Sajan

Psyren's page

Organized Play Member. 574 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.



Dark Archive

I was a bit confused by the Blast Weapons entry, specifically by the "Each attack" clause. The entry states:

Quote:

Blast

This weapon fires in a cone that extends only to its first range increment. You can’t use it to attack creatures beyond that range. For each attack you make with a weapon with the blast special property, roll one attack against each target in the cone, starting with those closest to you. Each attack takes a –2 penalty in addition to other penalties, such as the penalty to all attacks during a full attack. Roll damage only once for all targets. If you roll one or more critical hits, roll the extra critical damage only once (or any other special effects on a critical hit that require you to roll) and apply it to each creature against which you score a critical hit. You can’t avoid shooting at allies in the cone, nor can you shoot any creature more than once.

Attacks with blast weapons ignore concealment. A blast weapon doesn’t benefit from feats or abilities that increase the damage of a single attack (such as the operative’s trick attack). Ammunition for blast weapons is designed for blast attacks, so you spend the usage amount only once for each cone of attacks.

So let's say I make one attack with a blast weapon (e.g. a vortex scattergun.) There are 5 enemies (A,B,C,D,E) in my weapon's 30 ft. cone firing area; A is 10ft. away, B is 15ft. away, and the rest are at the edge of the cone.

I see three possible readings:

1) I roll a single attack against everyone in the cone at -2.
2) I roll 5 different attacks (one each against A,B,C,D,E) each at -2.
3) I roll one attack against A at -2, then B at -4, C at -6, D at -8, and E at -10.

Could anyone tell me which is right? Or am I off-base and none of them are right? How does this change if I full-attack?

Dark Archive

I've seen threads go either way on this one, so I wanted to check if there was a clarification from the devs that I might have missed.

An enemy caster is at range with no cover/concealment; he's about to cast something nasty. The party doesn't have a melee near him to AoO and disrupt his spellcast, but I have my gun out. Can I ready an action to try shooting him instead?

CRB 331 suggests yes: "You are most at risk of taking damage while casting when a spell’s casting time is 1 round or longer, you have provoked an attack of opportunity, or a foe readied an action to attack you when you began to cast."

CRB 249 suggests no: "If the readied action is not a purely defensive action, such as shooting a foe if he shoots at you, it takes place immediately after the triggering event."

For me, the best way for both of these passages to mesh is that "begins to cast" is a valid trigger for my readied action. My shot will go off immediately after that trigger, but before the spell itself, thus having a chance to disrupt it.

Is this right? If not, is there any way for a noncaster to disrupt a spell at range?

Dark Archive

There is a contradiction in the rulebook about this that I was hoping to get clarity on. Both passages are on SF-CRB pg. 245.

The first quote says you can hit people with grenades:

Quote:

Ranged Attacks with a Thrown Weapon

With a thrown weapon or a grenade, you can make a ranged
attack at a target that is within the weapon’s maximum range
and in your line of effect
(see page 271). You add your Strength
modifier to your ranged attack rolls with a thrown weapon, and to
your damage rolls with weapons with the thrown special property.
Do not add your Strength modifier to damage rolls with grenades.

The second says you target grid intersections rather than people:

Quote:

Targeting a Grid Intersection

When using a thrown weapon that has an area effect, such as a
grenade, you target a specific grid intersection on a tactical battle
map, rather than a specific creature.
Treat this as a ranged attack
against AC 5.

Note that it does not say "you can instead target a grid intersection" like Pathfinder does - it just says "you target a grid intersection" which sounds like you have no choice. Which one is right? And if it's the former, are you targeting their full KAC? Can you crit?

Dark Archive

The Exalted PrC from Inner Sea Gods seems intended to make you something of a "super-cleric," by letting you "forge a unique connection to your god." You must worship a specific deity instead of an ideal or pantheon, and have to match your deity's alignment exactly (instead of being one step away); you also have to follow their dogma more rigidly, which includes performing a daily Obedience akin to the Evangelist and Sentinel if you want to keep your abilities. In exchange, you get a third domain from that deity, the ability to perform minor miracles, and a few other goodies.

The problem though seems to be that, for all three of your domains you end up with stunted progression. Say you're a Cleric 10/Exalted 10 - Exalted doesn't appear to advance the domains you already have, and the third one uses your Exalted level (i.e. 10) instead of your caster level (20). So at level 20 you end up with three domains each at 10th level as far as strength, DCs etc. Whereas a regular cleric would only have two domains, but they'd both be 20th level as far as strength.

Am I missing something? Does Exalted give you three weak domains instead of two strong ones, and was this intended? Wouldn't a cleric be better off with Evangelist, even though that was the "non-cleric faithful PrC?"

Dark Archive

So Kinetic Blast counts as a weapon for the purposes of feats, and you can explicitly take Weapon Focus with it. In light of that, I had a question about the new weapon-based style feats introduced in Weapon Master's Handbook, which state that they work with any weapon you can select with Weapon Focus (some have additional restrictions.)

