gatlingxyz's page

Organized Play Member. 27 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 6 Organized Play characters.


RSS


I also just remembered you can take Weapon Focus (Claws) or other natural attacks.


Helpful Harry wrote:
Then I'm inclined to believe Bless Weapon doesn't work on natural attacks. Sorry that I can't be more definitive than that.

And that's a fine ruling and I will accept it once I see something definitive.

Every other "weapon" spell specifically says whether or not it can target natural attacks, and the Natural Attacks section even calls them weapons. So why can't Bless Weapon affect Natural Attacks/Weapons?

With this ruling, natural attacks couldn't coup de grace.

Combat, Coup de Grace wrote:
As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace [...] to a helpless opponent.


bless weapon wrote:

BLESS WEAPON

School transmutation; Level paladin 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Target weapon touched
Duration 1 min./level
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

This transmutation makes a weapon strike true against evil foes. The weapon is treated as having a +1 enhancement bonus for the purpose of bypassing the DR of evil creatures or striking evil incorporeal creatures (though the spell doesn't grant an actual enhancement bonus). The weapon also becomes good-aligned, which means it can bypass the DR of certain creatures. (This effect overrides and suppresses any other alignment the weapon might have.) Individual arrows or bolts can be transmuted, but affected projectile weapons (such as bows) don't confer the benefit to the projectiles they shoot.

In addition, all critical hit rolls against evil foes are automatically successful, so every threat is a critical hit. This last effect does not apply to any weapon that already has a magical effect related to critical hits, such as a keen weapon or a vorpal sword.

Bless weapon actually doesn't say either way.


versatile weapon wrote:

VERSATILE WEAPON

School transmutation; Level bard 2, ranger 2, sorcerer/wizard 3
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (iron filings)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one weapon or 50 projectiles, all of which must be together at the time of casting
Duration 1 minute/level
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless, object); Spell Resistance yes (harmless, object)

You transform the physical makeup of a weapon as you desire. This spell functions like greater magic weapon, except that it subtly alters the physical properties of a weapon, enabling it to bypass damage reduction of one the following types: bludgeoning, cold iron, piercing, silver, or slashing. The affected weapon still inflicts damage of its normal type and its hardness and hit points are unchanged. This spell can be cast on a natural weapon or unarmed strike.

natural attacks wrote:
Natural Attacks: Attacks made with natural weapons, ...

This says a natural weapon or unarmed strike counts as a weapon, so your bolded sections don't really make things any clearer, Helpful Harry.


Let me start by saying that I'm playing PFS.

I have an Unchained Summoner and an Eidolon. In a session that just finished, I was told that Bless Weapon wouldn't apply to my Eidolon's natural attacks by the GM. I'm very confused, as I looked it up before the session and the spell doesn't state anything about not being applicable to natural attacks. Align Weapon explicitly says no, and Versatile Weapon says yes, the latter of which is going to be my backup plan but if I can avoid having to buy oils of Versatile Weapon all the time, that'd be great.

My GM said there was some ruling about natural attacks not being weapons (or something, I don't remember as I gave up as to not hold the game up). Can anyone point me, in either direction, to a definitive answer? I showed him the PRD for Natural attacks, bless weapon's spell description, and this forum post but no luck.

Natural Attacks (emphasis mine) wrote:
Natural Attacks: Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet).
Bless weapon wrote:

This transmutation makes a weapon strike true against evil foes. The weapon is treated as having a +1 enhancement bonus for the purpose of bypassing the DR of evil creatures or striking evil incorporeal creatures (though the spell doesn't grant an actual enhancement bonus). The weapon also becomes good-aligned, which means it can bypass the DR of certain creatures. (This effect overrides and suppresses any other alignment the weapon might have.) Individual arrows or bolts can be transmuted, but affected projectile weapons (such as bows) don't confer the benefit to the projectiles they shoot.

In addition, all critical hit rolls against evil foes are automatically successful, so every threat is a critical hit. This last effect does not apply to any weapon that already has a magical effect related to critical hits, such as a keen weapon or a vorpal sword.


shaventalz wrote:
gatlingxyz wrote:
shaventalz wrote:

As Gallant Armor pointed out, though, the spell itself doesn't specify "must be cast by gnomes." It's just not easy to find unless you're a gnome. With that said, the GM is the final arbiter on whether you can use the spell; PFS, for instance, has said "no, only gnomes can find it."

