Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Fortress of the Stone Giants Adventure Deck (Rise of the Runelords 4 of 6)
Yes you can. From the Bestiary 2, it is in the description of the monster:
"These dinosaurs [Compsognathus] can serve spellcasters as a familiar. A compsognathus familiar grants its master a +4 bonus on Initiative checks."
I agree I could not find anything specifically in the rules about how to recharge it.
I do think (or guess) that we'd play it as a standard action to recharge or store a spell in it.
I don't think it's accurate to say storing a spell in it is the same as crafting a magic item. i.e. there's no "craft" check to do it, no skill check at all in fact, and it takes significantly more time than a standard action to craft even the simplest magic item.
I'm not sure just touching the weapon wouldn't be enough - e.g. a non-caster character, like a fighter, is holding the spell storing weapon while the wizard touches it and stores a spell in it.
I had a great clutch experience the other day with this feat. My glass jaw Rogue had to tank for a bit to protect the cleric after our Paladin went down.
I was able to Combat Expertise + Fight Defensively for +7AC.
Ended the round having dealt decent damage and a 42AC against both monsters to block the gap while the Cleric got the Paladin back up.
Not saying every time is it this useful. But I particularly like Gang Up as a feat for Rogues (it requires Combat Expertise).
I see you point, and your post is very helpful. And if it were ever added to the FAQ that way by Paizo I would not be surprised.
However, the "same source" rule you reference specifically applies to spells while it only "more generally" applies to other bonus and then refers to a section that excludes dodge bonuses.
Although some bonuses like Circumstance bonuses and untyped bonuses from the same source are called out in other places as specifically not stacking, Dodge bonuses are not called out in such a way.
Vague at best.
Hmmmm... Actually that section says the same thing:
Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don't stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
Ref - Bonus Types, above:
Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. The same principle applies to penalties- a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
Dodge bonuses, still specifically called out as the exception to the stacking rule. And same source still referring specifically to bonuses without a type. Perhaps I've missed the section you are referencing.
Obviously house ruling this solves the problem for any group.
Remco Sommeling wrote:
hmmm... "same source" is a different sentence and it explicitly refers to "bonuses without a type". Seems like Dodge bonuses have a type and specifically stack. Seems like they'd be excluded from that "same source" line. Dodge bonuses seem to be explicitly called out as stacking regardless of source.
The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
This issue has come back a few times before, iirc someone found a rule saying that bonuses from the same source don't stack no matter the bonus or something like that.
I think maybe what happened was before the APG was updated it used to grant a cirumstance bonuse for the Offensive Defense talent, and that bonus does not stack.
A circumstance bonus (or penalty) arises from specific conditional factors impacting the success of the task at hand. Circumstance bonuses stack with all other bonuses, including other circumstance bonuses, unless they arise from essentially the same source.
Now that it is a Dodge Bonus. They specifically stack with all other bonuses, even other dodge bonuses. No mention of an exception for single source.
A dodge bonus improves Armor Class (and sometimes Reflex saves) resulting from physical skill at avoiding blows and other ill effects. Dodge bonuses are never granted by spells or magic items. Any situation or effect (except wearing armor) that negates a character's Dexterity bonus also negates any dodge bonuses the character may have. Dodge bonuses stack with all other bonuses to AC, even other dodge bonuses. Dodge bonuses apply against touch attacks.
Follow up question. By my reading of the talent, it doesn't specify whether you'd get the AC bonus against just the creature you hit OR all creatures.
Thoughts on that?
While dodge bonuses do stack, I would rule only +4 as it's from the same source.
I'm curious if you'd rule it to be only +4 b/c that's a house rule you use, or if there's someplace in the rules you're referencing that says Dodge Bonuses from the same source don't stack? (I see that for circumstance bonuses, but no such detail for Dodge).
We've chosen to play this one as Dodge Bonuses from multiple attacks from offensive defense stack. But that you only get the AC bonus against the creature you hit (not ALL creatures).
We're trying to figure this out in our group as well. Can you point me to where it says that Dodge bonuses from separate sources stack?
By my reading of the APG, I think this would in fact be a +8 AC against that target?