Scrapwall Fanatic

TheIronwolf's page

34 posts. Alias of Mark Montgomery 980.


RSS


Enlight_Bystand wrote:
TheIronwolf wrote:

I see a few places where it lists what training levels mean to skills and such. Do they mean the same to Weapons and Armor proficiencies?

Example : I have a human fighter, STR 18 for +4 so right now I attack with my sword with a +4 to hit and damage. Then I need to do proficiency in Martial Weapons is Expert. Isnt Expert +4 then +1 per level for a +5?

So at first level my Fighter can hit with a Longsword +9 to hit?

I cant find this in the book, just trying to wrap my head around character creation.

It's the same system all over the game - the aim is that you just need to learn in once and apply it everywhere.

Ok I thought I was right, but couldnt find Weapon Proficiencies anywhere in the book. Strange since the rules are solidly there for almost everything.

I tried to use HeroLab Online, made the same fighter but it gave me only a +7 to hit with weapons. So they have some work to do there I suppose.


I see a few places where it lists what training levels mean to skills and such. Do they mean the same to Weapons and Armor proficiencies?

Example : I have a human fighter, STR 18 for +4 so right now I attack with my sword with a +4 to hit and damage. Then I need to do proficiency in Martial Weapons is Expert. Isnt Expert +4 then +1 per level for a +5?

So at first level my Fighter can hit with a Longsword +9 to hit?

I cant find this in the book, just trying to wrap my head around character creation.


What about when hasted? What gets the extra attack?


So when I build this guy, 20pt buy, just dont worry about Dex at all?


Ok so Ive made a Teifling ranger, with racial bite, ranger natural weapon claws.

Can I then take Two Weapon Fighting, Improved two weapon fighting and get a claw claw main, claw claw off hand? With then only one bite.


Cant find an answer for this, but a medium Synthesist Summoner is restricted to a medium eidelon wrapped around him?

Can I permanently enlarge the summoner then take Large ability?


Excellent, that is clear and concise, thank you.


Ok so Im in a wrath of the righteous game, my last character died a terrible death.

I wanted to make a sorceror blaster guy. So I was looking at the Half Orc and his +1 damage to fire spells per two levels.

So at 10th level, which I will be, thats +5 damage to fire damage spells.

What if I say take Mythic Magic Missile, change the damage type to fire through my elemental bloodline. Would that be 2d4+6 per missile, or just the first missile?

What about scorching ray?


Anyone on this?

Me and my GM are confused by this.

Its like this, in Hero Lab I checkmark legendary Item, and then I choose three abilites, because at rank 3 you can USE 3 abilites at once.

BUT, it also lists that I get 6 total abilites, because you get double your rank when you take Legendary Item a 2nd time.

My question, worded better here maybe, is this.

If I take Foe Biting, Intelligent and Upgradable, those are my 3 I can use at the same time.

Then can I take Intelligent 3 more times, adding spells or abilites or whatever, and still have that count as 3 abilites in use at once?


No I mean you can take the legendary ability. Twice by rank 3. Which gives the sword 6 abilities.


Ok so my paladin had a legendart sword Glaumdryng. I took the ability twice. Which gives me size abilites. But in inky tier 3. So I can't activate more then 3 abilities.

Question is can I take itelligence. Then Take it say 3 more times. That's upgradeable, foe biter, then intelligent 4 times. Then have those 3 active though I spent 4 ppints in intelligen?


Davor wrote:
So much facepalm! XD I can't take it!

Sorry Im such an idiot, I will try to correct and be just as godly as you are.

On another note.

How do I get my Cohort to be equal or better then neg 2 levels?

I see wicked leader, but only for evil, why is there none for good players? lol


Sangerine wrote:
TheIronwolf wrote:
Sangerine wrote:

The druid chart is for the Monstrous Companion feat, which has separate cohort levels.

Leadership has a separate chart entirely.

There is no errata needed, just reading.

But monstrous companion is listed with its own chart.

The max effective cohort level is 12 at level 20.

Say a young bronze dragon is CR+8 or 17.

So how does that work?

And look on the Leadership page of the SRD, towards the bottom it shows an example as a Young Dragon.

I stated monstrous companion and leadership charts were separate, as did you.

You can gain a young bronze dragon at CR 17 with a leadership score of 24 or higher.
As stated on the leadership chart.

And yes, Imbicatus is correct, monstrous companion is only for magical beasts which do not include dragons, true or otherwise.

TL;DR: Monstrous companion will not net you a dragon, leadership will.

I apologize, you are correct. Now that I look at it, the Dragon is for Leadership only it seems. Thank you for your info and time!


Imbicatus wrote:
TheIronwolf wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
You can never get a dragon with Monstrous Companion. Monstrous Companion only allows you to take a Magical Beast as a cohort. Dragons are Dragons, not Magical Beasts.

Then why is it an example monster? lol

And your right, you cant ever get a dragon, because you would have to be level 30 or so.

It's not an example. There is a Dragon Horse example, and a Dragonne example, but there is no mention of true dragons anywhere in the feat.

Example Magical Beasts and Effective Cohort Levels

Blink Dog

Blink dogs are intelligent magical beasts capable of shifting back and forth between the Material Plane and the Ethereal Plane with supernatural ease. Though their riders cannot travel with them when they rapidly teleport across the battlefield, these wise and noble creatures are ideal for Small knights who respect honor and devotion, and blink dogs likewise appreciate a valiant companion.

Effective Cohort Level: 4th

Dragon Horse

Flying alabaster horses with the ability to shift between planes, dragon horses occasionally offer aid to good creatures they deem worthy of their graces, and can be found alongside their riders throughout the multiverse.

