Stewards Infiltrator

Sparrowhawk_92's page

Organized Play Member. 129 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




6 people marked this as a favorite.

I love seeing the ADHD (or the Pahtra equivalent) representation in this piece. Always love to meet a new iconic.


Our new iconic looks fantastic and I'm happy to see Paizo utilizing more non-core races for iconics. Soon enough we should start getting teasers for Galactic Magic and we can meet our precog iconic too.


There was a discussion on another forum regarding how to handle the cone of light from a flashlight moving during play and whether it took an action to set the facing of the light during a turn. While we didn't find consensus, I decided to search for precedence elsewhere to help the discussion and I ran across this odd bit of RAW that I wanted to share and get others take on.

The spell Detect Magic creates a cone-shaped emanation with a range of 60 ft, with a duration of concentration with a maximum duration of 1 min/level. However, according to the rules about duration for spells, I came across this fun bit of text.

CRB p 335 wrote:
If the spell affects an area, then the spell stays within that area for its duration

This suggests that once you cast detect magic, it only affects the cone-shaped area that you originally defined during the casting and does not move with the caster.

I decided to check the text on emanations under "defining effects" to see if it offered clarity.

CRB p 268 wrote:
Emanation: An emanation effect functions like a burst, except that the effect continues to radiate from the point of origin for the duration of the effect. Most emanations are cones or spheres.

And the text for defining a cone:

CRB p 268 wrote:
A cone-shaped effect extends away from you in a quarter-circle in the direction you designate. It starts from any corner of your square and grows wider as it goes. Most cones are either bursts or emanations (see above), and thus won’t go around corners.

Does this suggest that the caster is the point of origin and that the cone from detect magic moves with the caster, defining the caster as the "point of origin" for the spell (which I think is the most common de facto practice) or would the corner that you're casting the cone from be considered the point of origin for the spell and therefore the cone effect would not move with the caster (by RAW)?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Great! But when is it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is neat, as someone who has been curious about SFS for awhile now but haven't had a chance to get started. Having a go to "start here" adventure (or three) is super helpful.

As a side note, why is there a giant planet in the sky over the lorespire complex? :O


I'm just reaching out to see if anyone has found/made an up-to-date starship spreadsheet that includes content from SOM and the updated CRB errata. Most of the sheets I've found so far are a couple of years old and haven't been updated to reflect some of the more recent changes.

Thanks in advance!


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Well, this doesn't have any real-world parallels that are being drawn from. Nope, not at all, completely fantastical.

Color me excited to see what the FFoD AP has to offer.


There's got to be some foreground-background size shenanigans going on in that image, but Ark Prime is definitely bigger than I was expecting it to be. Let's do this!


Hello there,

The PDF version of SF AP #29 was supposed to become available today and it's been showing as unavailable all day. Just wondering if there's any news about why that might be the case and an ETA on when it will become available for purchase.

Thanks!


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Because punch guns are treated as ranged weapons, can you fire a punch gun beyond the range increment of "reach?"

Ranged weapons can usually fire x10 their range increment. Which means a punch gun can fire up to 10x your character's natural reach.

For reference:

COM wrote:
Punch Gun: A punch gun weapon is a small ranged weapon outfitted with a pressure-sensitive firing mechanism that is affixed to a glove or a similar item. Unlike most ranged weapons, which discharge when a trigger is pulled, a punch gun fires when sufficient pressure is placed upon its barrel. All punch gun projectile weapons have a range equal to their wielder’s natural reach. Although these are ranged attacks, they do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

My argument is that RAI is that they can only be used to attack enemies within reach, but the classification as ranged instead of melee weapons (like shell knuckles) does carry the implication that they follow all other rules that apply to ranged weapons, such as being able to fire beyond their range increment.


13 people marked this as a favorite.

It's nice to know that even if the Veskarium is an iron-fisted dictatorship, they still respect pronouns.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm loving these pieces of flash fiction, they lend so much to the daily lives of those in the setting and are great role playing inspirations.

I love the use of "to path" as a verb for telepathic communication. It's one of those things that seems so obvious in retrospect. Likewise I'm curious how "diverting" would work mechanically as it seems incredibly useful.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's cool to see how the Vanguard mechanics can be translated into an interesting narrative and gives lots of cool hints to what's to come.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

She's adorable and I love her.


