kantas's page

69 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




I'm playing a Sorcerer, and we are in a town waiting for an army to arrive before we commence with our next mission.

my question is, I want to start adding Flaming Burst to our fighters Falcata.

If I'm on day 2 of crafting and the army arrives, is our fighter allowed to use the weapon and i continue crafting after our "adventuring" for that day using the 4 hrs nets 2 hrs of crafting rules?

My gut tells me that if we need to go and respond to the army that's arriving we cannot use the sword that i'm working on.


2 questions both working around the vishkanya and natural weapons.

1) Can it be done? Can a Vishkanya poison their natural weapons prior to attacking with them?

Toxic Ability:
A number of times per day equal to his Constitution modifier (minimum 1/day), a vishkanya can envenom a weapon that he wields with his toxic saliva or blood (using blood requires the vishkanya to be injured when he uses this ability). Applying venom in this way is a swift action. Vishkanya Venom: Injury; save Fort DC 10 + 1/2 the vishkanya's Hit Dice + the vishkanya's Constitution modifier; frequency 1/round for 6 rounds; effect 1d2 Dex; cure 1 save.

2) I kind of assume this one is a no... but i'm curious what other people think.

Can a Vishkanya Summoner (synthesist) poison the eidolon's natural weapons?

Fused Eidolon:
A synthesist summons the essence of a powerful outsider to meld with his own being. The synthesist wears the eidolon like translucent, living armor. The eidolon mimics all of the synthesist’s movements, and the synthesist perceives through the eidolon’s senses and speaks through its voice, as the two are now one creature.

While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist uses the eidolon’s physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution), but retains his own mental ability scores (Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma). The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points. When these hit points reach 0, the eidolon is killed and sent back to its home plane. The synthesist uses the eidolon’s base attack bonus, and gains the eidolon’s armor and natural armor bonuses and modifiers to ability scores. The synthesist also gains access to the eidolon’s special abilities and the eidolon’s evolutions. The synthesist is still limited to the eidolon’s maximum number of natural attacks. The eidolon has no skills or feats of its own. The eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist. The eidolon must have limbs for the synthesist to cast spells with somatic components. The eidolon’s temporary hit points can be restored with the rejuvenate eidolon spell.
While fused, the synthesist loses the benefits of his armor. He counts as both his original type and as an outsider for any effect related to type, whichever is worse for the synthesist. Spells such as banishment or dismissal work normally on the eidolon, but the synthesist is unaffected. Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature. The synthesist and eidolon cannot take separate actions. While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist can use all of his own abilities and gear, except for his armor. In all other cases, this ability functions as the summoner’s normal eidolon ability (for example, the synthesist cannot use his summon monster ability while the eidolon is present).

I kind of think it could work because of the bolded text...

but at the same time, I also think it couldn't work, because the Summoner isn't wielding the Eidolon's natural attacks.

Thoughts?


Howdy Folks

I recently was asked a question about a save DC for a wand of hold person.

I was under the impression that when you make a wand the wand spell version automatically uses the lowest casting stat required to be able to cast the spell...

however i cannot find the rule that specifies that... also cannot find anything about the cost for something like that... I would think that the cost of a Wand of Hold Person DC 20 would be more expensive than a wand of hold person DC 15

does anyone know of any rules governing this??


Hi again,

This question is less of a theory question as my other ones, because it's coming up in our campaign very soon.

i've been doing some looking at the Dragon disciple class, and the natural weapons that they are granted.

so with the sorcerer class, you get claws that do normal damage for your size catagory, D4 (D3 if you're small).

Once you get into Dragon disciple class, and hit level 2 you get access to your bite attack, which doesn't have damage listed in the main rule book.

so if we check the natural weapons table, we see that for a medium character the claw and bite damage is D4 / D6 respectively.

however, at character level 7 (sorc 5, DD 2) the claws increase in damage die.

so now you're doing claw damage as a large creature. but your bite attack still functions as a medium creature. is this an oversight?

the increased strength damage seems more a throwback to the dragon bite damage always gaining 1.5x str added to damage. and less a DD class feature.

It seems as though the intent is to increase the damage dice of the sorc / DD character to the damage dice of a large creature... but it isn't really written that way.

so to clarify, cause i've been known to ramble...

DD bite attack - doesn't fit with the damage dice increase for claws, is this intentional?

another question

is D20pfsrd maintained by the guys at Paizo? or do they have nothing to do with it?

I did a search on here regarding, and the posts i looked at used just the character size as a rule on the bite damage.

Not related to the question, but i like telling stories, so most of my rules questions will probably come with some kind of story.

I'm going to be talking to my DM today, cause it's our game day so i'll get a ruling from his perspective today. likely our druid will resist, cause his character seems to dislike mine for no real rational reason, aside from i grappled him because he put on an amulet that we failed to Identify... then he told us that arcane casters cannot use the amulet at all, and divine casters must have it... however if people use the amulet it'll rain firey destruction down on us all.

so he promptly put on the necklace... then I grappled him to try and either get the necklace off him, or stop him from using it.

fortunately for me the rest of the group agrees with my actions.


Hi,

I'm playing a sorcerer in a campaign and the end goal is to perform a ritual to make the form of the dragon spells eventually permanent.

story behind the permanent FotD:
the understanding that the GM and i have is that this will hinder me in some ways... social interaction being a main thing. The area of the world we are living in don't really like red dragons (who does).

The character comes from and elven family, who had the draconic blood infused hundreds of years ago. the blood was 'forced' into the family line, so we don't enjoy talking about it. my character is exploring the draconic heritage to find out more about it, representative of a sorcerer / dragon disciple character.

It's going to be a bit of a character flaw with the red dragon blood instead of the brass dragon blood we had initially thought about. which will create situations where my char will make will saves to stop from say being a little too forceful with a hostage... or something along those lines. Something to work against the good nature of the party. and create some slightly awkward situations... I think it'll be a blast periodically roasting hostages :D

anyhow thanks for reading, on to the question

So the question becomes, If I'm under the effects of the Form of the Dragon spells, it seems to be generally accepted lore that dragons have "some" manual dexterity. But it's not enough to wield weapons.

as referenced in this post, specifically the last post

Dragon Questions

I quoted the 3.5 source manual the Draconomicon regarding dragons ability to wield weapons. But if i'm wielding a staff but not as a weapon, is that possible?

Does a dragon have enough manual dexterity to hold a staff, and use the magical properties of the staff during combat? or would they be prohibited from using the staff during combat?

I imagine that outside of combat when there is no danger, then the character would be able to take as long as needed to use the staff.

I'm leaning towards yes a dragon can use the magical properties of the staff, because the staff just needs to be held in order to use the spells in the staff.

however, from a balance perspective, I could understand not allowing it.

Thoughts? or any source material that comments on the actual ability of dragons to hold things in their hands, and the limitations of the dragon hands regarding manual dexterity.


If i'm a Sorcerer using the Draconic Bloodline, if i wandered into a nest of Kobolds, and wanted to brutalize them by turning into a dragon using Form of the Dragon (FotD) 1... lets say I'm Level 14, Sorc 6 DD 8.

If while i'm in FotD 1, i decide to use the sorcerer's bloodline power to grow claws.

the claws do the same damage, but the bite does less... however each of those attacks gains the +1D6 fire damage based on my dragon type.

so the question is...

while in Form of the Dragon, if i turn on the sorcerer claws ability, does the bloodline power super cede the natural attacks gained from FotD 1?

or do i gain the energy damage and use the more favorable bite damage?

obviously we can extrapolate this for future FotD spells, where the claw and bite damage are far superior to the claws gained from the sorc bloodline.