Preface: I'm going to use the Wound Thresholds system from Pathfinder Unchained for a grittier campaign, but a friend of mine noted that it might make things a little too gritty. Specifically as it applies to stabilization rolls.
My question is: Does the critical condition persist after a character starts dying?
This would cap the stabilization chance of any character at 35% (lower for characters with Con penalties). As the campaign I'd use these rules for is supposed to be grittier than normal I'd be okay with this, but I'd have an easier time selling it to my players if there was no doubt about the ruling.
What does the rule mean that while you're in Tide of Battle mode "you can play only other cards from your hand?"
I was wondering about this, too. It either means nothing at all, or there's a rule missing about playing cards from another player's hand. Or it means you can't take any actions on your turn, you can only play cards.
Liz Courts wrote:
That is all well and good, but it does decrease the value of what would've otherwise been a nearly perfect map. It just lacks a crucial feature. Alas.
Liz Courts wrote:
The system in the Harrow Handbook is for creating a background as presented in Ultimate Campaign. The creation system in Wayfinder #5 does indeed use the cards to generate ability scores. :)
You do God's work, Liz. It just confuses me how an ability score generation system wasn't the first thing Paizo made for Harrow cards.
I am aware, but I'm interested in what the system is like in this book. I'm hoping for something that allows me to generate ability scores (because come on Paizo, the way the suites are in Harrow makes it such an obvious use for the cards!), but if not I'll just combine the two systems somehow.
When you retrain multiple class levels (as per Ultimate Campaign), do the exchanges happen one at a time or all at once?
Let's say I have a barbarian 5 who wants to be a fighter 5. He spends the necessary time and money to retrain all the levels in a row. Does he go through Bbn4/Ftr1, Bbn3/Ftr2, etc. or jump straight from Bbn5 to Ftr5?
I am leaning towards the former, but would like a confirmation from someone more knowledgeable about the rules.
James Jacobs wrote:
In hindsight, I really do wish I'd fixed the leap years on Golarion to match our own, for that exact reason. But it unfortunately slipped my mind at the time. Oh well.
Thanks for the response. Knowing your intent removes my confusion over the matter, and allows me to change the leap years in my game with creator mandate.
The Campaign Setting book was written for 3.5 where the Inner Sea World Guide was written for Pathfinder. That could be the difference?
Don't really see how that would make a difference.
Evil Lincoln wrote:
It's easier to manage a familiar calendar, especially one like Golarion's which actually tracks to our own +2700 years, than it is to manage one with wildly different months and dates. In other words, I can actually use a google calendar from 2008 to represent my campaign in 4708.
That seems the most logical explanation, though it doesn't explain why Golarion has different leap years. Using a real-world calendar is impossible right now without going out of sync with the Golarion calendar.
In the Inner Sea World Guide we are given a calendar very much like our own. Yet this was not always so. In the Pathfinder Campaign Setting book, the number of days isn't specified, so one would naturally assume either the same as our calendar or 30 days each, yes? The latter is supported by the leap day being on the 31st of Arodus (August, which already has 31 days).
So what I'm wondering is, why the changes? I could maybe understand letting people use their real calendars, plus 2700 years, but this is made impossible by the leap years still being different. It just seems like an arbitrary change.
Yeah, what's up with that? Also, why do all the kitsune feats favor classes with 1/1 BAB? My kitsune enchanter can't get a fourth tail before level 21!
A player wanted to take both the Deception and Thievery subdomains for his cleric of Lamashtu (along with the Insanity subdomain). When he realized this was impossible since the two subdomains overlap (both replace the 7th-level domain spell), he insisted that it's still theoretically possible.
For example, the Ash and Smoke subdomains have no overlap. Would a cleric with access to both be able to take both of them as one domain pick?
There needs to be clear ruling against it somewhere, otherwise he won't believe it can't be done.
In the rage subdomain's Rage ability, it says that while the cleric can't obtain any rage powers that have a level requirement, "but otherwise [her] barbarian level is equal to 1/2 [her] cleric level." What does this actually mean for the cleric? What are the benefits of these effective barbarian levels?