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

tl;dr what AC does the psychic-wave cannon from Armory target?

A bit of confusion on psychic-wave cannons and how you target enemies with them. Am I rolling against KAC or EAC or am I not rolling at all?

The description of EAC has this:

"Some weapons and effects that use magical or exotic untyped energies might also target your EAC; the description of the weapon or effect tells you if this is the case."

The cannons do not specify that they target EAC. Would this mean that they would target KAC instead? Does the mind-affecting tag from the weapon (linked above) indicate that no attack roll is needed (like mind thrust)?

I'm just trying to understand this weapon and its intended use as there seems to be some confusion on exotic damage types and whether they target EAC or KAC by default unless otherwise specified.

I'm inclined to say it targets EAC but if there's a good argument otherwise I'd love to hear it and if we can get a dev comment clarifying it would be even better.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

One thing I feel is lacking in the Biohacker is the ability to make quick and cheap versions of the items they'll be frequently using in their injection weapons. I mocked up a couple of quick theorums of what such an ability might look like.

2nd level Theorum

Synthesis: Once per day you're able to synthesize a medicinal or serum of your level or lower with ten minutes of work for no cost. This medicinal is unstable and has a limited shelf life. Only you are able administer this item, and it breaks down into useless organic chemicals when you next regain use of this ability. If you also posess the stable injection theorum, it also applies to synthesized items allowing others to administer your synthesized items.

8th level Theorum

Expanded Synthesis: You gain one extra use of your synthesis ability. In addition, you're able to create drugs and poisons of your biohacker level or lower with this ability.

This is just an idea, and I'd love to see who else is interested in something like this, or has other ideas of how this could be implemented in the full version of the class.


I have a question surrounding the use of the conserving fusion and the injection class feature.

For reference, the fusion and relevant part of the Injection ability are listed below:

Conserving: Weapons with the conserving fusion preserve their ammunition and charges after a miss. When you miss with a ranged attack roll, your charge or ammunition is not consumed, as though the weapon had never been fired. This fusion does not prevent your weapon from malfunctioning or breaking as a consequence of your attack. Only weapons that use arrows, batteries, darts, flares, grenade arrows, mini-rockets, rounds, or scattergun shells as ammunition can benefit from a conserving fusion.

Injection: ...This preparation time includes only readying the compounds and chemicals you need to make your injections, and you decide the specific injection you create as part of the standard action you take to attack with it or inject a creature with it...

My question is: If the conserving fusion prevents you from using one of your daily uses of the injection class feature when you miss your target, are you locked into the decision to use that same injection when you attempt to do so again on the following round? Can you decide to use a different injection (such as switching to a restorative instead) on the next round?


The Spiker is a series of heavy weapons with a single goal.

How can I pin my enemies to the wall?

I want to thank the folks over at the Starfinder Discord who helped me iterate on this and get it to the state it is in now.

I'm looking for any kind of feedback about the items and whether they seem like something you would use in your games.

Thanks!


2nd level exploit

Hand-to-hand (ex): You learn a special fighting style that allows you to treat your unarmed strike as a weapon with the operative weapon property. This strike does 1d6 + 1d6/5 levels and otherwise functions (but does not stack with) Improved Unarmed Strike. This ability also doesn't stack with any other ability that modifies unarmed strikes. This attack gains specialization as an operative weapon at level 3.

14th level exploit

Hand-to-hand, improved (ex): The damage of your hand-to-hand unarmed strike improves by 2d6 and no longer has the archaic special weapon quality. You must have the hand-to-hand exploit to select this exploit.

----------------

I found it kinda silly that operatives couldn't use trick attack or dex-to-hit with their bare hands. These exploits enable them to do so I'm a way that's balanced against similar options for operatives with relation to cost, damage output, and other class and racial features. Any feedback is appreciated.


Quick rules question for you guys. So let's say an Invidiak (Shadow Demon) uses its spell-like ability (magic jar) to possess a host. They then decide that they need to leave quickly and decide to use their spell-like ability Greater Teleport (self only plus 50 lbs).

Would they teleport out of the body they are possessing using magic jar and leave it behind or would they teleport with the body they are possessing? Is the body they are possessing considered "self" for the purposes of the Greater Teleport SLA?