Rotrovio

Thiamael's page

14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hello everybody,

i have a bit of an issue understanding a part of the hunter's bond ranger class features and haven't find anything on this particular aspect of it. so here's the question :

in the "hunting companions" version of hunter's bond, it is specified

rules says wrote:
This bond allows him to spend a move action to grant half his favored enemy bonus against a single target of the appropriate type to all allies within 30 feet who can see or hear him. This bonus lasts for a number of rounds equal to the ranger's Wisdom modifier (minimum 1)."

Do my party mates have to stand within 30 feet of me during the whole duration in order to benefit from this bonus or is the range limitation applying only at the activation ?

here is a link on the class for your convenience.
Go to Paizo ranger page.


sorry for the necro post.

i have another suggestion that could be worth it. and it may help other people.

the variant channeling for cleric (or others who can channel) gives several options and there is one that might match your desire.

the farming variant grant the ability to ignore fatigue for one minute (for all affected creatures).

i'm not sure if "ignore fatigue" means "immune to fatigue" but it can be a good solution, achievable with only one lvl of cleric.


Thiamael wrote:

Hello everybody,

I was wondering what will happen to divine boons if you take, let's say, only five level of evangelist prc and then continue your character progression with another class (for example wizard or rogue).

after thinking over and over again about it, i reckon that you get the boons of the evangelist, but at the levels given in the feat description.

it is the following sentence that make me think it is like that :

the feat said wrote:

Deific Obedience

Your reverence for a deity is so great that daily prayer and minor sacrifices grant you special boons.

Prerequisite(s): Knowledge (religion) 3 ranks, must worship a deity.

Benefit(s): Each deity requires a different daily obedience, but all obediences take no more than 1 hour per day to perform. Once you’ve performed the obedience, you gain the benefit of a special ability or resistance as indicated in the “Obedience” entry for the god to whom you performed the obedience.

If you have at least 12 Hit Dice, you also gain the first boon granted by your deity upon undertaking your obedience. If you have at least 16 Hit Dice, you also gain the deity’s second boon. If you have 20 Hit Dice or more, you also gain the deity’s third boon. Unless a specific duration or number of uses per day is listed, a boon’s effects are constant.

Certain prestige classes gain access to these boons at lower levels as a benefit of their prestige class. If you have no levels in one of these prestige classes, you gain the boons marked as exalted boons. If you later take levels in sentinel or evangelist, you lose access to the exalted boons and gain access to the new boons appropriate to your class. If you ever fail to perform a daily obedience, you lose all access to the benefits and boons granted by this feat until you next perform the obedience.


Hello everybody,

I was wondering what will happen to divine boons if you take, let's say, only five level of evangelist prc and then continue your character progression with another class (for example wizard or rogue).


sorry if i don't take for true a simple name without tags on a forum. when i see an answer like the one he has given and when you confirm his identity, the only thing i can say is that it's strikes me into fear.

now. i have considered you're last sentence about the d20pfsrd reliability and just gone checked on Paizo's PRD.

i've finded the grappled and pinned conditions in the glossary. it appears to be the same wording as on d20pfsrd. maybe another time d20pfsrd won't be accurate, but for once they are.

so i still don't know if we are supposed to take the given list of actions as an exhaustive one or not.

according to Numarak, it seems that there is a consensus about it(i don't know where to find it, though) that fits what dragonhunterq said. i'll try to convince my DM with that.

sorry for bothering all of you.

now, if i asked this question, if several peoples asked it, that pathfinder players seems to had a consensus on it. that some people even here and now on this own thread as given a different answer...

maybe, it is time to think once again about another wording around pinned condition to set this debate once and for all? no?

thanks to everybody for all your answers. feel free to continue if you want. for myself, i won't. i haven't got anymore credit as i don't know one of the "saints" who wrote the core rulebook.

oh, and i don't have the core rulebook. sorry. one new bad point for me. but i only buyed specific books for they give specific feats, rules or classes that you don't find on the internet.

for my defense, i didn't buy it 'cause a living game like this ones as a tendancy to evolve (through new stuff and corrections) and the paper version of a core rulebook can become obsolete quite fast.

once again. sorry. have a nice game and day and i hope i'll see each of you next time on a more pleasant situation.


dragonhunterq wrote:
Thiamael wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
You're looking for a direct answer from Paizo staff, but you're not happy with the answer you found from a [then current] staff member?

sorry. i didn't realised that dragonhunterq was a staff member.

where is it written on the thread? (so i won't make the same mistake twice.)

