Allevrah Azrinae

WizardlyWizard's page

Organized Play Member. 7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Not sure if a form already exists for this, but I thought I'd get it started.

7th level sorceror/wizard spells:
Lightning Rod

Description: What description. It is missing.

Referenced several times in spell lists in the book, so looks like just the spells descriptive text is required.


Thanks everyone! I didn't think there was a rule, but wanted to make sure.


HansiIsMyGod wrote:
Quote:
Reach Spell - Benefit: You can alter a spell with a range of touch, close, or medium to increase its range to a higher range category, using the following order: touch, close, medium, and long.

I'd say this doesn't apply to subsequent rays, only to casting of the spell.

The additional rays description states that they attack as if you fired them but they must be fired within close range.

However, it is not completely clear to me whether this is an exclusive case or open to interpretation. I say, probably exclusive.

Quote:
Maximize Spell - Benefit: All variable, numeric effects of a spell modified by this feat are maximized. Saving throws and opposed rolls are not affected, nor are spells without random variables.

As stated in the description, maximize spell applies to all numeric effects of a spell, that means it applies also to additional rays as they are a part of the spell in question.

The reach spell part is tricky, because like you say it says the range of the subsequent rays in the spell.

The ruling could go both ways, as the question becomes whether that was restating the spell range, and whether the "if you fired them" overrules the specified range.


My DM said there was an official errata that limited the number of pearls of power a character could use per day. I can't find this anywhere.

Does anyone know if this is true, and if so could you provide a link?

My DM specifically believes it is 1 pearl/spell level/day now. If it is houserule fine, but he has stated it is official errata and I'd like the clarification if possible.


So my question is pretty straight forward.

Say I cast a maximized contagious flame. Per the description of maximize spell:
----------------------------------------------------------
Your spells have the maximum possible effect.

Benefit: All variable, numeric effects of a spell modified by this feat are maximized. Saving throws and opposed rolls are not affected, nor are spells without random variables.

----------------------------------------------------------

Per Contagious Flame:

----------------------------------------------------------
You blast several enemies with beams of fire. You may fire three rays, plus one additional ray for every four levels beyond 11th (to a maximum of five rays at 19th level). Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage.

The rays may be fired at the same or different targets, but all rays must be aimed at targets within 30 feet of each other and fired simultaneously.

Every round on your turn, a new ray of fire launches from each creature who took damage from the spell in the previous round-these new rays attack as if you fired them, but their point of origin is the previous creature damaged. You can choose the new targets as a free action, all of whom must be within close range (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels) of their new starting point. This contagion of flame continues for a total of three rounds-a creature can be struck more than once by this spell over the course of these three rounds, although never by a ray of fire that launches from itself.
----------------------------------------------------------

So would all new rays from the original casting still be maximized? This is the only way that the spell would have the "maximum possible effect..." It also states they attack as if you fired them.

The same holds true for using reach spell, and extending the range to large. If I were to make a wizard using spell perfection cast a level 6 contagious flame maximized, and apply a rod of reach spell, could I theoretically cast rays at 400+40/level, and each round they restrike at that range, dealing maximum damage?


NIVEUS wrote:

I am currently having a disagreement with one of my fellow players regarding Lances and Smite/Challenge. Can I please have an official confirm that Smites and Challenges are Multiplied on Crits and charges with lances

My level 8 Cavalier/Bard/Chevalier Challenges a creature while charging with his Lance (he has Spirited Charge and Vital Strike)

normally my lance does 2d8 +5 while Charging (+2 str +2 Enhancement +1 Arcane Strike)

but while Charging it will do 3d8+15 +1d8 (or 1d8 +5)+ (1d8 +5)+ (1d8+5)+ (1d8)

but While Challenging I get +9 (6 from Cavalier +3 from Cockatrice)damage making it 3d8+42 +1d8 or (1d8 +5 +9)+(1d8 +5 +9)+(1d8 +5 +9)+ (1d8)

Also do Smite and Challenge Stack when on same target?

~Ryan

The dispute is not per se the multiplication on a critical, it is the multiplication with a lance, on a horse, while charging.

A lance does double damage when charging.

A lance does double damage on horseback.

This means it does 1d8 *3, so 3d8 damage.

The question is do you add the bonus challenge damage to the lance at the start, so 1d8 + 14, then multiply by 3, or do you calculate it as 3d8 + 14. The difference is huge. 3d8 + 42 vs. 3d8 + 14.

If you want to interpret the letter of the damage, it states that the strength bonus is added to the damage result, not the damage dice.

Does charging with a lance on a horse triple all damage, or just triple the damage done by the lance itself?

The cavalier text states that:

Once per day, a cavalier can challenge a foe to combat. As a swift action, the cavalier chooses one target within sight to challenge. The cavalier’s melee attacks deal extra damage whenever the attacks are made against the target of his challenge. This extra damage is equal to the cavalier’s level. The cavalier can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day for every three levels beyond 1st, to a maximum of seven times per day at 19th level.

Why is this being multiplied 3x by charging with a lance on a horse? It should be added to the damage done at the end. It could be doubled on a critical hit, but not tripled (the +9 per damage dice) then doubled again (on the critical hit). It should be +9 damage to the total damage result at the end of the roll, then if there is a critical hit doubled to 18. It should not in my opinion be calculated as +27 damage, doubled to +54 damage.

Per the entry under weapons, weapon qualities, critical in the equipment section (don't know the page)

"Extra damage over and above a weapon's normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit."

That line of text should be the end of the debate.

Smite is not part of the weapons damage.
Challenge is not part of the weapons damage.
Strength is not part of the weapons damage.

End of story in my opinion.


NIVEUS wrote:

Could we get a Paizo employee to confirm that Smites are multiplied on Crits and with lances?

Page 179 says they do but one of my fellow players is denying it

The dispute is not per se the multiplication on a critical, it is the multiplication with a lance, on a horse, while charging.

A lance does double damage when charging.

A lance does double damage on horseback.

This means it does 1d8 *3, so 3d8 damage.

The question is do you add the bonus challenge damage to the lance at the start, so 1d8 + 14, then multiply by 3, or do you calculate it as 3d8 + 14. The difference is huge. 3d8 + 42 vs. 3d8 + 14.

If you want to interpret the letter of the damage, it states that the strength bonus is added to the damage result, not the damage dice.

Does charging with a lance on a horse triple all damage, or just triple the damage done by the lance itself?

The cavalier text states that:

Once per day, a cavalier can challenge a foe to combat. As a swift action, the cavalier chooses one target within sight to challenge. The cavalier’s melee attacks deal extra damage whenever the attacks are made against the target of his challenge. This extra damage is equal to the cavalier’s level. The cavalier can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day for every three levels beyond 1st, to a maximum of seven times per day at 19th level.

Why is this being multiplied 3x by charging with a lance on a horse? It should be added to the damage done at the end. It could be doubled on a critical hit, but not tripled (the +9 per damage dice) then doubled again (on the critical hit). It should be +9 damage to the total damage result at the end of the roll, then if there is a critical hit doubled to 18. It should not in my opinion be calculated as +27 damage, doubled to +54 damage.