|Spawn of Rovagug|
I had a situation come up in the game I ran today where the party wizard with a penchant for Craft: Alchemy used 5 gp worth of gold to boost the spell Infernal Healing with the intent that it would add one to the total hit points healed per round with fast healing 1, effectively doubling the healing power of his spell, for 20 hp of damage healed. I was unsure if that was the authors and game designers intent and couldn't find any clarifications, so I house-ruled that it only added +1 hit point to the total healed over the course of that minute (for a total of 11 hp) with the proviso that I'd look into finding a clarification.
However, after game I've looked through several of my books including the Adventurer's Armory and the Alchemy Manual and can't find anything that helps clear up this nebulous region of rules interactions. As I can see how a ruling one way or the other could have a significant impact upon how much or how little of his resources the wizards devotes to Alchemical Power Components, I'm hoping someone on these boards knows the answer.
Any help or clarification would be most appreciated. :)