Ah, should've specified I'm asking for PFS.

So, in PFS, I can't have a sorcerer buy the wand? Can you point me to the location stating that for items, or is that in additional resources? I always assumed you just couldn't learn it if you weren't of the appropriate race, but could still acquire the items (it'd just be useless unless you had a way to trick the item)

It's based on what's in Additional Resources, yes.

Quote:
Note: Alternate racial traits, racial archetypes, racial evolutions, racial feats, and racial spells are only available for characters of the associated race. Racial equipment and magic items can be purchased and used by any race as long as the specific item permits it (for example, only halflings can purchase and use solidsmoke pipeweed).
You're still getting the spell, just via item. My reading would be that an undine couldn't buy that wand. A "racial magic item" would be something like the aforementioned solidsmoke pipeweed; something actually statted up as a magic item in there. To my knowledge, they've never clarified whether a gnome can hand someone else his wand, but I'd expect the answer to be "don't do it".

I knew trying to get an unlimited* racial SLA wouldn't be easy lol Thanks!


shaventalz wrote:

As Gallant Armor pointed out, though, the spell itself doesn't specify "must be cast by gnomes." It's just not easy to find unless you're a gnome. With that said, the GM is the final arbiter on whether you can use the spell; PFS, for instance, has said "no, only gnomes can find it."

Ah, should've specified I'm asking for PFS.

So, in PFS, I can't have a sorcerer buy the wand? Can you point me to the location stating that for items, or is that in additional resources? I always assumed you just couldn't learn it if you weren't of the appropriate race, but could still acquire the items (it'd just be useless unless you had a way to trick the item)


I have an Undine Sorcerer who specializes in Hydraulic Push. I came across the "Recharge Innate Magic" but it's a Dwarf-only spell. I was thinking about getting a wand of this to recharge her SLA.

My question is simply, which DC(s) for UMD do I follow? I'm not sure if I need to make one check or two, and if only one check, which DC?

I'm leaning towards the DC 20 check because the UMD for spell trigger doesn't say anything about race.

Quote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

But I could be wrong.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Good question. I don't know how this would work since you'd no longer qualify for the prestige class.

faq

Quote:
The retraining rules say, "If retraining a class level means you no longer qualify for a feat, prestige class, or other ability you have, you can't use that feat, prestige class, or ability until you meet the qualifications again." Therefore, if you retrain out of the base class and that causes you to no longer meet the requirements of the prestige class, you no longer have access to the class features from that prestige class, and therefore can't use that prestige class to meet the requirements of anything (including itself).
I'd assume that skills count the same as class levels.

And I think with that, I'll just take the 2k loss from selling the headband back for a new one. There's a lot of possible interpretations and I'd rather not have my class features taken away because one GM interprets the rules differently and I wouldn't want to hold up a session with trying to prove one interpretation is right or wrong.


Dave Justus wrote:
Prestige Classes don't have prerequisites, they have requirements that you must meet before taking the first level of that prestige class. Unless their is some PFS specific rule which I am not familiar with, this means you not only can still use any class abilities of you prestige class even if you currently don't meet the requirements to take the first level of it, but you can also freely take more levels of that prestige class even if you don't meet the requirements for the first level.

That definitely wasn't an answer I was expecting. I found someone else stating something similar here for all others who come across this post.

That is... interesting. Very very interesting.


Wei Ji the Learner wrote:


Look for posts by John Compton.

Just what I needed. Here's the post

Though, that only partly solves my issue. Hopefully I never run into one of these scenarios again (with this particular character) but there's a scenario where you have to remove all your personal items.

Spoiler:
The one where you have to get the Golden Chalice in Sargava. I forget the name.

Do you think this ruling by John Compton also means "I can take off my headband, be without it for a few days, and still gain its benefits?" Or is it supposed to only be for "short reasonable" periods?


Wei Ji the Learner wrote:

Noticed 'Prestige points' were used in original post.

If this is a PFS character, then there is already a campaign rule that you can take your clothes/gear off to wash/clean them, as long as you don't attune something else in that spot in the meantime. While doing so, one does not lose the mechanical benefits for said gear.

Can't find it atm, but I know it's out there, and there was a lot of rejoicing at the ability to have clean gear!

Whaaaaaat!? That's... interesting. I shall begin my search for this ruling.


