![]() ![]()
![]() Hi y'all! As some of you may know, I've been working on a remake of the Skull and Shackles AP in a post-Core environment. It's kind of a huge project but the scope crept up on me and now I'm committed. While the AP is far from complete, Adventure 1 is mostly complete and ready to playtest! Playtests will be run through the game Tabletop Simulator (Steam page). Ideally, I'd like to have at least two groups of playtesters: one that I host for and play with, and another which plays the adventure on their own and reports back with notes. If you're interested in joining either group, let me know! I have a pretty open schedule, so I should hopefully be able to accommodate most groups. This post is also partially to make sure this project doesn't creep past the scope of Pathfinder Infinite since some parts are a bit of a gray area. In particular, I'm not sure if I'm allowed to write story text that parallels the original AP? ![]()
![]() Hey y'all. So I'm currently working on a full conversion of Skull & Shackles to a 2.0 style AP, but I'm running into an issue. Namely, I've never played Skull & Shackles in the RPG, so I have little-to-no context for why certain things are designed the way they are. Scenarios, story banes, ships, allies, etc - I don't know which are important to the story and which are filler. So, I'm looking for someone who has played, or better yet GMed, who can help me with that! Obviously you'd be credited and all. While all I need is someone to help explain the story, if you want more creative input, that's cool too. I reserve the right to make the final decisions though, I do still intend for this to be primarily my project. Post in the thread or shoot me a PM if you're interested, and we can start chatting logistics ;) ![]()
![]() gambroe wrote:
Your understanding is mostly correct. All the banes do indeed go into the siege deck, and you never explore the locations (excepting in some older siege scenarios, where you had the option), and therefore never encounter boons (usually). Most siege scenarios (including Fangwood Thieves 1B), however, give as a scenario reward all the cards remaining in the locations, for you to use as "loot". The Dragon's Demand siege scenario is an exception, probably because the reward is shared between the different versions of the scenario. I believe RAI is that this same reward is given for that scenario, but I don't remember if I've heard developer opinions on that or not. In any case, that's how I would play it outside of Society. ![]()
![]() I can't speak to the main question, but... wkover wrote: If you encounter a monster, you roll a 1-2 and then another 1-2. Nothing happens on the second 1-2 roll, since cards can't summon copies of themselves. Actually, RAW I'm not sure that rule applies here, since it's the storybook, and not the Animate Dream card, that's doing the summoning. It may just be able to keep summoning more Dreams. (I'm not sure the rule doesn't apply either, though, since it could be argued the card is "causing you" to summon even though it's not the source of the text. I don't believe that's how it works, but I don't know for certain.) ![]()
![]() What I'd really like to see - in addition to new class decks - is a high-level (3-6) counterpart to Core. Building the Adventurer's packs really drove home how few high level boons there are in Curse - especially for characters of certain themes (cough cough nature). And for anyone interested in homebrew, a box containing common high-level banes and locations would be a useful tool. Plus it would be neat to have the option of a high level module to play after Dragon's Demand. (Unfortunately the Afghanistan Principle means any generic locations or story banes in such a set wouldn't be used in future adventure paths - but they'd still be a nice tool for homebrew and Society writers, I should think.) ![]()
![]() foxoftheasterisk wrote:
I just realized that nowhere does this blog post say that Adventurer's packs will be sold as standalone products. I just assumed that would be the progression, hence these thoughts. I do think standalone Adventurer's Packs would be a great way to move forward with PACS, FWIW. (Likely with more new boons, though, and perhaps one new character per pack?) The question about duplicate packs still stands though; is it allowed? ![]()
![]() Skizzerz, I think you've got the right idea and just overreached a bit. Just make the added rules text "An undefeated villain can always escape to the location it came from (even if that location is considered guarded for some reason)." Fixes it for undefeated, doesn't break it for defeated, and is a fairly understandable language even if you don't understand why it's there. ![]()
![]() PJ is referring to the old version of Acid Flask, which does indeed allow you to "For your... check against a barrier, ... use your Disable or Ranged + 2d6." So yes, you can use it against Deka, or any other barrier, strange as it seems. Acid can be very persuasive... (Note, however, that Acid Flask lets you use Disable or Ranged + 2d6, not add that amount -it would be instead of your normal Charisma or Diplomacy check, not in addition.) (The new version of Acid Flask restricts the barrier use to Lock or Trap barriers, but does allow you to add 2d4 against them. Hence the confusion.) ![]()
![]() That depends. If you're using pre-Core rules: yes! The first ability adds the Fire trait, triggering the third ability. The location closes as part of resolving the encounter, after which you can move, and -presuming you have an ally or blessing to discard - continue exploring. If using the post-Core rules (including any games in the Pathfinder Adventure Card Society), however, closing your location prevents you from exploring more on your turn. The ability still triggers, and you can in fact move again after closing the location - but this does not allow you to continue exploring. ![]()
![]() Actually, no. You'd only have to fight it once, due to this rule: "Core Rulebook (Paraphrased) wrote: A summoned card cannot summon a copy of itself or the card that summoned it. If you were somehow encountering the danger without summoning it, then it would work the way you expected. But that's not usually how the danger works. (If you have proxies in the deck representing it, that would be one way.) ![]()
![]() John has the right of it except my gender but let me give a clearer example. Say you're fighting a monster (any monster, it doesn't matter) and you have a Spiked Breastplate and a Half-Plate displayed. You recharge the Spiked Breastplate to add a d4 to your check, roll, but still fail by 2. You are therefore taking 2 damage, and if you are absolved of all other limits when taking damage, you could draw the Half-Plate to reduce that damage to 0. My understanding has always been though (and the Core Set rulebook confirms) that since you used armor during the check against the monster, you are not supposed to be able to use another armor to prevent damage resulting from failing the check. ![]()
![]() Vic Wertz wrote: This is still being worked out, but I think the only limit we want while suffering damage is something like this: "Collectively, the party may play no more than one boon of each type to affect damage to the same character from the same effect, although powers that say they can be played freely do not count toward that limit." This solution (as well as basically every other one I've seen floated so far) still doesn't cover the situation of failing a check to defeat a monster, where you're still supposed to be held to the restrictions from the check. I'm kinda starting to think that'll have to be either a special exception or changed. Other than that, I think it works. |