Lassiviren

Solinara's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


This is my first post on the message board, so I’m hoping you can all help.

Assuming you are able to cast without problems underwater. What happens when you try to use the Snowball spell underwater?
It’s a ranged touch Evocation (now) spell. But the wording of the spell (fluff?) says you “throw” the snowball.

Ranged Attacks Underwater: Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land. Attacks with other ranged weapons take a –2 penalty on attack rolls for every 5 feet of water they pass through, in addition to the normal penalties for range.

So I see three options:
1) it’s a thrown weapon and in completely ineffective
2) as it’s ranged touch it takes the -2 per 5’
3) it’s not treated as a weapon at all, as it’s Evocation magic, so the above rules don’t apply

There have been a couple of posts that skirt around this question but I’ve not found a definitive answer