SwiftyKun's page

Organized Play Member. 205 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




Shield Bash Attacks::
You can bash an opponent with a heavy shield. See "shield, heavy" on Table: Weapons for the damage dealt by a shield bash. Used this way, a heavy shield is a martial bludgeoning weapon. For the purpose of penalties on attack rolls, treat a heavy shield as a one-handed weapon. If you use your shield as a weapon, you lose its AC bonus until your next turn. An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.

Ring of Force Shield:
An iron band, this simple ring generates a shield-sized (and shield-shaped) wall of force that stays with the ring and can be wielded by the wearer as if it were a heavy shield (+2 AC). This special creation has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance since it is weightless and encumbrance-free. It can be activated and deactivated at will as a free action.

Let me know if I got this correct.

My character is wielding a 2 handed great sword. He also has on a ring of Force shield. My turn plays out as thus, Free action turn off ring of force shield, full round 2 attacks with greatsword, end of turn reactivate Ring of Force Shield while holding greatsword with one hand(holding, not wielding so I can't make AoO with my greatsword.)

Enemies turn, they do something adjacent to me that provokes an AoO seeing as I only have 1 hand on my greatsword and can't swing it at him. He provokes and I use my ring of force shield as a weapon, shield bashing them and forgoing it's bonus to my AC for the rest of the enemies turn and round until my turn comes back around. Repeat previous steps.


An interesting thought came to me today. If I'm not mistaken, spellcraft is rolled for one spell caster to identify the spell being cast by another spell caster. Sounds simple, but I had a few questions.

Does/Why does this skill work for different classes? For example, even if a high intelligence wizard rolled a spellcraft and got a high result, should he know the ins and outs of that Holy word spell the Cleric is casting, or just the name of it? Why would someone who had dedicated his time studying wizardy and arcane spells know anything about a divine cleric spell, let alone any spell not on his own spell list or closely associated to his school of expertise?

Flip that coin. What's the logic behind a sorcerer who gets his magic innately(and I would argue the majority of them don't study their magic, let alone other schools or sources aka gods rather than bloodlines) having any business knowing about a spell from a different spell list?

Now, I'm not saying all spell casters are the same, and surely there are those out there who gladly dedicate their time in researching every single spell known to man, but I doubt every spell caster, or even the majority of them, do. Am I missing or over thinking something here?

Edit: Oh, after making this post, I realize it would probably be better in the general discussion threads.


Hey all. So I'm having a little trouble deciding what ki power to pick up for my level 8 unchained monk. Personally, I'm torn between Abundant step and Wind Jump. I like the idea of being able to fly around with Wind Jump and fight things like a Saiyan, but since I have to land on solid ground, and I can't attack/move/attack without investing my few monk feats into the spring attack tree(I think since it's flying I would need fly-by-attack anyways and PCs can't take it AFAIK) it's usefulness seems less. Abundant step lets me teleport long distances, albiet my turn ends once I do it.

Is Wind jump as bad as it sounds or is there some tricky way to use it effectively?

Is there another ki power you would suggest over these two?


Does this spell in fact allow my paladin to deal -double damage- for the round, or simple x2 the weapon dice like on a critical hit?

What exactly does "double damage" mean and what is or isn't doubled when calculating the damage?


Beneath the beast rider archtype for Cavalier, it states this.

Mounts:
Exotic Mount (Ex): At 1st level, a beast rider forms a bond with a strong, loyal companion that permits him to ride it as a mount. This mount functions as a druid's animal companion, using the beast rider's level as his effective druid level. The animal chosen as a mount must be large enough to carry the beast rider (Medium or Large for a Small character; Large or Huge for a Medium character).

The beast rider does not take an armor check penalty on Ride checks while riding his mount. The mount is always considered combat trained, and begins play with Endurance as a bonus feat. A beast rider's mount does not gain the share spells special ability.

Each time the beast rider increases in level, he can choose to select a new, more impressive mount better suited to his increased power.

