Todd_Westcot wrote:
I downloaded the PDF's for the following: Paper minis familiarsPaper minis summon monster Paper minis summon nature's ally Thanks for any help you can provide!
Because the hunter (like the druid) is supposed to be a generalist in terms of their nature bond, I do not see a good reason to prohibit a hunter who is also a treesinger from choosing to treat their plant companion as their hunter companion. And the design team seems to agree with me that stacking is preferable to not stacking. FAQ wrote: (Note that the design team discourages players from having more than one companion creature at a time, as those creatures tend to be much weaker than a single creature affected by these stacking rules, and add to the bookkeeping for playing that character.) Could you share the thread the above was mentioned in? Thanks!!
chopswil wrote:
Fly can be +21 = +1 rank, +3 Dex, +6 Diminutive, +3 class skill, +8 perfect Escape artist would be +7 = +1 rank, +3 class skill, +3 Dex
Natural attacks are armed attacks. A creature without natural attacks can make only unarmed attack (unless attacking with a weapon of course).
I looked up where you suggested and on page 301 of the bestiary it says:"Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon)." Then on the next page it says about "Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons.....(....must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched....)." But then a couple paragraphs down it says "some fey, humanoids,.....do not possess natural attacks. These creatures can make unarmed strikes, but treat them as weapons for the purpose of determining attack bonuses...." So.... if you put all of this together, natural attacks would be considered melee attacks for the purposes of table 8-2 in the core rulebook? That would mean sorcerers with claws and wild shaped druids would also be making melee and not unarmed attacks??
I came across a thread that stated natural attacks are not the same as unarmed attacks. Is that so? I know in the rulebook on pg 182 it describes them both but on table 8-2 under standard actions, it lists attack (melee), attack (ranged), and attack (unarmed),but no attack (natural). Are natural attacks melee or unarmed?? Could you please document your answer??
It does say so, and I believe it says so at more than one place. The second sentence in the eidolon section states that you can change them whenever you gain a new level (same applies to the Aspect ability if you make use of it). Duhhhhh......boy did I fail my perception check!! I guess I just needed to step away from the pdf for awhile because I kept missing that. If it would have had teeth, I would have some serious bites right now!! Just like being in the grocery store and can't see what you want on the shelf....someone else has to point it out!! I had been reading and rereading and playing around with making a character and just couldn't "see" it anymore. Thanks so much!!
Jason Bulmahn wrote:
Could you please explain, then, how do you get to use the 3 or 4 point evolutions? If they don't stack and can't be saved, I don't see a way to use the 3 or 4 point evolutions. First level would be your only chance to use a 3 point evolution and you could never use a 4 point evolution because you only gain 1 or 2 evolution points a level. Unless, as someone mentioned in another post, you can rebuild at each level. If you can, then, in my two cent opinion, it needs to come right out and say so and eliminate all of this ambiguity. This needs to be clarified much better. Thanks. (not angry or upset, just confused) :-)
On page 40 of the Pathfinder Core Rulebook, the second paragraph under Channel Energy states: "A good cleric..... channels positive energy and can CHOOSE to deal damage to undead creatures OR to heal living creatures. An evil cleric ...... channels negative energy and can CHOOSE to deal damage to living creatures OR to heal undead creatures." I am taking this to mean that when you release your wave of energy, you need to decide if your going to damage or heal---not both. The reason I think this is because of the words in caps:choose and or. It is a very intense topic of discussion on what that means with our home group. Any other insight would be appreciated. Thanks. |