tag for FAQ. This is a CRB issue and should have already been resolved. EDIT: On subject with unusual arrow uses, does an arrow thrown back with the Throwback Arrows Feat retain it's magical enhancements for this throw? ![]()
![]() Yeah, wondering if my animal Companion/Familiar/Eidolon/Phantom can equip the Peg Leg? The main advantage would be that the model would look really funny.... ![]()
![]() Came up recently, bothered me a bit. Bit of background, locally, GMs seem to have Animal companions, eidolons and so forth, all act on your initiative. This nerfs creatures with decent initiative, but doesn't really create problems otherwise and is mostly easier than having a bunch of different intiatives in the party. I understand this to be a PFS legal houserule. Not sure how exactly (can be done lots of ways), but one of the PCs in my party had ability that allowed his mount (an animal companion) where he got to use the best of his intiative and that of his companion. Is he allowed to do this? I mean, he's benefiting from rolling intiative on a creature that doesn't get roll initiative due to the above houserule. Irks me because I often play low dex builds, so my companions/familiars would normally be denied the benefit of their naturally high intiative due to the houserule of acting on my intiative. Especially annoying with creatures that innately have improved intiative, which is useless with this houserule in effect. Not looking to screw over the GM or the player, I'm asking for personal reference on my future characters. It bugs me, but ultimately, I want to know if I can do this in PFS with future characters, because it is a helpful loophole in the common PFS legal houserule above. ![]()
![]() If the enemy creature is Grappled, and I Succeed in Maintaining the Grapple, can I use a Conductive weapon to inflict a class based Sp/Su ability on them? For example, Grappling character has a level in Enchanter Wizard. Can they use a Conductive +1 Dagger to inflict Dazing Touch (Sp) on the Grappled Target? Doublechecking because the Conductive weapon requires hitting the target, and the grapple damage doesn't require a hit roll. Unclear if the grapple bypasses this requirement. ![]()
![]() Couldn't find a definitive answer in a search, so here her goes: If the target is flat footed, do they add their dex bonus to CMD? Specifically, I'm wondering if I can use Feint to lower the target's CMD via them being flat footed. And even more specifically, I'm looking for ways to increase my Wizard's ability to succeed in combat maneuvers. Nobody suspects the wizard... ![]()
![]() Love the idea for the weapon, but I've been struggling to grasp how having one would work to my advantage. Finally hit me and I recently acquired a Miniature with one equiped (Ork Runtherd from WH40k). Several bits of value running together. First, allows you to attempt Grapple with Reach. This means that if the target cannot reach you, they don't an AoO (or they do, just not an AoO that they can really use). Second, allows a grapple attempt in place of a melee attack (because this weapon grapples as a result of a successful melee touch attack). Third, enhancement Bonuses for the mancatcher (I think) would apply to the Grapple Maneuver with this weapon. Bane, for example, would add a further +2 on grapple attempts with the Mancatcher. Forth, Magical Properties of the weapon would apply to a grapple damage action with the mancatcher. So, in example, if the weapon had Flaming, the extra d6 damage could be applied here. Fifth, in combination, the key advantage with the above is that it's all one weapon for a single proficency. Normally you'd need multiple feats/weapons to accomplish the above. It would also be hard to combine this into a single class ability that modifies weapons. Okay, so, do I have this right? Disagreeing on the usefullness is fine, but I'm looking to doublecheck the accuracy of the rules involved, not the validity of the weapon. ![]()
![]() Can I wield a weapon with a Prosthetic Arm for the purposes of a Feint in combat? Specfically, I'm wondering if I can wield a Fighting Fan (a weightless weapon) for the purposes of it's "Distracting" weapon property (+2 bluff for feinting). Description at least implies that I can equip a shield with a prothetic arm, so I'm thinking I could at least be distracting with a Fighting Fan. This would be for PFS, which as far as I can tell, still lists Posthetic limbs as legal options (rules are found in UE, adventurers armory, and in Pirates of the Inner Sea). If wondering, planned character would also have a peg leg and worship Besmara. ![]()
![]() Overlooked this one in the past. Cooperation Subdomain allows a Tactician-like ability for Clerics (and the Urban Druid). Always wanted to do a caster with tactician, but couldn't find a good one before. So, question, Does the Synergystic Touch (Sp) require the target to meet the Teamwork Feat requirements to obtain the feat? For example, If my PC has the Combat Medic feat (requires 5 ranks in heal). I'm not talking about the requirements to use the feat (like being adjacent), but the requirements to select the feat normally. Same question, but for the Coordinated Effort spell..?Since it's a Domain spell for this subdomain. Ultimately, I'm trying to figure out which feats to take. If taking Combat Medic requires my allies to all have 5 ranks in heal to get any value from, then I won't bother. ![]()
![]() Okay, I've been running a Bonded Wizard because it is on my long bucket list of characters to try. I choose a longspear for my bonded object. One of the Archetype abilities is the option to, at will, apply disguise self and magic aura to the bonded object, treating it's object type as it's creature type (so, in my case, I can disguise it as other weapons, but not as an amulet or chair). So, my character which is a Human with Giant (Orge) ancestry has a "Heavy Flail" partially because the model has that weapon and partially because I want to not appear to be a wizard. So I've got this deformed and somewhat muscular, very ugly guy with a big Heavy Flail. The perfect non-wizard disguise... Didn't for this reason, but I'm wondering now that I've play a game with it disguised. If the Reach weapon is disguised as a non-reach weapon, how do the NPCs interact with it? If the NPCs can't penetrate the disguise, are they aware in where the weapon threatens? ![]()
![]() If I ready my Longspear to attack the enemy when they get in range, does this qualify for the brace property if the enemy happens to be charging? Or do I have to speficifically set for a charge and risk wasting my action if they just walk up normally? I guess I'm wondering how setting for a charge differs from a standard readied action to attack creatures when they get in range. I'm also trying to figure out if I can use Patient Strike with brace weapons to full effect. ![]()
![]() Recently found this gem of a feat (in a book I already owned...). Patient Strike isn't amazing for characters with high BAB, but I love it on my Wizard. Anyway, just doublechecking: I can use Patient Strike to preform combat maneuvers (at +2 CMB, since bonuses to attack add to CMB), right? Still has to be a maneuver that fuctions as a standard action, like sunder or disarm. ![]()
![]() Hellknight Plate is listed as being Masterwork Fullplate, with the Masterworking cost included in the profile (and the reduced armor check penalty also included in the profile). If I want a special material which normally includes the price of masterworking, how is the cost determined? Or is Hellknight Plate just ineligible for special materials which include masterworking costs? Can existing Masterwork Fullplate be upgraded to Hellknight Plate?