Small-sized beast riders can choose a pony or wolf mount at 1st level. At 4th level, a Small beast rider can also choose an allosaurus, ankylosaurus, arsinoitherium, aurochs, bison, boar, brachiosaurus, elephant, glyptodon, hippopotamus, mastodon, megaloceros, riding dog, snapping turtle (giant), triceratops, or tyrannosaurus. At 7th level, he can also choose a dinosaur (deinonychus or velociraptor).

Medium beast riders can choose a camel or horse mount at 1st level. At 4th level, a Medium beast rider can also choose an allosaurus, ankylosaurus, arsinoitherium, aurochs, bison, brachiosaurus, elephant, glyptodon, hippopotamus, lion, mastodon, megaloceros, snapping turtle (giant), tiger, triceratops, or tyrannosaurus as his mount. Additional mounts might be available with GM approval.

In addition, a 7th-level or higher Medium beast rider can select any creature whose natural size is Large or Huge, provided that creature is normally available as a Medium-sized animal companion at 7th level (like a bear). To generate statistics for such a mount, apply the following modifications: Size Large; Ability Scores Str +2, Dex –2, Con +2. Increase the damage of each of the mount's natural attacks by one die size. A beast rider cannot choose a mount that is not capable of bearing his weight, that has fewer than four legs, or that has a fly speed (although the GM may allow mounts with a swim speed in certain environments).

Anytime a feat or ability allows a mount to make a hoof attack, it can make a claw, slam, or other analogous attack instead.

This ability replaces the standard cavalier's mount and expert trainer abilities.

Big cats are medium sized until they hit their level 7 advancement as shown on the Druid's animal companion chart. However, they are quite clear that this choice is a mount for the cavalier. Can a medium sized Beast Rider Cavalier use a medium sized creature as their mount at level 4?


Looking through the number of goodies that one can buy once they have enough Fame, I started to notice that there were a few items where in the description it says something along the lines of "This item costs X less gold for each charge missing."

When purchasing magical items, am I forced to buy the full-priced and fully charged version, or can I purchase a cheaper and used version?

Some of these magical items have nice benefits, but I hardly see myself even using up half of the charges in my characters PFS career.


A good question came up today at our PFS event. A baddie moved away from a monk who was in the party, and the monk said they wanted to use a trip in place of their AoO. There was a bit of a discussion on what happened next, as different people had experienced different rulings in the past. The way this particular event played out was, the trip hit, but the baddie was allowed to move to where they wanted, and then was knocked prone afterwards.

With my understanding however, AoO are interrupts that happen before the triggering action. For example, this is why if someone provokes an AoO for drinking a healing potion, and then they take damage that would drop them, they get dropped without receiving healing because they never got to drink the potion. Or is this wrong and the events happen simultaneously?

So, a few questions!

1. If the monk doesn't have improved trip, can the baddie make an AoO in reaction to the monk's AoO trip? If the Baddies doesn't have improved trip, can the monk? Can this create an infinite loop?

2. If successful, does the trip happen before or after the baddie moves? If before, does the baddie lose any movement spaces he had left in that move action? If not, could he choose to use the remaining movement spaces to crawl?

3. Can the baddie use his standard action and attempt the same movement?

4. If he chooses to do the above, does this count as the same action or a different action for provoking AoO?


Thanks to a small mention, I find myself being drawn back to this question. My DM for PFS and I settled on "No, it doesn't work" but I never actually took the time to clarify it or get an official ruling.

If I have a paladin 9/Cavalier 1...

Do their levels stack for my Mounts total level?

If I choose bonded weapon, can I still get a Mount from the Cavalier?
- Does the mount use my total levels or just my Cavalier levels?

Do I only get 1 mount of my choice(Paladin or Cavalier) or do I technically get 2, 1 from each class?
-How does my ACs levels calculate then?