I deeply apologies to you, dragonhunterq.

thanks for the answer.

I am SO not a staff member. Nefreet was referring to former very senior member of staff Sean K Reynolds.

Now i'm totally confused. I'm unable to determine who is or not a staff member on this forum. Only clue i see here must be the little key on Nefreet's name. But Sean K Reynolds doesn't have any.

Nefreet wrote:
You're looking for a direct answer from Paizo staff, but you're not happy with the answer you found from a [then current] staff member?

Well, if you speak about Sean's answer. Yes i'm totally unhappy with that. and i've already explained why. I would have been happy if it was clear that he was a staff member, if he had clearly said "yes, it is like that" and not by quoting only a part of the rule that taken alone can easily be countered by another part of the rule taken alone.

(that's without considering that the given answer was very haughty).

sorry if i'm not sattisfied with that.

the far more satisfying answer as far as it goes here is dragonhunterq's. but now you're telling me you're not from the staff. so what could have been a clear way of interpreting the text seems now only to be a personnal tough on how to interpret it.

from now on, i will go with dragonhunterq's asnwer when i'm the DM and i won't go on a brawler type character when i'm not 'cause i won't be able to say to my DM friend "it's like that and no other way."

you should know how frustrating it is for a player when he create a character based on a precise game mecanic and he suddenly realise that because the rule isn't totally clear, his DM as houseruled some part of it and now the character build seems tottaly wrong, and even sometime unplayable.

my current DM as stated that the pinned character can still attack but with a -4 to touch and melee attacks. he was even thinking of adding the staggered condition to the pinned character. why is that? simply because he can't either decide how to interpret this rule.

it is also frustratring for the DM when the only answer he can gives is a houserule.

this issue is taking a way that really isn't the one i wanted. i'm sorry for all the desagrement i've caused.

let me rephrase the question now that we have some elements of an answer.

must this rule be interpretated in the way dragonhunterq suggested it or not?


Nefreet wrote:
You're looking for a direct answer from Paizo staff, but you're not happy with the answer you found from a [then current] staff member?

sorry. i didn't realised that dragonhunterq was a staff member.

where is it written on the thread? (so i won't make the same mistake twice.)

I deeply apologies to you, dragonhunterq.

thanks for the answer.


dragonhunterq wrote:
pinned wrote:

A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component...

...Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack.

This tells you what you need to know about pinned.

It goes:
You have limited actions, heres a list.
You can attempt to escape (by CM or EA).
You can take verbal and mental actions.
The penalties for grappled do not apply when you are pinned.

Neither attack nor touch attack is on that list, so neither are permitted.

So very much this:

wraithstrike wrote:
Combat maneuver and escape artist are not mental actions. A pinned person can do these because they are specifically allowed by the rules text.

"heres a list" is not clearly written. but i think i can't have a better answer. I would have enjoyed an answer from the paizo staff that clearly point "it is like that, end of the question". but since they haven't done it in 2010. i reckon they won't do it here now.

thanks to wraithstrike and to dragonhunterq for their contribution.
i will content myself with your answer, dragonhunterq.


wraithstrike wrote:

Combat maneuver and escape artist are not mental actions. A pinned person can do these because they are specifically allowed by the rules text.

You can not attack while pinned, not even with touch attacks. That would require you to be able to move. The pinned penalties does not stack with the grappled penalties.

i know combat maneuver and escape artist aren't mental actions. i was just giving a counterargument to the answer of Sean.

so, you cannot attack because you cannot move? so you can't attack while being grappled either. 'cause the grappled condtion also state that you cannot move. so why bother apply a -2 to attack if you can't attack?

sorry. i don't think this answers the problem.


