Ebin

paul halcott's page

68 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.




If you can receive temp hp from multiple sources do they all stack? For example, if you have Aid cast on you, Would Divine power add more or just replace what was lost?


Is there someplace this can be found? I know many of them are region spacific, but I am not a stickler on that aspect much. As it stands now, my players and I have to go through a boat load of books to find them. Just looking for a time saveing resource.


After reading the thread on entangle and invisiblity, it got me thinking. If an invisible caster casts an offensive spell (like Vampiric touch), does that end the invisiblity effect? I assume yes. Would I be right in that?


Please forgive my vagueness. I dont have my books with me.
In the world book, they mention a specialized ranger that uses firearms but give no details. The core rule book, IIRC, doesnt give any info on firearms (I know that IS in the world book. Has this been developed somewhere in another book? If not, does anyone no if plans are in the works for this? Thanks for any info you can give me.


I have a player who wants to make items that give a luck bonus. My first reaction was 'No Chance'. the concept of adding another layer of bonuses that stack to through numbers higher seems a bit gratuitous. However, I try to not make decisions that way. I went through the book to find examples where the luck bonus is granted. I found 3, Divine Power, Divine Favor and a Sorc bloodline ability. Granted, I might have missed some, but I tried to be thorough. Even if I did miss some, it seems that luck bonuses are hard to come by.

Having said this, are there rules for making items that give specific bonus types? If not, how is the bonus type determined if a pc wants to make magic items. And mostly, am I wrong for the base assumption that allowing him to make luck bonus based items will quickly create a situation that can get out of hand and therefore I should stick to my guns and say no.


To cast a spell from a scroll that you are not high enough level, you need to make a caster level check. The DC is Spell's caster level +1. Now, I assume the spells caster level would be the level needed to cast the spell on the scroll (Like, 5th level for a fireball penned by a 5th level caster.) But how is the caster check made? Would it be d20 + you current caster level. With the above fireball spell on a scroll (DC6) being used by a 3rd level wizard, he would need to roll better then a 3 on a d20. Is this right?


So, I am planning on using the Cav. class as a BBEG in an upcoming adventure. I was reviewing mounted combat with a friend of mine. The question is: If the horse has the feat trample, and the Cav has ride by attack and spirited charge, do all of them apply in each charging pass the guy makes? Can the horse trample the poor schlep thats about to get knocked around by the knight?


IF you are not of a level high enough to cast the spell needed for an item, but you have a scroll with it, Can you use that and just take the +5 dc penalty?

For example, My 5th level wizard just picked up craft wonderous item. Now he want to make himself a bag of holding. The required spell is Secret Chest, which he cant get until 9th level. However, he found a scroll last adventure with that spell. Can he use that to make the bag and how would the mechanics shake out for it?
Thanks in advance.


The rules say: No jump can allow you to exceed your maximum move,ent for the round.
So does that mean you cant move beyond your base movement rate? Or is a larger number, like running you get 4x your base?
If you do make a jump that carries you beyond your base, would that then count as a double move action?
In my group, the party is about to hit 5th level. If my math is correct (always in doubt), the monk, with the expenditure of a Ki point should be able to clear almost his whole 40ft move before he rolls the dice. A good roll will put him well beyond that. Knowing the player as well as I do, he will want to do the fancy kungfu movie flying leap kick stuff for the cool thematics of it, so I figure I should have my duck in a row before hand.

My first thought is if he tries an attack like that that takes him beyond his base move and manages to get the roll, treat it like a charge. If he is just covering distance (say jumping a gorge)it would count towards a double move and he could finish his move when he landed. Is this the correct reading and application of the rules?


Greatings all. A few weeks back I posted a related question. Now I am trying to work through the mechanics of it.

Basically, the party's Cleric has the Artificers Touch power through one of his domains. Now, he has started talking about using that ability to target the gear of the bad guys. If and when he does it, is it safe to assume that:

1) the power would cause this to be an 'armed' unarmed attack, much like touch range spells, and as such this part does not provoke an AoO?
2) it would be an attempt to Sunder, and as such this part would provoke the AoO?

If I am wrong on my first assumption, and he tried this trick on someone with Combat reflexes, would he be subject to 2 AoO's (one from attacking unarmed and one from Sunder) or is the sunder considered just part of the attack and as such is truely just one action with one AoO coming at him?

He has also talked about possibly taking a level in rogue. Would the Sneak damage also add to this. I have always assumed if a caster/rogue hit with a touch spell on a sneak, it applied, so why would/would not this be the case? My first thought is it should stack. Is it far fetched that his God might have given him insight into an unseen weakness in the item? On the other hand, as he advances, that could be a hassle to deal with.

Regardless of the oppinions on weather this is a good or bad plan on the players part, it is how he is planning his character, so please stick to the relevant details and avoid any issue on TO or sub-optimal builds or any of the other metagaming concepts.
Thanks in advance


If you have a magic weapon and you want to add a special property to it, can you? or do you need to start from scratch and remake the whole thing. I assume its the later, but I could find no definate answer either way. The close thing I could find, which is why I am leaning towards no, is the comment that you must decide if it will shed light before its finished. Thanks in advance.


A player in my group is currently running a cleric with the artificer domain. He plans to take a level of rogue at some point in the near future. My question deals with the rules for the sneak attack damage. With the Artificers Touch ability, you can do damage to objects and constructs with a touch attack. If the conditions allowed for the extra sneak damage on an attack (ie. the target was flanked), and the player chose to touch the weapon or armor, would the attack do the extra damage to the object for the sneak? Would it do the 1d6 for the ability plus the addition 1d6 for the sneak from a 1st level rogue?


If a character buffs an ability score that ties to a class power, does it effect the power? For example, A clerics Channel Energy ties to his Chr. If he casts Eagles Splendor on himself, can he get 2 extra uses of it a day? Common sense says no, and I thought I read somewhere that backed that sentament, but now I cant find it. Any help??