Villamar Koth

Vertexx69's page

Organized Play Member. 37 posts (88 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 22 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.




Per the grapple rules when you make a grapple check, you move the target to an open adjacent square. It doesn't mean they have to stay there, especially with gravity on your side for a change. While the 3rd lvl sorc/wiz/witch spell "Strangling Hair" can't be used to take the Move or Pin Grapple actions, it still pulls the mob adjacent when it makes the check. Add to this close range spell Fly, and you have a Harlem Globe Trotters highlight reel of hilarity.

Lets say a Magus8 with spell blending magus arcana & the 2 spells in question, The Improved Unarmed Strike/Improved Grapple/Greater grapple Feat Combo is flying 45ft over the battlefield. He casts SH over a monster, grappling it, which yanks the mob into an open adjacent square, which happens to be the diagonal above the Magus in the air 50ft off the ground. This part happens automatically when the grapple check is made constricting for 1d6 whole dmg, but the Magus will be damned if he's going to hold it there. Gravity happens at this point dealing 5d6 as the mob plummets back to the ground trailing the 45ft of hair from the spell. Then as his move action the Magus Maintains the grapple once again yanking the mob 50ft into the air to deal his 2d6 for Grapple + Constrict and another dribble of 5d6 falling dmg. Then he concentrates as a standard and maintains as a move until the creature stops bouncing. :9

Would this work as a tactic, taking for granted making all the grapple checks?

Dark Archive

All righty then. I made an Oni-spawn Tiefling Shapeshifter Ranger, with the Claws form of the Maw or Claws alternate racial class feature. So he starts at lvl 1 with 2 claw attacks. My next 2 lvls are Alchemist giving me my 1st Discovery and my lvl 3 feat, for which I choose Vestigial Limb and Extra Discovery-Vestigial Limb. Still have just 2 Claw Attacks.

At Lvl 4 I get my 2nd lvl of shapeshifter Ranger, which gives me Aspect of the Beast (Claws of the Beast) which says I gain 2 Primary claw attacks. It doesn't specify where these 2 extra claws grow from( ie. fingertips, toes or bone spurs from my butt cheeks), but for flavor I put them on the hands of my 2 Vestigial Limbs as I am stylizing my character after a girallon.

Then I am told I can't do this because the Vestigial Limb description says that they never grant extra attacks, even though its the aspect of the beast feat that is granting the extra 2 claw attacks. So to Sum up:

Level 1: 2 arms, 2 claws
Level 3: 4 arms, 2 claws
Level 4: 4 arms, 4 claws

As far as I can tell using RAW my build is legal. So aside from people just not liking my ability to stay on par damage-wise with an archer, but using melee, does it sound PFS legal?

2/5

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

One of our local GMs, who happens to be our Venture Captain as well, is now saying that even when our weapon wielding party members are walking through dungeons, with our weapons in hand, we still have to use a move action to "Ready" them before attacking. His logic is that its this way because otherwise the Quickdraw feat is useless. I tried to tell him about the standard charge rules during surprise rounds, but he won't hear it. He says he'll do it this way until someone shows him an official ruling here on the forums, even though its completely counter-intuitive. My 25+ years of D&D and RPG experience means nothing to him, and even real world examples are falling on deaf ears. All he says beyond that is to take it up with the Venture Captain (Him).

So I need an "Official" Pathfinder Society ruling to get back the move actions for everyone who plays at his and his lieutenants' tables.

Sovereign Court

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

My Sylph multi-class Monk (Zen Archer) takes the Cloud Gazer racial feat to see through the fog she creates between herself and her enemies with her horn of fog. She has total concealment from them, while they have no concealment from her. Does she get to apply her SA dice to her attacks while within 30ft after the surprise round, as long as she maintains the total concealment?


I could find nothing in the PFC rules about natural attacks counting as having the "Improved Unarmed Strike" feat to qualify for other feats, as they did in 3.5. There are now several optional racial features/class options for characters to get natural attacks including goblin/tengu/tiefling/sorcerer's dragon bloodline etc... and I think it needs to be clarified. The tengu's claw option specifically states that the claws qualify as having the "Improved Unarmed Strike" feat for the purpose of choosing feats that have IUS as a prerequisite. Why are the tengu special?

Since one approved race's natural attacks count as having the feat, I think they ALL should, including characters/mounts/companions/eidolons/familiars. They should all be considered to have IUS for the purpose of feat selection.

2/5

As one of the myriad Summoners in the PFS I had a question about Day Jobs:

Since the Eidolon is for all intents and purposes a full character in their own rights, complete with stats, skill ranks,a hopefully fully formed personality, and are always with the summoner when they're conscious, I was wondering if it should be able to use the Aid Another action when the summoner is rolling their Day Job. I can understand why other players wouldn't be allowed to render Aid as, they have their own lives in between chronicles, but an eidolon is the main feature of the Summoner class.

Yeahs or nays?