Owlbear

burgus's page

34 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists.


RSS


Whoops! I'll chide my friend for not reading the card properly. Thanks though :D


Thanks for your answers so far! I have one more:
In our game one of us tried to defeat a monster. We had Valeros in our party, who would have liked to help with the check, but he was at another location. However, he had the animal ally "Horse" in his hand. Was he able to play it during that other character's encounter to move to the encounter's location to help?


1. „A check against an animal card“. Does this also mean checks to acquire animal cards, such as allies?

2. „Heal a weapon“. Heals usually heal random cards. Now it specifies a weapon. If I have several weapons in my discard pile, do I pick them randomly then?

3. If I have a power that lets me ignore before acting powers and I encounter a monster that says something like „before acting each character suffers 1 damage“, is the whole before acting sequence ignored for everyone, due to my power ignoring the whole before acting part or is it just me who will avoid the damage?

4. In scenario 2A in Curse I’m supposed to build the location „Ship“. However, there is no such location. Am I supposed to build the location „Boat“ instead?


I suppose they should be played freely. They would be pretty useless otherwise, wouldn't they?


Very nice review! :) I hope that you keep it up if you have the time and hopefully others will contribute as well.

I wrote this in another thread already (Sajan's Strategy), but it fits perfectly here so I'm just gonna copy and paste:

Can you do this for Lini next? I wanted to play her with my party soon, but when I tested her in a solo play I wasn't so sure what she's actually good at and how I should use her mechanics. It also seems there aren't enough animal allies in core (except low level ones) and especially curse (which has almost only human allies) to make her a great choice. Please prove me wrong.


This is very cool! Can you do this for Lini next? I wanted to play her with my party soon, but when I tested her in a solo play I wasn't so sure what she's actually good at and how I should use her mechanics. It also seems there aren't enough animal allies in core (except low level ones) and especially curse (which has almost only human allies) to make her a great choice. Please prove me wrong.


I like all the suggestions for market house rules.
And I really love these blogs. Keep it up!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Okay so nothing official yet.
But I think it's save to say that there will be more. After all, what would be the point of a Core Set if there were no expansions? (Or only one, for that matter).
As for the selling point...if we just go by quality, this should sell better than the older versions. The rules are much more refined and the cards look better (imo).


Hey there,

I was wondering when Core and Curse were released.

I was also wondering if there are any clues on when the next Adventure Path will be released. And which setting it might be?


Frencois wrote:
Asif Kazmi wrote:

Wolf Pack

Before acting, a local character summons and encounters this monster.

So a solo character "A" would encounter two of these total? And 3 characters would encounter two as well (and either "B" or "C" players would choose to encounter the second)?

That’s it.

Couldn't the second example be played differently?

As Char. A is also one of the 3 local characters, it's not either B or C encountering the summoned instance, but A, B or C.
Question mark?


Hey everyone,

In the Dragon’s Demand Storybook on page 23, there’s a random scenario called „Seek the Treasure“. It tells me to „add 3 wildcards“.

However, I only have 2 wildcards: „The Perils“ and „The Onslaughts“.

Am I supposed to add 3 powers on any of those cards (is that what the term „wildcard“ actually means? Not the cards themselves, but the powers on them?)
Or am I supposed to have more than these two cards in my core set?

If the latter would be the case, how would I know how many powers to apply on each of the cards? Applying every single power on 3 wildcards would be suicide, wouldn’t it?

Generally, which powers do I choose? Is it totally up to me?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks a lot, that made things much clearer! :)


First Question

p. 28, Cards do what they say:

"You can play a Cure spell even if it’s not your turn. Cards say everything they need to say."

Ok, cool. But one page after that it tells me something else.

p. 29, When things happen matters:
You can’t play a Cure spell during a combat check, or during recovery, or right before a Dragon bathes you in flame. The cards will tell you when to play them, so follow their lead.

Cure does not tell me when to play it. The first example would suggest that I could play it even during a combat check. The second example negates that. So what can I stick to in general?

___

Second Question. p. 26, Rules Changes:

"The Golden Rules cover the storybook and define the word “always.”"

What is that supposed to mean? I just don't understand the sentence, to be honest.


Thanks skizzerz!

Those are some nice ressources.
I'm enjoing the story from boardgamegeek a lot, the game makes much more sense now :-)


I own the S&S base set and all S&S adventures. We are a party of three people and have played the first three of them (B, 1 and 2).

So far we are enjoying it A LOT!
But we are no role players. We have never played something like a tabletop RPG before and the card game was the perfect way for us to sate our thirst for looting and levelling without having to start with something as complex like the Pathfinder RPG.

So we are playing this game rather strategically, without much (or any) roleplaying. Nevertheless I think that even a little bit of roleplaying might enhance the experience a lot.

