heyzoms's page

11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


So I have questions about two spells but their is probably more cases where this comes into play.

Wooden Double and Unexpected Transposition are both reactions trigger when a creature is striking or has hit you. You then cast these spells as a reaction but wouldn't that cause reactive strike to trigger causing another attack to come your way making them very risking spells that have a potential to be disrupted?

Is this raw? I'm I missing something or is this how these spell were made?


Perses13 wrote:

I'm a player in a campaign that uses Keeley's Hero Point rule. My main complaint about that one is it makes it more desirable to roll a 2 on the reroll than an 11 and that feels weird.

Personally I'd rather if a roll under 10 on a hero point reroll just counted as a 10, but I'm sure there's other workable solutions as well.

I agree 100%. I think I will be doing just that.


Perpdepog wrote:

IMO hero points are probably one of the safest things to tweak and fiddle with in your games, since you've got so much control over when they appear, and the circumstances the game advises you to hand them out for are things that everyone will likely enjoy anyway, doing heroic stuff.

I think both your uses are fine. I'm assuming the second one is intended to only work against minion-style creatures, and isn't intended to work on bosses. If not then I'd suggest altering the rule to work on L0 or lower creatures, just so the party doesn't save up all their points, hammer the boss with their biggest, most hampering spells, and repeatedly force your boss to fail their save.
I'm also assuming your +10 rule doesn't treat a natural 10 like a natural 20, though at the point you've got a 20 on the die that doesn't matter too much. Come to think, you may want to lower the bonus you gain a smidge, unless you're comfortable with the increased chances of critting that come along with it.

I like your suggestions I think I'll do just that


So I hand out 1 hero point at the beginning of the session to everyone as well as hand another out at the halfway point of the session, usually at the 2 hour mark. Hero points also carry over to the next session. These rules are to make it easy for me to remember to give players consistent hero points.

After some time with these rules I want to add some changes to make hero points even more heroic in nature.

Using Keeley's Hero Point Rule - IF a natural result of a hero point is 10 or less, a bonus of 10 is applied after the fact.

Not a Heroic Villain - When you use an ability that requires a creature to make a saving throw. You can make a single creature reroll their saving throw and use that new roll. This is a misfortune effect.

I like "Not a Heroic Villain" because it help casters with big spells

But what do you think would either of these rules be to powerful in my current setup? and why?


turtle006 wrote:

Seems to be a cae where someone didn't fully understand the rules. From the way it is written, is seems like it is intended to "spray" out from the creature. But a burst doesn't do that.

I think I would fudge it to start behind the creature and move away.

Yeah I was thinking about turning it into a spray/cone attack that make a moving cloud. seems like the easiest colocation


Heya quick question on how to use this ability and how it works.

I'm about to run a Giant Aukashungi CR 14 and the Acidic Effluence ability says

The giant aukashungi releases an acidic gas from its ventral glands in a 30-foot burst. Each creature that starts its turn in the area takes 10d8 acid damage plus 2d8 persistent acid damage (DC 32 Basic Fortitude save). The gas moves 10 feet away from the giant aukashungi each round and lasts for 1 minute. The giant aukashungi can't use Acidic Effluence again for 1 minute.

My question is the word "Ventral" means belly or abdominal so i'm placing the burst right on top of the creature right? If yes the creature isn't immune to acid so it would take damage from its own attack yes?


So looking at the rules for travel, camping and longrest.

You can only spend 8 hours traveling and 7 hours of free time. Because after that you get hit with fatigue after 16 hours without rest.

Wait you might ask thats only 15 hours but every morning you wake up you have to do 1 hour of daily preparation.

Is that right?

If so after 7 hours of free time. Would you start the sleeping process and have fatigue the entire time you do a Long Rest? Until you wake up?

Also usually you will have to have 4-5 players watch or be lookouts for about 2 hours (rounded down for ease of calculations)

So really players have 5 hours of free time before fatigue hits then they gotta rest.

I'm I doing this right? I am a GM and i like to do things Raw as possible with confusing my players. So any clarification would be great!


I know ABP rule says that statistic item bounus for gear no longer exists saying this right here

"Items that normally grant an item bonus to statistics"

But do items like the Slick rune that give very specific bonus to escape or squeeze also included? If not can you explain what kinda items are available to give my players

This would be a big help thanks!!


So I had a player who took this feat. he started combat with a "spell scroll enlarge" in his hand, Claimed he could cast it with 1 action, then could take another scroll out with an interact action, then cast a "spell scroll enlarge" with 1 action again.

I would like to know if these is even possible because the spell is normally 2 actions.

I think he is claiming "Scroll Thaumaturgy" allows him to do this, that's why it's in the title. also here is the text for the feat so you don't have to look it up

"Your multidisciplinary study of magic means you know how to activate the magic in scrolls with ease. You can activate scrolls of any magical tradition, using your thaumaturge class DC for the scroll's DC, rather than a particular spell DC. If a spell is on the spell list for multiple traditions, you choose which tradition to use at the time you activate the scroll. You can draw and activate scrolls with the same hand holding an implement, much like you can for esoterica."

If possible could you also clear up what this means in the feat? Does it mean he doesn't need to put away an implement to use a scroll?

"You can draw and activate scrolls with the same hand holding an implement, much like you can for esoterica"


So I had a player use took this feat. he started combat with a "spell scroll enlarge" in his hand, Claimed he could cast it with 1 action, then could take another scroll out with an interact action, then cast a "spell scroll enlarge" with 1 action again.

I would like to know if these is even possible because the spell is normally 2 actions. also

I think he is claiming "Scroll Thaumaturgy" allows him to do this, that's why it's in the title. also here is the text for the feat so you don't have to look it up

"Your multidisciplinary study of magic means you know how to activate the magic in scrolls with ease. You can activate scrolls of any magical tradition, using your thaumaturge class DC for the scroll's DC, rather than a particular spell DC. If a spell is on the spell list for multiple traditions, you choose which tradition to use at the time you activate the scroll. You can draw and activate scrolls with the same hand holding an implement, much like you can for esoterica."

If possible could you also clear up what this means in the feat? Does it mean he doesn't need to put away an implement to use a scroll?

"You can draw and activate scrolls with the same hand holding an implement, much like you can for esoterica"


So I'm new to pf2e and have a question about how many actions does it take to use the item.

Lets assume it is on my equipment and not in my backpack. So would it be just the activation cost of the item ex: Giant Centipede Posion states you need 2 interact actions to use it.

Or do i need to 3 actions, 1 to grab it and 2 to use its activation cost?