bedeviler's page

Organized Play Member. 11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


Can the discoveries taken by one class (investigator) be used by the Class(alchemist)?


I love the downtime system and make heavy use of it. As a gm I also look at things from the npc side as well. Why would a caster ever make magic items for sell if they must spend the same amount of money as they spend to make it? Doing that, how would they feed themselves while they are crafting? The players I run like to craft both mundane as well as magical items. Alchemical items are very popular at low levels. On the mundane items paying 1/3 the cost makes them more useful, and since my games tend to be player driven, they get as much downtime as they want.
I waited until both groups finished the full tests before I posted my findings with the feedback from my players.


This is heading in the direction of 5th edition did. It is a system designed not for home game but society games. Item creation rules are deplorable. Using the new system a crafter could never earn a living and it is worse for making magic items. As they 12 people I run like crafting both regular items as well as magic items it does not fit. One group tried making characters but finally put the task on me due to not being able to make what they wanted to play.Characters made in the new system are cookie cutter lacking the options of the 1st edition. Their general consensus is that everything they liked about Pathfinder 1st edition was removed. So for all 13 of us I give this edition a fail.
Thank you for your time.


Thanks everyone


There are spells that generate effects that there are powers that give immunity to, Pure Senses (Pure Senses (Su): Your senses are extraordinarily keen. You're immune to blindness and deafness caused by non-mythic sources. Such effects from mythic sources count as mythic for the purposes of this ability.) is an example. My question is does any spell cast by a mythic character count as being from a mythic source or does it have to be a mythic spell to bypass the immunity.
Mythic Source is not a very well defined term where magic is concerned from my reading.


Does a normal spell cast by a mythic character count as being from a mythic source? What about poison, etc.
I personally lean toward spells must be mythic to count as a mythic source, as the caster is manipulating forces outside of his/her body. Poisons and other things that come from the body of the character/ creature as coming from a mythic source.
Please give feedback.


LazarX wrote:
Buri Reborn wrote:
LazarX wrote:
There is nothing in the surge mechanics which override the auto-fail or auto-success rules, so no.

Sure, there is.

Surge (Su) wrote:
You can expend one use of mythic power to increase any d20 roll you just made[...] This can change the outcome of the roll.

It can change the outcome from a fail to a success provided that the d20 roll is 2 or higher.

A 1 on an autofail roll is a fail irregardless of modifiers applied.

The champion power, Always a chance makes a 1 not miss. Letting surge do so makes the mythic power useless.


This section of the spirit animal is vague to me.
A shaman uses her level as her effective wizard level when determining the abilities of her spirit animal. A shaman can select any familiar available to wizards to serve as her spirit animal, although her spirit animal is augmented by the power of her chosen spirit. Once selected, the spirit animal cannot be changed. Although a shaman's spirit animal uses the statistics of a specific animal, it is treated as an outsider with the native subtype for the purposes of spells and abilities that affect it.
Levels of different classes that are entitled to familiars stack with shaman levels for the purpose of determining any spirit animal abilities that depend on the shaman's level. If a shaman possesses such levels in other classes, her spirit animal always uses the shaman rules for spirit
animals, not those used by familiars of other classes (such as witches, wizards, or sorcerers with the arcane bloodline). If the shaman has witch levels, her spirit animal also serves as the conduit to her patron and stores her witch spells. The shaman's spirit animal is treated as a familiar for the purposes of all spells, effects, and abilities that
affect familiars.
My question is does a spirit animal get all of the abilities of a familiar or just some of them?


Not a problem but it does not cover the changes made between the Core book and Alien Archive. So is the Core racial attribute adjustment also before finalization or not? The races in First contact seems to use the same setup as the Core book and the Alien Archive seems to go back to more of the Pathfinder system.


Looking through Alien Archive, i noticed more playable races. I also noticed that unlike in CRB or First contact, the new races. and some reprints, have different attribute bonus/ penalty. For example, in First contact, Space Goblins get a +4 Dex, and -1 Cha. In Alien Archive, they have a +4 Dex and -2 Cha. There are other examples as well. So my question is which is correct? The First Contact fits better with the races in the CRB. Do all races now get a -2 where they had a -1?


If you are playing an Archmage mythic character, and you take the 1st tier power Flexible School, which lets you get the powers from a second school with a level equal to your mythic tier. At second tier you gain Mythic school, which adds 4 to your level for determining the levels for a school that you have. Does Mythic School effect just 1 school and you must pick the 1 that it works on or does it effect both of them?