Hello everybody. here's a new thread about an old question (as i saw threads from 2010 about it) but none seems to properly answer it.

the question is "can somebody deliver an attack or a touch attack while being pinned ? ".

first of all, here is a link about the grappled and pinned conditions taken from the d20pfsrd website, site that take in account (as far as i have seen it) what as been said in the paizo FAQ.

grappled condition :
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/conditions#TOC-Grappled

pinned condition :
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/conditions#TOC-Pinned

here is another topic on a similar subject, i will present you with some of the arguments we can find in it and why there are not correct to me.
i will ignore every dm fiat and houserule. for if i wanted to use houseroules, i wouldn't post this question in the first time.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kx1a?Pinned-Question#25

Happler said wrote:

I think that this line:

Quote:

A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component.

for me states that the pinned creature does not have use of their hands at all. Since to cast a spell with somatic it states:
Quote:

Somatic (S): A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.

So the inability to cast with somatic means that you do not have one hand free at all. Thus no touch attacks, no attacks with one-handed or light weapons.

problem is that we have the same statement in the grappled condition. and we can still attack in the grappled condition. so Happler and M P 433 did not really chose the best angle to reckon that through.

then we have several people arguing about how to interpret the line "A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions."

trying to interpret a vague statement as this one that clearly must be a flavour text is just good to get a good headache and to lose your hair. i tried to compare to the french version of this statement only to see that it was not correctly translated.

(in the pathfinder wiki : http://www.pathfinder-fr.org/Wiki/Pathfinder-RPG.%c3%89tats%20pr%c3%a9judic iables.ashx)
in french they say "Une créature immobilisée est fermement retenue et ne peut pas entreprendre la moindre action." wich can be translated by "a pinned creature is tightly bound and cannot take a single action."

the french version does not help here.

then, here comes the "asnwer" marked as favorite

Sean K Reynolds said wrote:
Making a touch attack is neither a verbal action nor a mental action. That is self-evident.

Oh? so i must presume that a combat maneuver check or an escape artist check is only a mental or verbal action? the pinned guy must be quite a psion or at least a terrible bard, screaming loudly in your hears and making you release your grasp on him with a tremendous pain !

one last point is on the rule that say : "Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack."

in grappled, there is a -2 to attack and touch attack actions. in pinned there is nothing about it. shall i presume that it means there is simply no attack or touch attack action in the pinned condition?
or must i consider that the -2 is still effective? but it shouldn't as their conditions do not stack. right?

not really a point on wich we can base our debate if we hope to find an answer.

sorry for the long post. this question and all the debate that run around makes me a bit too much angry. i hope you won't be affraid and help me find the one argument to take them all and in darkness bind them.


so they didn't really replied to this. ok. I will post a new thread as you suggested.
none of the answer above are satisfying to me. even to the specific regards to the lich's touch attack. (i won't say more here as this debate seems to be "resolved").

see you in the next thread, i hope.


hello, sorry for the necropost, but i didn't find any satisfying answer (on google as on this topic) to the question of this post : "Can you make any attacks while you are pinned?"

as the paizo staff answered this somewhere already? can somebody provide a link?

thanks


ok, thank you Fuzzy-Wuzzy.

I was a bit confused because some d&d games (not necessarily the best ones) have a notion of interruption.

it is all clear now. thanks again.


Hello,

i have a question about the snapping turtle clutch feat. let's assume the following situation :

player A as activated snapping turtle style and is done for the round.
player B decide to make a full attack action against player A. the first attack miss.
So player A make a grapple check against player B as an immediate action and is successful.

here comes my problem. I am merely sure that if player B was using a two handed weapon, this would end his full attack right now and prevent him from performing the subsequent attacks. but what if he is using a one handed or light weapon? will he continue his full attack? will he be intterupted?

can somebody help me to clarify this situation?