Does anyone have any advice as to how to spice up the game a little?
It doesn't need to be roleplay advice only. Maybe someone uses some special rules he/she likes a lot...

So how do you play? How do you make the game an even better experience?
I'm really curious for your answers!


Thank you for all the answers!


Another question:

Master Scourge deals 1 dmg after I act but he is evaded if I don't succeed a CON or FORT check.

If he is evaded, does he still deal the 1 dmg after I act?


"If you play a weapon, the difficulty of the check to defeat is incresed by 3, or by 6 if your check has the swashbuckling trait."

Does this mean...

1. that it is increased by 6 if I use a weapon AND the swashbuckling trait

or

2. that it is increased by 6 if I use the swashbuckling trait even without a weapon

?


Frencois wrote:
Actually in OP the question may be valid, but not for the plain standard game. In the standard game we always played that we start with the lowest boons so we have things to look for even during the first AD0 game.

That's exactly how I decided to play, too.

There's no reward apart from new cards in the first(0) adventure, and even later on you find more than enough.

Still, I'm a little surprised how good Jirelle goes with chain armors.


Hey there!

I was wondering: what's the point of picking leather armor?

Chain Shirt is exactly the same card only that you additionally have the option to reduce up to 2 more damage if the check has the swashbuckling trait.

They are both basic cards, so why would you pick Leather Armor if you can build your Deck with Chain Shirt right away?

Plus: The Chainshirt seems pretty OP to me when playing Jirelle. All the weapons she uses are usually swashbuckling, which makes Chain Shirt a "recharge for -3dmg" from the very start.

Should Chain Shirt really be a basic card??


Hello guys,

I was wondering about the use of the feat "You gain the skill Ranged: Intelligence +2" on Seltyiel's Marauder role card.

I figure its main use is for being able to use ranged weapons, but is there anything else it's good for?

I usually love the idea of gaining new skills, but for Seltyiel it feels just unneccessary if it's only for even more weapons. He is already way too strong at fighting.

Is the ranged skill also good for some out-of-combat stuff?


This means that Seltyiel can not recharge spells that are only "Divine"?


Seltyiel's power says that I may attempt to recharge a spell in my discard pile (before I reset my hand).

How does this attempt work? Do I just do the "check to acquire" (e.g. Intelligence Arcane 4) on the card I want to try to recharge?

Or is the check I need to do the one in the powers section, which would be for example:
"After playing this card, if you do not have the Arcane skill, banish it; otherwise you may succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it"

So is it Intelligence Arcane 4 or Arcane 6 or something entirely different?


Nice, thank you :-)

James McKendrew wrote:


Using a dagger as your (primary) weapon makes your check a Ranged Combat check, even though you don't have the Ranged skill. Therefore, you may use the Master Gunner to add 1d4.

You said "even through you don't HAVE the Ranged skill". My point was not that I don't have it but that I didn't choose to use it (the dagger allows me to use either my Dex or my Ranged skill, I chose Dex).

Because of this I wasn't sure if maybe you misunderstood me. Is your answer still correct? The dagger always makes my check a ranged combat check, even if I don't choose to use the Ranged skill?

____

There are cards that say something like:
"...you may additionally discard this card to add another Xd#.
At the end of your turn of you do not have the X skill banish it; otherwise attempt an X check...if you succeed recharge the card, if you fail discard it."

My question is: If I do discard this card to add another die, can I still use the check to recharge it? Probably not, right? Because this would make the whole discard option pointless, as I would have to banish or recharge it anyway, no matter if I discarded it or not.


We have played for 3 hours yesterday and it was really a lot of fun but also very exhausting.
As expected I have some more questions now:

1.

Phantasmal Minion wrote:


Discard this card to give a card to another character.

Discard this card to allow another character at your location to give you a card.

...

Can I play this spell on another player's turn? And if so, when exactly?

2.

Holy Isle wrote:


On closing you may recharge any cards that have the Divine trait in your discard pile.

I'm not a native english speaker so I wasn't 100% sure what exactly this means.

If it would say "any card" that would mean that I can choose one card to recharge. But it tells me to recharge "any cards" (plural), which is basically the same as saying "every card" (with the divine trait), right? (which is possibly a totally overpowered heal)

3.

Master Gunner wrote:


Recharge this card to add 1d4 to your Ranged combat check...

I'm using a dagger as a weapon. I reveal it and choose to use the Dexterity skill for my combat check. The master gunner tells me I can only use him on my Ranged combat check. However, the dagger has the Ranged trait.

Can I use the Master Gunner here or would I have to choose the Ranged skill when using the dagger?

4.

Island Hopping wrote:


During this Scenario:
If you defeat a Hammerhead Shark henchman, put it on the bottom of a random other open location...