Jeraa wrote:

The retraining rules only apply to you. They can't change the headband.

By RAW, you can't change the skill in the headband. However, as you sell it for half price and making a magic item is half price, you might be able to convince your GM to allow a caster to switch the skill. Essentially, using the old headband as the components to make the new one.

Makes sense. Because I'm doing this in PFS, I'll just end up selling it and buying a new +4 headband.


So, I misunderstood how the Headband of Vast Intelligence worked when I originally bought. For some reason, I thought it gave you skills points that one time and never again. For instance, my character got one at 4th level, so I figured 4 skills points and that was it. Come to find out, it grows with you. That's great and all, but that actually messes up things for me. I had planned on being able to add skill points on top of that to handle the case when the headband has to come off.

I put those skill points in a skill required for a prestige class, so when I take the headband off now (at level 7), I pretty much can't be my prestige class. "Don't take it off then!"... except if I'm playing a scenario where you have to (which came up a level or two back).

I was wondering do the retraining rules work in this instance? I want to apply the skill it's locked in to to another skill that I won't need/miss if I have to take the headband off again.

Or, should I just sell it and buy a new one? That will ultimately be my plan if I can't retrain (or I figure I want to keep my 5 prestige points).


I think I'm going to take it as a broad ruling for now until something more specific pops up.

For clarification, Spell Focus should modify the DC of SLAs (in my case, Spell Focus and Greater Spell Focus will up my Veiled Illusionist's Veil Pool ability), and Varisian Tattoo, traits, and class abilities should modify the CL of SLAs (in my case, my Undine Aquatic Tattooed sorcerer's Hydraulic Push SLA will be modified by Varisian Tattoo, Aquatic Sorcerer's Bloodline Arcana, and the Precocious Spellcaster trait).


Using CHA seems to be the way it should have been. It's odd: whenever I see a SLA I always assume CHA, but it never crossed my mind when my Wizard got one. Smh Sadness.

And I would like to believe DC and CL are modified by SLAs, but I've now been getting nothing but mixed answers. I've seen that FAQ on SLAs qualifying for things. That's definitely pushing me in the direction you're in.


So, I made a post a few days about the Veiled Illusionist spell DC for the disguise self spell-like ability, and the more I do research the more clear yet confusing things have become.

My Wizard (who is now a V.I., by the way) has had Varisian Tattoo for some time now, and I believe I may have misunderstood it.

1) Does Varisian Tattoo modify the CL of the SLA given and other SLAs?
2) While on that topic, do those SLAs granted by Varisian Tattoo use CHA? (God I hope not...)

Luckily, I've never used the SLA from it in PFS, but on a similar note, I have an Undine Aquatic Tattooed Sorcerer in PFS as well, and was under the impression that the Undine's Hydraulic Push SLA could be modified by Varisian Tattoo (and traits). I may have been completely mistaken, though I've only played her once so not much of a concern.

3) If Varisian Tattoo doesn't alter a SLA's caster level, and Spell Focus doesn't raise the DC for SLAs, how come Augment Summoning most definitely works for a Summoner's SLA? (Relevant Summoner FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9rbq)

I'm mostly trying to wrap my head about the intricacies of the rulings. I ran across another thread as well where Owen Stevens says Spell Focus should raise the DC, but it's from 7 years ago so I'm not sure if it actually holds up (http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kjnz?Summoner-Class-and-Augment-Summoning#22)


Yessss!! My plans are not ruined then. Thank you all!


I'm a little sure that this won't work the way I want it, but it's worth a shot.

Let's say I have an +1 Undead Bane weapon and am fighting a ghost. Because my target is Undead, the enhancement bonus is +2 higher, equaling a 3 total. Cool. Would activating Ghostslayer make the weapon act as ghost touch, or is Ghostslayer still looking at the actual/original enhancement bonus?

Quote:

Bane

A bane weapon excels against certain foes. Against a designated foe, the weapon’s enhancement bonus is +2 better than its actual bonus.

Quote:

Ghostslayer

As a swift action, you can imbue a weapon you wield with spiritual energies for 1 round. An imbued weapon damages incorporeal creatures as though it were magical. If the imbued weapon has an enhancement bonus of +2 or greater, it functions as a ghost touch weapon. A weapon imbued in this way can deal precision damage (such as sneak attack damage) to incorporeal creatures.