One of the ranged weapon styles however has no other restrictions - Overwatch Style. It states:

Quote:

Overwatch Style (Combat, Style)

You have learned to wait until your ranged attacks have the greatest effect.

Prerequisites: Precise Shot, Rapid Shot, Weapon Focus with the chosen weapon.

Benefit: While using this style, as a full-round action you can ready two ranged attacks with the chosen weapon, each with its own triggering event. You take a –2 penalty on attack rolls made with these readied actions.

The second feat in the style chain (Overwatch Tactician) lets you ready these two attacks as a standard action instead, while the third feat (Overwatch Vortex) lets you ready 4 attacks as a full-round action.

Is my reading of this combo correct? Would this style work with Kinetic Blast to let me "full-attack" with my kinetic blast, by readying 4 zaps with it as a full-round action, or 2 zaps as a standard, without having to take any burn?

Dark Archive

Hi all, I'm trying to figure out how JS and JM work after the Advanced Class Guide errata. They seem pretty strong, especially once Stamina enters the mix.

The post-errata wording is:

Quote:
Benefit: When you hit a target with an unarmed strike and you have hit that target with an unarmed strike previously that round, you deal an extra 1d6 points of damage to that target.

So to me this says, if you flurry, you do:

Punch 1: punch damage
Punch 2: punch damage + 1d6
Punch 3: punch damage + 1d6
Punch 4: punch damage + 1d6
Punch 5: punch damage + 1d6
...
etc.

Then there is Jabbing Master, which says:

Quote:
Benefit: While using Jabbing Style, the extra damage you deal when you hit a single target with two unarmed strikes increases to 2d6, and the extra damage when you hit a single target with three or more unarmed strikes increases to 4d6.

Which seems to mean:

Punch 1: punch damage
Punch 2: punch damage + 2d6
Punch 3: punch damage + 4d6
Punch 4: punch damage + 4d6
Punch 5: punch damage + 4d6
...
etc.

Is this reading correct?

Then we throw in Stamina. Jabbing Style + Stamina makes it do an extra 1d6. Which seems to mean:

Punch 1: punch damage
Punch 2: punch damage + 2d6
Punch 3: punch damage + 2d6
Punch 4: punch damage + 2d6
Punch 5: punch damage + 2d6
...
etc.

Meanwhile Jabbing Master + Stamina seems to completely wreck enemies. All you have to do is threaten a crit (not confirm it) and spend 5 stamina, and you get to double all the jabbing damage. So without the stamina boost on JS it becomes (assuming you threaten on the first punch):

Punch 1: punch damage
Punch 2: punch damage + 4d6
Punch 3: punch damage + 8d6
Punch 4: punch damage + 8d6
Punch 5: punch damage + 8d6
...
etc.

And finally, we can combine all three - 7 Stamina + JS + JM - and now you get double the increase too!

Punch 1: punch damage
Punch 2: punch damage + (1d6+2d6)*2 = 6d6
Punch 3: punch damage + (1d6+4d6)+2 = 10d6
Punch 4: punch damage + (1d6+4d6)+2 = 10d6
Punch 5: punch damage + (1d6+4d6)+2 = 10d6
...
etc.

Can someone please tell me if I'm reading/calculating this wrong? Is Jabbing Style post-errata just that good?

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

That other thread about demoralizing psychics had me take a closer look at the Psychic, specifically the Tranquility discipline, and I found what seems like an oversight. Tranquility's "Calming Presence" lets the Psychic project a calm emotions SLA - correct me if I'm wrong, but won't using that shut down your ability to use most of your psychic spells? It's an emotion effect and it isn't harmless, so even though you're the one projecting the field, it seems that it would shut off your ability to provide an emotion component.

Several of their bonus spells do the same thing - Mantle of Calm, Serenity, and Euphoric Tranquility all have the [emotion] descriptor and are not harmless, so it seems that using any of these will turn off your spellcasting.

Was this intended? Or is there a way I'm missing for Psychics to be immune to their own emotion effects? (At least the class feature one if not the spells.)

Also, minor error - it seems that "Calming Presence" is labelled (Su) but the ability it grants you is actually (Sp).

Dark Archive

I know Mark Seifter explained here that if an Unchained Monk takes a Qinggong power that grants a monk class feature, you would still use the Unchained version of that class feature. I'm good with that, but I had two additional qinggong power-related questions for the Unchained Monk:

1) Do you also use the ki power cost of the Unchained Ki Power, or do you use the ki cost listed on the Qinggong page? (For example - Qinggong Diamond Soul costs 0 ki to use and is available at 14, while Ki Power Diamond Soul costs 1 ki to use and is available at 12.)