Do I do this the same way I would do it with a villain? So I take blessings from the box and mix it with the henchman and deal those cards equally to the open locations?


Yeah it actually makes sense after reading through it several times.

So I can always play these kind of cards for other players' checks, when it's not my turn, right?

Sorry for being so stupid. I just don't want to play this game wrong.


Thank you, Hawkmoon.

Hawkmoon269 wrote:


This (or something very, very similar) is also in the S&S rulebook as part of the steps of an encounter:

I was even reading that very passage before I made my post. Somehow I must have skipped it. This game really makes my head burn xD

just in case my edit wasn't noticed:

Rum Bottle: "Discard this card to choose a character at your location and add 1d10 to that character's check to acquire an ally that has the pirate trait..."
Which check do they mean? Does this mean that I can only play this card when a player has to do any kind of check? So I support one of my fellow players AND I get an ally? Can't be true, right? Seems too op.

Potion of Glibness: "Banish this card and choose a character at your location to succeed at a Diplomacy check."
Does this mean that I can use this card on another player's turn to make him succeed at a Diplomacy check when I'm at the same location?


Thanks, Frencois!

The questions do keep coming...

1. I was browsing through the cards and found the weapon Main-Gauche, which says:
"If you played a weapon that has the 2-Handed trait on this check, you may not play this card."
Why does it say that so explicitly? Isn't it obvious that I can't use it when I already used a 2-handed card? And does this mean then that I can use it if I already used a 1-handed weapon? Does all of this have something to do with the "offhand" trait of the card?

2. How exactly does evasion work? I can only evade an encounter with a skill (for example the rogue) or a card. And what happens then? Is the encounter just put back on top of the location deck or is it shuffled?

EDIT: 3. Rum Bottle: "Discard this card to choose a character at your location and add 1d10 to that character's check to acquire an ally that has the pirate trait..."
Which check do they mean? Does this mean that I can only play this card when a player has to do any kind of check? So I support one of my fellow players AND I get an ally? Can't be true, right? Seems too op.


Impressive! This really cleared it up and I'm sure it might also help other new players as a reference. Thanks a lot, skizzerz! :-)

There's one question I have concerning your post:

skizzers wrote:


First, we recharge Topaz of Strength to replace our d6 Wisdom die with a d10. This only replaces the die itself, even though we have Strength +4, it does not give us those additional 4 points from our skill feats.

So I do not get the Strength +4 because the Topaz of Strength does not change the type of check but only the type of dice I roll, did I get that right?

____

Something came to my mind when reading through the post once more.

James McKendrew wrote:


You may do combats when it's not your turn, and so if the current "captain" of the ship isn't at your location, you would not get the boarding pike bonus.

Can someone give me an example when this could be the case?

Another question: When exactly do ships appear? They only seem to appear when other cards tell me to summon one, is that right? (For example "Enemy Ship" or "Jemma Redclaw") Are there any other ways to encounter ships, for example when I travel from one location to another?

EDIT: This "Skulls & Shackles Adventure" was derived from the original Pathfinder game, right? Is there some kind of (freely available) lore that I can read to get a feeling for the setting? Is there also a lore for the basic adventure?


Thanks a lot everyone!
I will come back to this thread as soon as I have new questions. I will be playing with two friends tomorrow and I'm almost sure that something will come up ;-)


Thank you for your quick reply!
Now those thing are clear to me, thank you very much :-)

Another question came up:
If a weapon is not 2-handed, can I use two weapon cards for one fight?
If I can't, what's the 2-handed trait even for?


Hello everybody :-)

I just got a copy of the Skull & Shackles Base Set. I have played a test round solo and while I think the rules aren't too hard to understand, I still have a few questions left:

1. Ships

a) I can attempt to repair my ship in the "move" turn. Do I have to move to another location in order to repair the ship or can I do it in the move turn even if I am not moving at all?

b) When the ship is not anchored does this mean that I am always considered to be "on a ship" whenever it is my turn or an ally's turn in my location?
I was wondering this because the "Boarding Pike" weapon gets a nice bonus "if you are on a ship", which basically would be always if your ship isn't anchored.

c) The checks to defeat ships are not of the "combat" type (although you actually are fighting the ship, aren't you?)
So just to make sure: If I have the "Blessing of Milani" (= discard to add 2 dice to any non-combat(!!) dex or wis check) I can use it for defeating a ship which needs the corresponding check? (because fighting ships is "non-combat"?)

2. I started with the base-game's adventure "Plunder & Peril".
Am I allowed to / does it make sense to already add the cards from "The Wormwood Mutiny" (1) adventure deck to the box and thus using them when playing the basic adventure?
And for the future: does it make sense to use cards from "Temptest Rising" (3) or any other higher-level adventure when playing a lower-level adventure?

Thank you in advance! :-)