Or, make me feel even better: would Ghostslayer apply regardless, since the total amount of bonuses is 2? This was my original assumption until I reread the feat again.


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Unfortunately it doesn't apply.

So I've been looking around a bit more since posting, and apparently Augment Summoning works with the Summoner's summon spell-like abilities, despite Augment Summoning saying "spell" in its description. With this example, shouldn't Spell Focus also apply?

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9rbq -- Link to the FAQ for Augment Summoning.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kjnz?Summoner-Class-and-Augment-Summoning#22 -- Another thread where Owen Stevens seems to imply that it does.

I mostly just want to be able to defend the decision if it ever comes up in play now. I'm feeling only moderately confident that it is/should be allowed.


Just recently had my Illusionist wizard become a Veiled Illusionist. I'm wondering does Spell Focus and Greater Spell Focus enhance the DC to his Veiled Pool ability?

Quote:
As a standard action, the veiled illusionist can spend 1 point from her veil pool to alter her appearance as per the spell disguise self. This is a glamer effect that lasts a number of hours equal to the veiled illusionist’s class level. The DC to disbelieve the effect is equal to 15 + the number of points remaining in the veiled illusionist’s veil pool.

Emphasis mine. Not sure if it applies since i'm not actually casting disguise self but using a spell-like ability that mimics it.


GM Tyrant Princess wrote:

1: Not unless specified (which the QoES doesn't).

2: PFS rules trump that text.

Sounds about as I expected. Thanks a bunch.


First question: does a character actually have to be a follower of the attached god to use the item? In this case, Nethys.

Second question: is this item (and the others) upgrade-able? There's a paragraph in the beginning the makes me believe yes, but PFS rules may trump this.

Inner Sea Gods, p. 254, emphasis mine:

Quote:
The following are only some of the specific magic weapons popular among devout mortals. This section focuses on relatively inexpensive weapons that lowlevel characters can afford. For higher-level characters, remember that these weapons can be upgraded like any other magic item by adding plus-equivalent or gp-value abilities, then paying the difference between the original item’s price and its price with the additional abilities. The full rules for customizing magic weapons can be found in Chapter 15 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook.


Quote:
Arcane School: In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard's spellbook. A wizard can select a spell modified by a metamagic feat to prepare in his school slot, but it uses up a higher-level spell slot.
Quote:
Preferred Spell: Choose one spell which you have the ability to cast. You can cast that spell spontaneously by sacrificing a prepared spell or spell slot of equal or higher level. You can apply any metamagic feats you possess to this spell when you cast it. This increases the minimum level of the prepared spell or spell slot you must sacrifice in order to cast it but does not affect the casting time.

Let's say I have Hypnotic Pattern (lv 2 Illusion) prepared in my Illusion School slot, and some other number of level 2 spells prepped. Shadow Trap (lv 1 Illusion) is my Preferred Spell. Could I sacrifice Hypnotic Pattern to cast Shadow Trap? Or, can I only sacrifice the other spells? I bolded the portions that make me think the former, but I could be wrong.


I'm 100% going to necro this to put my two-cents in: Color Spray. Concealment, and hopefully a barrier to stop anyone from approaching.


Saethori wrote:
Creating Magic Items wrote:
The cost to add additional abilities to an item is the same as if the item was not magical, less the value of the original item. Thus, a +1 longsword can be made into a +2 vorpal longsword, with the cost to create it being equal to that of a +2 vorpal sword minus the cost of a +1 longsword.
The Amulet of Natural Armor +1 has a cost of 1,000gp. The Amulet of Natural Armor +2 has a cost of 4,000gp. So the cost you pay is 4,000gp minus 1,000gp, or 3,000gp.

That is an even better answer than I was expecting. Thank you! I somehow missed that part in the creating magic items section.


I've been up and down the forum looking for a definitive answer. Some came from before the FAQ was posted/updated in 2013, so I'm not sure if I can follow those.

Let's say I have my arcane bond as an amulet. I choose to upgrade it to an Amulet of Natural Armor +1. I am 100% sure that the cost of this upgrade is 1,000 gp. Cool.

When I choose to upgrade this item to a Amulet of Natural Armor +2, do I pay 4,000gp or 8,000gp? Pre-FAQ kept saying something about the 50% cost being a one-time thing, but the FAQ makes me believe that I always pay the cost (using the price and Fame to know if I can upgrade). I feel like I'm overthinking it, but just want to be sure.