Hey all. I had an interesting idea and wanted to see if it is viable and works. My Paladin character usually uses a greatsword so he can use LoH on himself and others. However, it's gotten to the point where I need more AC. I decided to ditch the greatsword, and now my paladin has a long sword, spiked small shield(So I can still use LoH), and armor spikes. According to the rules, I can bash with my spiked shield as a martial weapon, but I lose it's AC bonus for the time being. I can also use my armor spikes as a light weapon, off-handed or main-handed. If I took the two-weapon fighting feat, making my penalties for "dual-wielding" -2/-2, can I smite evil an enemy target, then attack him dual-wielding my main-hand longsword and light weapon off-hand armor spikes while still retaining my light shield's AC bonus?


Holy Whisper:
School evocation [good]; Level paladin 3
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range 30 ft.
Area cone-shaped burst
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Fortitude negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes
You whisper a single word in the primordial language of good that is anathema to the minions of evil and strengthens the resolve of good creatures. Evil creatures within the burst must make a Fortitude saving throw or become sickened for 1 round/level. Evil outsiders with the evil subtype, evil-aligned dragons, and undead in the burst also take 2d8 points of damage if they fail their saves. Good-aligned creatures in the burst gain a +2 sacred bonus on attack and damage rolls for 1 round.

Emphasis mine. Due to the word usage of "also", does the immunity undead have to sickened apply here, or does the ancient primordial words of power overrule that immunity?

Edit: Err, wait, do undead have immunity to sickened?


Divine Transfer:
School necromancy; Level paladin 3
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Target living creature touched
Duration instantaneous + 1 round/level (see text)
Saving Throw Fortitude negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
With a single touch, you transfer some of your life essence to the subject, transferring your hit points and your resolve. When you touch the subject you can transfer up to a number of hit points equal to your Constitution score to the target. These hit points heal the subject, but cannot raise the subject's hit points higher than its normal hit point total. In addition, the subject gains DR/evil equal to your Charisma bonus (if any) for the duration of the spell.

It sounds like this spell was meant to be cast upon an ally, but unlike other spells the target doesn't specifically say "living creature other than the user." Can you cast this spell on yourself?

Edit: I was looking more into paladin spells. There are some such as Sanctify Armor, that's worded as a personal spell, but the target simply says armor touched, regardless of who's armor it is. There's a confusing difference on paladin spells that are RAW or RAI. I feel like I should take the spell description into consideration..but then I find myself second guessing me when I think about everything else in Pathfinder where you aren't necessarily suppose to take its description word for word.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If I was a Paladin, and I had the Aegis of recovery Item, Determination on my armor, and Hero's Defiance prepped, would all three of them activate as soon as I hit 0 hp for a "Super revive"?

If I died how would the other 2 heals work in combination with the Breath of life?

Edit: Can I choose to not activate any of these and save them for another revival?

Edit 2: If I were to get determination on a suit of armor and a shield, would they both work together?


Monk version:
Touch of Serenity (Su): At 1st level, a monk of the lotus gains Touch of Serenity as a bonus feat, even if he does not meet the prerequisites. At 6th level, and every six levels thereafter, the duration of Touch of Serenity increases by 1 round. Each round on its turn, the target may attempt a new Will save to end the effect. This duration does not stack; only the longest remaining duration applies. This ability replaces Stunning Fist.

Feat version:
Touch of Serenity (Combat)

With a single touch you can reduce the threat of even the most savage of foes.

Prerequisites: Wis 18, Improved Unarmed Strike, base attack bonus +8.

Benefit: You must declare that you are using this feat before you make your attack roll (thus a failed attack roll ruins the attempt). On a successful hit, the attack deals no damage and bestows no other effect or condition, but the target cannot cast spells or attack (including attacks of opportunity and attacks as immediate actions) for 1 round unless it succeeds on a Will saving throw with a DC of 10 + 1/2 your character level + your Wisdom modifier. You may attempt a touch of serenity once per day for every four levels you have attained (but see Special), and no more than once per round.

