While playing I needed to look up the rules for splash damage and two things seemed counter-intuitive:
1. Why, if you miss the target, can you not still hit in the square you were aiming at? It is a 5 ft. square and the target isn't taking up all of it so if he dodges the attack can't it still hit in that square?
2. It seems harsh to make automatic damage to all other things around the hit square. Why is there no reflex save for half or none? I understand it not always being good to stay together, but you still get a save if they throw a fireball or lightning bolt at you.\
I don't know if I missed anything in the rules and if I did I do apologize.