i208's page
Organized Play Member. 23 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.
|
Jeraa wrote: i208 wrote: How would these two abilities interact...?
Solo Tactics 3rd Level Inq ability: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/inquisitor/
Cooperative Crafting: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/cooperative-crafting/ They don't. Solo Tactics deals with teamwork feats. Cooperative Crafting isn't a teamwork feat. Derp
How would these two abilities interact...?
Solo Tactics 3rd Level Inq ability: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/inquisitor/
Cooperative Crafting: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/cooperative-crafting/
A circumstance bonus (or penalty) arises from specific conditional factors impacting the success of the task at hand. Circumstance bonuses stack with all other bonuses, including other circumstance bonuses, unless they arise from essentially the same source.
They stack

Does the Wild Shadow trait allow you to make stealth checks in your chosen terrain in all lighting conditions lower than bright light without concealment/cover?
Wild Shadow (Heroes of the Wild):
Quote: Select one terrain type from the ranger’s favored terrain list.
Benefit(s) You can attempt Stealth checks in this terrain in normal light without having cover or being invisible. You still can’t attempt Stealth checks in areas of bright light without invisibility or cover.
Lighting Rules (Core Rulebook):
Quote: In an area of bright light, all characters can see clearly. Some creatures, such as those with light sensitivity and light blindness, take penalties while in areas of bright light. A creature can't use Stealth in an area of bright light unless it is invisible or has cover. Areas of bright light include outside in direct sunshine and inside the area of a daylight spell.
Normal light functions just like bright light, but characters with light sensitivity and light blindness do not take penalties. Areas of normal light include underneath a forest canopy during the day, within 20 feet of a torch, and inside the area of a light spell.
In an area of dim light, a character can see somewhat. Creatures within this area have concealment (20% miss chance in combat) from those without darkvision or the ability to see in darkness. A creature within an area of dim light can make a Stealth check to conceal itself. Areas of dim light include outside at night with a moon in the sky, bright starlight, and the area between 20 and 40 feet from a torch.
In areas of darkness, creatures without darkvision are effectively blinded. In addition to the obvious effects, a blinded creature has a 50% miss chance in combat (all opponents have total concealment), loses any Dexterity bonus to AC, takes a –2 penalty to AC, and takes a –4 penalty on Perception checks that rely on sight and most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks. Areas of darkness include an unlit dungeon chamber, most caverns, and outside on a cloudy, moonless night.
Characters with low-light vision (elves, gnomes, and half-elves) can see objects twice as far away as the given radius. Double the effective radius of bright light, normal light, and dim light for such characters.
Characters with darkvision (dwarves and half-orcs) can see lit areas normally as well as dark areas within 60 feet. A creature can't hide within 60 feet of a character with darkvision unless it is invisible or has cover.
Dallium wrote: The combat rules say:
Combat wrote: If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
I agree that this statement in the rules is why a standard seems like overkill.
blackbloodtroll wrote: You're such a cute light wound, aren't you little guy.
Of course I'll hold you!
Dwiddle woundy-poo.
Cavall wrote: Cute or not. I don't think I've ever been happier about an autocorrect mistake
Kobold Cleaver wrote: D'aww, it's just a light wound. I know it's adorable the Society Initiate wants to survive the encounter... What a n00b