Special: A monk of the lotus receives Touch of Serenity as a bonus feat at 1st level, even if he does not meet the prerequisites. A monk may attempt a touch of serenity a number of times per day equal to his monk level, plus one more time per day for every four levels he has in classes other than monk.

Question: Does the target get a free will save on the beginning of it's turn to negate the effects? That means it gets 2 saves, one when you hit and another at the beginning of it's turn the following round. If he saves at either it makes this ability kind of lack luster in terms of usefulness since you're already missing out on the damage. Not to mention until level 6 where the duration extends to 2 rounds(and that's if they fail all 2 or 3 saves...) you're at your teammates mercy to actually hurt the target as the ToS is effectively just skipping the turn and accomplishing almost nothing.


How much is a tankard exactly?

Does Ale count as a potion?

Is there anything in pathfinder that allows a drunken master to drink his ale as a lower costing action than a standard?

Are there sickening effects for consuming too much alcohol in pathfinder or can I have my drunken master "Drink enough alcohol at all times to have the maximum amount of temporary drunken ki points whenever he can."


It says Paladins can get a heavy horse or camel.

Cavaliers too get horses, but they are not heavy horses.

It also says to use the paladin level for his druid level and treat this bonded mount as an animal companion.

The druid animal companion is stats for a normal horse, not a heavy horse. Heavy horse stats are superior to what it offers.

What do I do to find out my steeds correct abilities?

The reason I use both Paladin and Cavalier as examples is because both of them say to use the druid animal companion table for their horses. However one is a normal horse while the other is a heavy horse. Going by RAW a Paladin's horse should have superior ability scores and such. Going by the AC table however they are the exact same creature.


Ride check DC 20 get on mount as free action.

Guide Mount with knees DC 5 as free action.

Mount runs x4 their speed. Moves 200 feet.

Ride check DC 20 dismount as free action.

Proceed to full-round enemy archer that was 200 feet away with 2 handed weapon. 5 foot step and swift action as needed.

Is this legit?


Aslong as you have 1 drunken, temporary ki point you can spend 1 ki point, even if it's from your normal not temporary ki pool, as a swift action, to make a 5 foot step.

I've looked up other threads with this question and they all end without actually answering the question. Can you or can you not make use of this feature in the same round as you take a 5 foot step? RAW says you cannot and makes this feature 100% useless. I can't think of any scenario where this feature would come in handy.

And no, you cannot use this feature in the same round you 5 foot step in. 5 foot step says "Cannot move in the same round as a 5 foot step." not "Cannot use a move action in the same round as a 5 foot step."

I.E. making the 5 foot step feature from drunken ki impossible to use in any round you take a normal 5 foot step.

So....?

Is this one of those things where "The class specific rule overrides the generel rules"?


If you charge with a lance against a brace weapon that doesn't have reach, the brace is virtually useless, correct?

When readying an action to brace, does it go off if you're charged, or does it go off if the enemy enters a specific square you chose to set your brace in? I.E. just the square in front of you, or the area you threaten. I ask this because the feat ride by attack would essentially nullify all bracing attempts if the brace was the prior. You would then be charging PAST someone and not AT someone.


So, this will be my first time ever having an animal companion who has a bite, 2 claws, along with pounce, grab, and rake. A large lion in this case. Could someone please explain to me exactly what all my lion companion can do with his combination of pounce, grab, and rake effects that go off as part of a full round action? Specifically, what attack procs the grab, what makes the rake go off, etc.


Ready or drop a shield:
Ready or Drop a Shield

Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move.

Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.

Drawing or sheathing a weapon:
Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

If what I am reading is correct, then this chain of actions should be viable.

