Mathus Mordrinacht

Square's page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts (3 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well, I once had my character pour Holy water on a demon to interrogate it. And the gm at the table started squealing "That is torture and a decidedly evil act!"

My character was lawful neutral and did not see any reason why it would change his alignment. We were KILLING demons left and right and you tell me this Holy water act is going to make my character less Good? Really. Sometimes it's really how much a (insert degradatory word here) the host wants to be.

But in essence, no a level 1 would not detect outright. It is stated in the books. However this is where roleplay is intended, if it were up to me I would not have the creature be absolutely clean either. Maybe an uncomfortable feeling that could very well just be the smell the creature was giving off.

-Square


While looking through the mechanics of touch spells, I found an oddity.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/e/elemental-touch

School evocation [acid, cold, electricity, or fire]; Level alchemist 2, magus 2, sorcerer/wizard 2

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a bit of the chosen element: earth, water, air, or fire)

EFFECT
Range personal
Targets you
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw see text; Spell Resistance no

Upon completing the casting of this spell, elemental energy infuses your hands.

Choose an energy type: acid, cold, electricity, or fire. You gain a melee touch attack causing 1d6 points of damage of that energy type, along with a special effect described below. You also deal energy damage and the related special effect when you attack with your hands using an unarmed strike, a single claw, or a single slam attack. This bonus damage can never apply to multiple weapons.

Acid: Your touch attack causes 1 point of ongoing acid damage per round for 1 round per three caster levels. The target must make a Fortitude save or be sickened for the duration of the ongoing acid damage.
Cold: The target must make a Fortitude save or be fatigued. A creature that is already fatigued suffers no additional effect.
Electricity: The target must make a Fortitude save or be staggered for 1 round.
Fire: Your hands ignite and shed light as a torch. Your touch may cause targets to catch on fire.
Subsequent attacks inflict the normal damage, but the additional effects do not stack. This spell grants no special protection to anything held in or worn on your hands. When you cast this spell to deal acid, cold, electricity, or fire damage, it is a spell of that type.

Section 15: Copyright Notice - Advanced Player's Guide

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Now I was wondering if this is correct, does it mean the discharging of the effect this spell grants (via a touch) can also simultaneously work with an actual touch spell?

In simple words, Cast elemental touch. Next turn, cast Chill Touch. Touch someone for 1d6 frost (elemental touch) and 1d6 negative (chill touch) at the same time.

The reason being that elemental touch apparently has a descriptor of personal (a Buff) and the rules for touch spells (chill touch) is that it goes off even if you accidently touch in any ciRcumstance.

Does this stand true?