Effective Cohort Level: 16th

Dragon, Young

With their varied natures and capacity for superhuman intelligence, it is perhaps unsurprising that adolescent dragons sometimes ally with humans long enough to be adopted as mounts, though the relationship is rarely one of subservience (except occasionally on the knight's part).

Dragons that serve as monstrous mounts are always young, and their various sizes means both Small and Medium knights may take them as mounts. Dragons usually only serve knights whose alignments match their own.

Effective Cohort Level: A young dragon's effective cohort level equals its CR + 8. Dragons serving as cohorts do not advance via aging as normal dragons do, but by gaining class levels (typically in fighter or sorcerer).

Dragonne

Dragonnes are mysterious beings that resemble a cross between lions and brass dragons. They are highly territorial and fiercely loyal to those they consider part of their pride; knights who are likewise dedicated to their companions tend to find particular kinship with a dragonne mount.

Effective Cohort Level: 10th

Giant Owl

Magical beasts that dwell in primordial forests, giant owls are keen defenders of their wooded homelands, and sometimes ally themselves with people who share a similar appreciation for the environment.

Effective Cohort Level: 8th

Griffon

An honorable beast with the body of a lion, the head and claws of an eagle, and matching enormous wings, griffons are intelligent creatures and serve as mounts for all manner of knights, especially those who often need to traverse long, perilous distances at great speed.

Effective Cohort Level: 8th

Cut and pasted directly from the SRD...Young Dragon.

So I need Leadership, would the Crusader mythic ability do the same thing? If I had both I could get two dragons?


Imbicatus wrote:
You can never get a dragon with Monstrous Companion. Monstrous Companion only allows you to take a Magical Beast as a cohort. Dragons are Dragons, not Magical Beasts.

Then why is it an example monster? lol

And your right, you cant ever get a dragon, because you would have to be level 30 or so.


Sangerine wrote:

The druid chart is for the Monstrous Companion feat, which has separate cohort levels.

Leadership has a separate chart entirely.

There is no errata needed, just reading.

But monstrous companion is listed with its own chart.

The max effective cohort level is 12 at level 20.

Say a young bronze dragon is CR+8 or 17.

So how does that work?

And look on the Leadership page of the SRD, towards the bottom it shows an example as a Young Dragon.


Ok so Im playing in a Wrath of the Righteous game, where the DM says we will get to 20th level or so, plus the mythic abilities.

Im looking at Monstrous Companion, and even at level 20 your Cohort level max is only 12.

How do you get a, even young dragon, with CR+8 Requirement?

Is there something Im missing here?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Divine Grace is sort of a defining ability for the Paladin.

Theres not much that can make me say, yeah ok let me lose that for this other stuff.

A 16 base charisma, leveled up to 20 or so, a +6 Charisma Item gives you +8 to all saves.

THEN add in a cloak, thats +13 to all saves.

Anyway, yeah the leadership feat is pretty much all you can do.


I dont want cheese. I want a viable way to do it.

Also because I have to summon this spirit each day, does this mean I cant take feats like selective channeling etc?


So the spirit walks around with me? Does it fight? Like an animal companion?


Id like Life so I can channel, but the battle is great for the skill at arms revelation.

Any thoughts?

Is there another way to get channeling as an oracle?


Were in the Wrath of the Rightoues game.

Maybe some spells from Divine areas? Is that even possible?

Use Magic Device I didnt even notice I got that.

Can that be used to cast spells higher then 7th level?


Is there a way to do this?

A feat a race anything of the sort?

I want to go kensai/bladebound magus, but would like things like mage armor and such.


Castilonium wrote:

They don't get flurry of blows. You can take the TWF feats and use them fine. The ki ability does add an extra attack.

This guide might help you.

Thank you that guide is awesome!!


Ok so I wanted to make a Enlightened Paladin, since they made the Divine Protection feat USELESS.

So can I take the Two Weapon Fighting, Improved Two Weapon fighting etc and use them just fine with this class/archetype?

Do they GET flurry of blows or does the Ki ability just add an extra attack?


So lets take this alchemist I have.

Hes got bombs in main hands, sword in off hand.

Two Vestigial arms.

One arm has a potion, one a wand.

Can I throw bomb, attack with sword, drink potion and activate wand in one round?


GinoA wrote:

If you want a flavorful reason, think of it as a brain limitation.

You've granted yourself an extra arm and learned to manipulate it. But a humanoid just isn't capable of coordinating that many actions at the same time.

With practice (i.e. BAB >= 6 or 11), anyone can learn to juggle more strikes in the same time period, but doing so while also coordinating a third arm to attack is just too much for a simple bilateral-focused brain.

Isnt that what Multiweapon fighting is for? Training your brain to do it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"The new creature must be an option from a spell of the same level or lower as the spell that summoned the target."

As read there Mount is first level, so you can only get a first level creature this way?

Or heighten spell actually increases the spell level?


If multiweapon fighting works like and replaces two weapon fighting. And two weapon fighting gives "extra" attacks with offhand weapons.

Then it wont work.

Correct?


Its confusing because if you have a weapon in the hand, why cant you attack with it?

It just doesnt make sense to me.

Especially because after it says "Extra Attack" it says you can wield a weapon and attack with it as part of a alchemist's attack...

Its just confusing to me, thats all.


But the first paragraph of Blood Drinker restricts you to doing this to only one type of humanoid.


Thats extremely confusing and doesnt make sense to me.

But thanks for the info.


though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting)

This states that part of say a full attack action I would be able to attack with weapons in the vestigial arms hands...


So Hero Lab is messing me up.

If Im a 6th level rage alchemist with 2 vestigial arms and wielding 4 sawtooth sabres I should have 4 attacks.

If hasted that only increases by one, which is the main hand weapon attack correct?

Hero lab is telling me ALL my weapons get an extra attack with haste.