
TarEcthelion |

Handed out my first 2e magical staff to my players recently and it brought up a series of questions I haven't found a solid answer for yet.
So (in this example) they got the staff late morning during some shopping before any fighting had broken out yet...
"Just before setting out to explore, or after a night’s rest, the PCs spend time to prepare for the adventuring day. This typically happens over the span of 30 minutes to an hour in the morning, but only after 8 full hours of rest."
...it fits the criteria but the spell prep had been done. Are they stuck waiting until tomorrow? Could they have held back some/all slots to prepare later?
So here is the series of questions:
1. If the staff wasn't previously prepared by anyone can they spend time to prepare it now?
2. If a staff can be prepared when found, presumably a prepared caster couldn't expend a previously prepared spell slot to add additional charges right?
3. If a prepared caster only prepared some of their Spell Slots in the morning could they have spell slots to expend in the staff?
4. If a prepared caster only prepares some of their Spell Slots in the morning can they prepare the others later (spending another 30-60min period as defined in the CRB)?
Perhaps it's putting too much on the use of "typically" and not enough on "Daily" but it sounds like it could be done after breakfast/shopping, or whenever they get to it as long as there has been 8 full hours of rest since the last time they prepared the staff/spell-slot.
But, I'm starting to repeat myself so I'll leave it up to you all? Did I miss important text somewhere? Breaking it up legal by RAW/RAI? "The First Rule"?