You are wielding a shield and 1 handed weapon and are 5 feet from your target. On your turn, you decide to take a move action of a 5 foot step to the target, in that move action you unstrap your shield because your BAB is +1 or higher, drop your current weapon and shield as free action, draw your 2-handed weapon because your BAB is +1 or higher, then proceed to full round attack your target because the only true movement you did was a 5 foot step. Is this legal?


Vital Strike::
Vital Strike (Combat)

You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal.

Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

Can I use vital strike as part of a full round attack?

Can I use Vital strike whenever I make a standard attack?

Can I use Vital strike when making attack of opportunities?

What exactly counts as an attack action? Is it simply any time I declare an attack?


These questions crop up commonly every now and then, so I'd like a way to put an end to the discussion. A monk cannot wield a shield and get his monk bonuses at the same time.

Can a monk use something LIKE a shield, but isn't actually a shield, and retain his monk bonuses?

I'm not looking for a debate, so please do not answer here if you're just going to say yay or nay. Only respond here if you're an official on the rules or can link/quote an official ruling on "Items that act like something VS items that actually are something." Thank you.


One of the rules that I believed in, bringing over from d&d 3.5 (I know, stupid of me.) is that you can't attack the same person twice if they provoke you twice. However!!!

Attacks of opportunity:
Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round.

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn).

Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity bonus to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

If I'm reading this correctly, if you have combat reflexes, you can in fact attack the same person with two AoO if he oh I don't know, stands up and moves away from you in the same turn. Is this correct?


I need someone to help me out here. I know that in some older versions and games, a portion of your DR was removed based on how high the magical enhancement level of a weapon striking you is. For example, whenever you run into a monster who has DR in a level 1-5 campaign, a +1 magical weapon will usually go right through it.

What's the damage reduction to magic enhancement level? If my question makes any sense.


After reading a post about wands, I thought up a whim. A monk who takes 1 level in a divine and/or arcane casting class. Since monks can hold things in both hands and still attack unarmed without hinderance, is this a viable build to pursue? If so, are there any monk archtypes that you would suggest or feats to take?

A monk running around with the normal abilities of a monk, combined with the ability to cast a combination of..fireball and mage armor, or cure moderate wounds and magic missle, or some other combination sounds effective, in theory.


I'm guilty of doing this when I play, and I'll admit that I've gotten a few..suspicious looks from GMs for doing so, but am I in my right to resolve multiple attacks individually and pick targets based after each attack I make?

In other words, if I'm surrounded by 3 guys, and I get 3 attacks per round, do I have to state my intent on whom I'm attacking, or can I make 1 attack against a target, wait to see if it drops him or not, then continue to attack him or move onto the next target? I know that I don't know the HP on my opponent IC, but it seems silly for my character to continue beating on a corpse two more times that just fell to the ground.

I'm assuming I can, as long as I announce if I'm making a full round attack action or not before my first attack.


Basically, is it possible to simply hold a two-handed weapon in your off hand, but throw a thrown weapon from your main hand? I can see why you wouldn't be able to, a two-handed weapon needing two hands to wield, but at the same time from an observational view, I can see the person in question holding onto the two-handed weapon, at the very least just letting it drag along the ground, as they are throwing the throwing weapon.

Also along the same vein, can the person in question do this, but use a throwing weapon that has no action to draw?(Such as using shurikens)and re-wield the 2 handed weapon in the same round without it needing a move action?


Is there anything that is currently pathfinder legal which will give you a bonus to hit in melee by aiming?

I.E. "You spend a full-round action to aim/focus. The next attack you make next turn gets a +# to hit."

Something along those lines, but for melee attacks.


You can purchase this bonus for 5 PP and it alters how your daily job roll is done. In the description it says

"When you first purchase your caravan, you must decide how you wish to represent the caravan's interest. This decides what -ADDITIONAL- skill you can use to make Day Job checks." -PSFG page 62

I'm confused on the wording. As they used additional instead of alternative, the wording sounds like you may stack this job roll on top of an ordinary job roll check. Does this benefit allow you to stack job rolls, or just give an alternative skill to use?