Ideally seeking an FAQ answer. ![]()
![]() I like the overall archetype, but what's the logic in Death Ward (Sp)? I mean, it takes a minute (10 rounds) to preform a ritual that only lasts for minutes per level. Is this, perhaps, an oversight? Can't use it in combat, doesn't last long enough to realistically use out of combat. Maybe right before you open the coffin or sarcophogus, but that's really the only realistic application. I feel like the ability is meant to read that it takes a standard action to preform, but only lasts for a single minute. Thoughts? ![]()
![]() Incorporeal says they have no Str, and use Dex for CMB, but doesn't address Stats used for CMD. Looking at the PFS legal Ghost Spike and I'm trying to figure out the CMD of ghosts and such. Looking at the Wraith from Bestiary 1, looks like they are adding dex instead of Str for CMD, but I'm not sure why. Second opinion..? ![]()
![]() Got a model I want to use that has a Bident (ancient greek weapon that is like a trident, but only 2 prongs). Pretty sure there aren't any rules for such a weapon in Pathfinder. Can I reskin an existing weapon (like a longspear) to be a Bident in PFS? No mechanical changes, but I know PFS is touchy about reskinning things. ![]()
![]() Okay, Heal Skill unlock from pathfinder unchained affects the Treat Deadly Wounds option. Normal treating of Deadly wounds is healing 1 HP per level of the creature. 5 ranks Treat Deadly Wounds is treated as 8 hours longterm care (heals 2 HP per level of the creature and 2 ability damage points). 10 ranks is a full day of longterm care (heals 4 HP per level of the creature and 4 ability damage points. Normal treating of deadly wounds also heals your wisdom bonus if you succeed by 5 or more. Longterm care options do not include this language. Am I correct in thinking that taking skill unlocks in Heal will prevent me from gaining my Wisdom bonus to Treat Deadly Wounds checks that succeed by 5 or more? Doesn't matter as much at 5th or 10th level, but it is an annoying loss. ![]()
![]() Came up in game, GM ruled favorably, but I'm curious what others think: Earth Wizard School, 2nd power, Acid Cloud (Su). Says it creates a cloud of acid vapor for 1 round. Two questions regarding this ability. 1st: Does it do damage immediately, then a second time if the creature doesn't move before the start of my next turn (1 round duration)? If only one time, which (when used, or if they don't move away)? 2nd: Does this count as a cloud effect (like fog, obscuring creatures more than 5ft in, and so forth)? GM ruled that it would do damage twice and counted as a cloud effect, but I'm unclear if they were being nice for expediency. This was for PFS, so I'll not likely have that GM next time. ![]()
![]() Not mentioned in Campaign Clarifications nor in Additional Resources. If I have a legal source that grants access to content from this book, can I use it? Specifically, Destiny of the Sands Part 3's Chronicle grants access to a magic weapon with a property only found in this book. The Legend Subdomain of the Glory Domain grants access to a feat from this book (subdomain is found in Divine Anthology). Probably others. Or, more broadly, if a Chronicle or PFS legal supplement references a book that isn't mentioned in Campaign Clarifications or Additional Resources, are we able to use it? ![]()
![]() Mainly a double check, since it sounds too awesome. Okay, Tengu Favored Class Bonus for the Oracle is +1/2 level for the purposes of their oracle curse (ARG). Tengu specific archetype for the Oracle, the Shigenjo (also ARG) grants a ki pool at 7th level. One of the listed options for using ki points for this archetype is to spend one to gain +5 to her oracle level for the purposes of resolving her Curse. This only lasts a round. So, my question, is there any sort of limit on how high my effective Oracle level can be for the purposes of resolving the Oracle Curse? Can it be more than 20? As above, a 7th level Tengu Shigenjo Oracle could have an effective Curse Level of 10 (rounded down), and then, for a round, increase it to 15. Not all the Oracle Curses grant any bonus beyond 20th level, but some do. At 12th level, the Tengu Oracle would have an effective curse level of 18, which could be raised to 23 via this ki ability. ![]()
![]() Can you create an illusion of the results of a detection spell? Like if you knew the opponent was going to cast detect magic, could you use Silent Image (or any illusion spell) to create what looked like a magical Aura? Obviously, if they weren't casting the detection spell, this would be a dead give-away, but mostly wondering if it can be done within the rules as written. ![]()
![]() At one point, the Ninja was considered to be unable to multi-class with the rogue due to them being considered the same class, not sure if this is still true. I also understand the ACG combined classes to each count as both parent classes for the purposes of multiclassing. Was looking to make a Ninja+Slayer, double checking if that is legal or not. Is it legal? This would be for PFS, if that matters.
|