False Life and Mirror Image - not played freely?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The spells False Life (Crimson Throne) and Mirror Image (Core) don't mention anything about being played freely - meaning that spellcasters can't play these cards from their hands to prevent combat damage when they fail to defeat a monster with an attack spell.

Just making sure that's the intention, particularly since the pre-Core version of Mirror Image could be played freely.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

If I get well the ruling on card limitations, at the time when you suffer damage is gonna - maybe - be consider its own "moment" in terms of limitations of cards to be played.
So that would mean "freely" isn't needed to play those spells even if you played an attack spell during the previous check.

But this is still under discussion AFAIK.


It's still the same step of the encounter, so unless these spells were meant to have freely, you cannot cast them if you (or anyone) used a non-freely spell on your combat check which you failed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just a quick bump. False Life and Mirror image definitely aren't meant to be played freely if in hand?


I suppose they should be played freely. They would be pretty useless otherwise, wouldn't they?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

These spells stay displayed for a while so you can display them at the start of a turn typically. There is no reason to make them « freely » playable IMHO.


Frencois wrote:
There is no reason to make them « freely » playable IMHO.

For what it's worth, I'm just trying to suss out whether the omission of "freely" was accidental or deliberate. I'm fine with whatever the powers at be decide.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
wkover wrote:
Frencois wrote:
There is no reason to make them « freely » playable IMHO.
For what it's worth, I'm just trying to suss out whether the omission of "freely" was accidental or deliberate. I'm fine with whatever the powers at be decide.

Like Frencois, I'm convinced that the answer to this depends on the pending resolution he mentioned in his first post (i.e if damage reduction is treated as its own instance where card type limitations are concerned) - and historically, that's enough of a reason for devs not to rush with an answer. Of course, even if that's made into a rule, "freely" would still have an impact - as it would allow you to play TWO damage-reduction spells on the same damage.

Pending an official answer, I think you're pretty safe playing Mirror Image even if a spell was played on combat (which, as you note, WAS allowed pre-Core), but NOT playing Mirror Image AND and another damage reduction spell on the same damage (which was NOT allowed even in pre-Core).


Frencois wrote:
These spells stay displayed for a while so you can display them at the start of a turn typically. There is no reason to make them « freely » playable IMHO.

Until the end of any turn is not "a while" especially if you don't know if you're taking damage.

(This only applies to Mirror Image. False Life is fine.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / False Life and Mirror Image - not played freely? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion