Temp. hit points


Rules Questions


If you can receive temp hp from multiple sources do they all stack? For example, if you have Aid cast on you, Would Divine power add more or just replace what was lost?

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

You only take the highest temp HP value. They cannot stack.

i.e. if someone gives you 5 temp HP with aid and then you use vampiric touch to gain 12 temp HP, you don't have 17 temp HP. You have 12.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
paul halcott wrote:
If you can receive temp hp from multiple sources do they all stack? For example, if you have Aid cast on you, Would Divine power add more or just replace what was lost?

They stack. No rule regarding temporary hit points has been changed to my knowledge. Note there are other threads about this subject on these boards.

The following the 3.5 FAQ:

Do temporary hit points from two applications of the same effect stack? What about from different effects? If I have temporary hit points from multiple sources, how should I apply damage?

Temporary hit points from two applications of the same effect don’t stack; instead, the highest number of temporary hit points applies in place of all others. Temporary hit points from different sources stack, but you must keep track of them separately.

For example, imagine a character who gained 15 temporary hit points from an aid spell. After taking 8 points of damage, she has 7 temporary hit points left from the spell. If another aid spell were cast on the same character granting 12 temporary hit points, this total would replace the other spell’s total, meaning the character would now have 12 temporary hit points (rather than 19). If the character then cast false life on herself, she would add the full benefit of that spell to the temporary hit points from the aid spell.

This also applies to temporary hit points gained from energy drain and similar special abilities. Each successful attack counts as one application of the effect (meaning that an attack that bestows 2 or more negative levels still counts as only one application of the effect). For example, a wight gains 5 temporary hit points each time it bestows a negative level with its slam attack. If it bestows another negative level while it has 2 temporary hit points remaining from the first attack, the new temporary hit points would replace the old ones.

Temporary hit points are “first-in, first-out.” Damage should be taken off the oldest temporary-hit-point-granting effect first; when that effect is exhausted, apply damage to the next oldest effect. For this reason, you must track each supply of temporary hit points separately.

Liberty's Edge

In the Paizo chat tonight, I asked James about stacking temp hp effects. He said if you cast Aid for 9, Heroes Feast for 12 and Vampiric Touch for 20, you just get the 20 from Vampiric and that's it. He also added that exceptions are noted where applicable, like a vampire's blood drain.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Pygon wrote:
In the Paizo chat tonight, I asked James about stacking temp hp effects. He said if you cast Aid for 9, Heroes Feast for 12 and Vampiric Touch for 20, you just get the 20 from Vampiric and that's it. He also added that exceptions are noted where applicable, like a vampire's blood drain.

That's what I thought. Excellent. Stacking temp HP is a bad idea. :)


Except... the very official Righteous vigor spell that clearly assumes you can stack its own temp hp without ever presenting this as a special case.
Hearsay from James is good, a FAQ would be better. I'm running into this issue with a monster with at-will vampiric touch. This can get very nasty.


FlorianF wrote:
Except... the very official Righteous vigor spell that clearly assumes you can stack its own temp hp without ever presenting this as a special case.

Just because its printed in a book does not make it correct. After all, we did get the Prone Shooter feat too. (There are no penalties on attack rolls when making ranged attacks while prone, so the feat does nothing.)

Or one of the feat prerequisites for Final Embrace Horror. {It requires ability Focus [Constrict]. Ability focus boosts the save DC of the special attack by +2, except that the Constrict special attack doesn't have a saving throw at all, so its a useless feat.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Temp. hit points All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.