Abyssal Rift


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 60 of 60 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Abyssal Rift Temp Closed Side wrote:
At the end of your turn, or when this location is not occupied, flip this card.
Abyssal Rift Open Side wrote:
At the end of your turn, flip this card.

An unoccupied Abyssal Rift will flip from its temp closed side to its open side. It won't flip back until it is occupied (either when someone ends their turn there or buries a blessing to flip it).


Parody wrote:
zayzayem wrote:

I'm now paranoid I'm not playing right.

1. You make sure the Abyssal rift is flipped "temp closed" side.
2. Leave.

At this point the rift is not occupied, so you flip it to the always open side. At the end of the turn you'll flip it back, but if the location is not occupied you'll put it back again. The At This Location text always applies, even if nobody is there. (p. 21 of the WotR rules)

Ah. We missed the text "when this location is not occupied".

I'm not sure about the flipping it every turn even when not occupied.
That interpretation of "At this location" text becomes kind of ridiculous.

Having the Marketplace does not make all boons everywhere easier to acquire (does it)?

Having the Cell open does make it difficult to move from every location, does it?

Having Watchtower pen doesn't let just anyone anywhere fight a monster to acquire boons, does it?

Having the Occult Library does not cause all books played everywhere to be banished, does it?


zayzayem wrote:

I'm not sure about the flipping it every turn even when not occupied.

That interpretation of "At this location" text becomes kind of ridiculous.

Fully agree. Like I said, an unoccupied Abyssal Rift only flips once.


zayzayem wrote:
I'm not sure about the flipping it every turn even when not occupied.

The At This Location text applies as long as the location is permanently open. (p. 21 of the WotR Rulebook.) This is reinforced by FAQs like the one for Chasm of Shadows, whose At This Location power is intended to block examining or searching the location's deck whether or not you (or anyone) is at the location. (The Fog Bank has something similar.) I'd still say that you check for flipping at the end of every turn, whether or not anyone is there.

The double-flip may not apply, but that's a different question. (And may have been answered already, but my searching/skimming is bad tonight.)

zayzayem wrote:
That interpretation of "At this location" text becomes kind of ridiculous. ...

In each of the cases listed, are the events involved "At This Location"?

I agree that there's a lot of location powers that are meant to only apply to characters at the location, but they aren't templated that way because of the name of the box they're in. However, as defined in the rulebook, that box actually contains powers that always apply to everyone. Perhaps an addition to the rulebook that "At This Location powers only apply to characters at the location, the location's deck, or the location itself unless they say otherwise." might be warranted. Or maybe that's just being overly pedantic. Hard to say. :)


The passage you're quoting is:

Wrath Rules p.21 wrote:
At This Location: These are special powers that are in effect while the location is open.

This doesn't tell us that powers that refer to "you" or "your turn" apply to all characters at all locations. The Chasm of Shadows is different: its power does not refer to "you" or "your turn".

Your position leads to absurd conclusions. In the Organized Play scenario 0-1B, which has a Shark Island location for every character, in a six-player game each player would have to fight six Hammerhead Sharks at the start of every turn.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I think the intent of the abyssal rift is pretty clear. It can only be closed if someone is occupying it, and then only every other turn. Maybe the rules text could be tightened up a little bit to prevent confusion, but I feel like other interpretations are being a bit pedantic.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Frankly, this is getting ridiculous.

The moment I saw this card I knew it would need a whole page of FAQ all to itself, and I can't understand how it was not evident during play-testing. I'm just holding out for that FAQ to arrive, and when that's settled, if I never see a card designed to be too 'clever' for its own good, it won't be soon enough >:

These forums aside, I don't believe the game should be about the finer points of the corners cases of the exceptions to a sub-rule of a rule. And complaints about 'too easy' notwithstanding, I think one of the best qualities of RotR were its user-friendliness and the ability to immediately pick it up and enjoy it with new/casual players without getting bogged down in absurd rules minutiae.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

See this and this and also this. The "end of your turn" power only applies if you are at the location at the end of your turn. The unoccupied power always applies.


I read the two powers as:

Abyssal side: At this location, at the end of your turn, flip this card.

Normal side: At this location, at the end of your turn, or when this location is not occupied, flip this card.

Not necessarily grammatically correct, but it implies that whenever no one is at the location, the card flips.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
elcoderdude wrote:
Your position leads to absurd conclusions. ...

It does! But we all understand that, despite the rules not saying so, in most cases they didn't mean for everyone to fight a bunch of sharks every turn or checks at all locations are affected by one location or whatever. They only meant for it to apply to folks At This Location. Vic mentions it in this post.

However, sometimes they did mean for an At This Location power to apply whether or not anyone is there, and so there can be confusion. Good thing that most of the time we can look at the power and be reasonable about what it meant. :)

51 to 60 of 60 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Abyssal Rift All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.