I am fighting an undead creature, say a skeleton. I cast CLW and miss the touch attack therefore I am holding the charge. On the skeletons turn, it attacks me successfully so I now have damage. However, I am still holding the charge, as I did not actively touch anything with the spell hand (either unintentionally or intentionally). Now, if I want to try and attack the skeleton again, it is a standard action. Yes?
^this is all standard stuff.
But,
Primary Question) What kind of action is it to touch myself with the held charge on the following round?
"Touching one friend is a standard action" but it's MY hand...
Am I considered a friend and its therefore a standard (obvious just friends hand sex joke here)?
Would this be like a Paladin's Lay on Hands in which touching ones self is a Swift action?
Or would it be a free action since the casting/activating action has already been made?
I have read through several of the other holding a touch spell threads and none of them that I saw address this specific situation, though there are many. If I missed the appropriate thread, please link me.
Exiel wrote: And I petition for anyone with that chronicle to be able to cast dermal plating as a spell.
"This spell functions as the spell bark skin, except that the spell creates a layer of metal plating on your skin instead of turning it into bark, and you now set off metal detectors." ;)
Except dermal plating is plastic, so...
Thank you Michael Brock for adding the Spoiler tag! I am still learning how to do all the tags etc on here.
Jeff wrote: Same place, it's just your OP should've been something like "This option isn't legal, but here's why I think it should be" rather than what it was, which was simply asking "Hey, is this legal?" Thank you! It has been an hour so I can't edit the OP. Anyone just tuning in:
I think Dermal Plating should be upgradable.
Okay, where do I post for that?
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
Sorry Muser! I wasn't thinking about that, I just wanted it to be easy to understand and search for if others had the same question.
No.
I ask because I feel a case could be made for an exception here.
Argument for: It is an upgradable item. Normally, if you purchase an upgradable item like an Amulet of Natural Armor from a chronicle sheet (before your Fame would normally allow) you can upgrade it when you have the $$$ and Fame. This particular item scales like the Amulet in price and in function (enhancement bonus), so I don't see how it would adversely impact PFS gameplay.
Argument against: The installation and crafting process is what sets it apart as tech. Who would install it? Who would craft it? How would they get the raw materials? While it may not adversely affect PFS, the in game acquisition of the item would be difficult to accomplish and tough to rationalize.
Tough but not impossible. I am mostly curious what others would think.
I understand that equipment from the technology guide is only legal if acquired on a chronicle sheet.
But is it PFS legal to upgrade the Dermal Plating acquired from from Mark I Dermal Plating to Mark II or higher?
I have a very specific question/circumstance regarding polymorph spells and how they relate to energy immunities and vulnerabilities in two parts:
If a character/creature which already has Fire Immunity and Cold Vulnerability casts Form of the Giant I to become a Frost Giant... 1) Does it retain Fire Immunity or does the vulnerability gained reduce the immunity. 2) Does the Cold resistance 20 gained apply first then the cold vulnerability or the vulnerability then the resistance, or do they all change based on a chart somewhere?
Essentially how do inherent energy tolerances affect those gained from spellcasting?
Thank you in advance for your input. If this question has already been asked in a prior thread I apologize I did not find it amongst the myriad of Polymorph Spell threads. They raise a lot of questions and for the moment I just need the answer to this one.

Can a character choose the Rune domain ability "Blast Rune" with Domain Strike...? Technically speaking the Rune does only affect one creature.
Rune Domain
Blast Rune (Sp) : As a standard action, you can create a blast rune in any adjacent square. Any creature entering this square takes 1d6 points of damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. This rune deals either acid, cold, electricity, or fire damage, decided when you create the rune. The rune is invisible and lasts a number of rounds equal to your cleric level or until discharged. You cannot create a blast rune in a square occupied by another creature. This rune counts as a 1st-level spell for the purposes of dispelling. It can be discovered with a DC 26 Perception skill check and disarmed with a DC 26 Disable Device skill check. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Domain Strike
Benefit: When you gain this feat, choose one domain-granted power that you can use to affect no more than one opponent. If you make a successful unarmed strike against an opponent, in addition to dealing your unarmed strike damage, you can use a swift action to deliver the effects of the chosen granted power to that opponent. Doing so provokes no attacks of opportunity.
Yeah I just got the book and I see they call it "Perceptive Tracking." It's an option for an Investigator Talent, what I was looking at before must have been out of date.
Thank you though Nohwear!
I was wondering why the Investigator doesn't have access to the rogue talent "Follow Clues."
Isn't that sort of the iconic image of THE archetypical investigator? Using a magnifying glass to track down the criminals?
Granted I was looking at it online and not in the book itself, so either I completely missed something or...?
Kazejin wrote: Simple answer: it works as written.
It doesn't say it increases the dice. It says it deals 1d6 (assuming medium size). So that's it. In the case of a monk/barbarian, you use whichever unarmed strike damage is more favorable -- the monk's.
Increasing character size is another issue entirely, as the rules for that already include increasing damage dice for any weapon of the new size (and unarmed strikes scale with your size automatically, because they are a part of your body). A large barbarian would deal 1d8.
I actually just tested this out in HeroLab, and they bumped up my d8 monk unarmed damage to 3d6 while raging... and my damage is already off the charts with the build I have. So I'm just wondering if that's a HeroLab mistake or unearthed gold.
If I have two Stumble Gaps active adjacent to each other and my enemy fails the save in one, and falls into the second one, what happens? When they try to stand up do they have to save again while standing up? I hope yes obviously.
I want my Sorceror to utilize spells that aren't ever-present like grease and magic missile etc.
What if you did "throwing" like Sonic in Supersmash. You wind up and throw your entire body. Think of the possibilities!
Who needs to charge? I chuck myself.
Then someone would throw themselves 50ft up a wall, no climb check needed. Just hit AC 5.
|