2) How exactly does Blood Crow Strike work? I've come up with three different interpretations, all of which have varying levels of effectiveness:

- (a) You flurry as part of the casting - the most useful interpretation, lets you blood crow flurry every round.
- (b) You cast for a round, and then you can flurry for free on the following round, followed by taking your actions as normal - Less useful than the first, as it takes up your first round with casting, but still good as you can flurry every round after that first one if you need to.
- (c) You cast for a round, then must use your actions on the following round to flurry - the least useful interpretation, this one makes it so you can only flurry every other round, rendering the power a waste.

Dark Archive

I see a lot of folks simply assuming you don't get the bloodline arcana from VMC Sorcerer. However I'm having trouble finding a specific cite to support this reading.

We know Eldritch Heritage does not grant the arcana because it contains specific language preventing it: "You do not gain any of the other bloodline abilities." However, the VMC Sorcerer bloodline ability does not have this line. And Bloodline Arcana is not a separate ability in the sorcerer entry - it is part of the "bloodline" class feature, which the VMC Sorcerer does give to you at 1st level.

So is there something specific (even a dev quote) that says "you don't get the bloodline arcana from your bloodline?"

Dark Archive

This is an issue that's been bugging me for a little while now, but I can't think of a really good way to fix it.

The "general-purpose" polymorph spells (Polymorph, Greater Polymorph, and Shapechange) allow you and others to assume a variety of forms. Polymorph appears to allow you to assume the 4th-level and lower shapeshifting spells, GP allows the 6th-level and lower spells, and Shapechange allows the ones from 8th-level and lower.

My problem is that these three spells are core, and were created before the existence of spells like vermin shape, undead anatomy, and monstrous physique. Logically, I would assume that these should be added to the lists of subsidiary spells using the guidelines above, since equally fantastic things like giants, dragons and elementals are fair game - but they never were, at least not officially. And if new form-changing spells get added in the future - like outsider, ooze, fey or aberrations - these will be similarly left out in the cold, so just adding the specific new options to the polymorph/shapechange lists may not solve the problem going forward.

The big issue I have is particularly with Polymorph and GP; these are the only spells that allow a spellcaster to actually buff another member of the party (someone on the frontline) with a shapeshifting spell. Touching the fighter and turning him into a dire tiger, or turning the rogue into a viper, are just fun for everyone involved. I would love it if vermin, monstrous humanoid and undead forms were available to them too.

TL;DR - is there a chance of getting the core multiform spells updated with subsequent shapeshifting options?

Dark Archive

Shadow Strike lets you sneak attack targets that have concealment. However, do you still have to roll the miss chance for that concealment? In other words, does a rogue with shadow strike stabbing someone in a dark alley still have a chance of missing (separate from their AC that is?)

Dark Archive

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Q: Can a cowering creature take the Total Defense action? If it does, what happens?

Background below:

I ask because the PRD/CRB say "no actions" under Cowering:

Quote:
Cowering: The character is frozen in fear and can take no actions. A cowering character takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class and loses his Dexterity bonus (if any).

But a Panicked creature who is cornered (and therefore cowers) can apparently defend himself:

Quote:
Panicked: A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can't take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a –2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers and does not attack, typically using the total defense action in combat. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

This is further complicated because Total Defense gives you a dodge bonus to AC, but cowering apparently removes that bonus anyway.

Quote:

Total Defense

You can defend yourself as a standard action. You get a +4 dodge bonus to your AC for 1 round.

Quote:

Dodge Bonuses

Dodge bonuses represent actively avoiding blows. Any situation that denies you your Dexterity bonus also denies you dodge bonuses.

Basically I'm having trouble figuring out what the intended and actual result are here.

Dark Archive

Okay, I've been digging around for a solid rule on this and it's been driving me crazy. And finally it came up in a game this weekend and nobody was sure what to do.

Q: If you can change your size (either to grow or shrink) can you use this ability to escape a grapple?

For instance, a Druid can go all the way down to Diminutive (or up to Huge) as early as 8th-level. Wild Shape is supernatural so they can even do this while being grappled/pinned.

The Tetori ability to negate shapeshifting seems to suggest this is a viable tactic normally, one that Tetori monks learned how to prevent - but I haven't been able to locate anything concrete on the subject.

Help?

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Crossposting from GitP. I've completed version 1 of the handbook for Radiance House's Occultist class (aka the PF update to the 3.5 Binder.)

Link here

Please feel free to check it out and let me know any feedback you have.

Stuff that's done:

- Contents page (with hyperlinks)
- Constellations
- Spirits
- The Occultist class (Pact Augmentations etc.)
- Occult Feats
- Binder Secrets

Still left to do:

- Builds
- Races (tied to the above)
- Items
- Non-Occult Feats
- PMU vol. 2 material (tons of new stuff.)

Thanks!

Dark Archive

10 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Simple version of question for the devs: Does Acid Fog damage attended items? Will a few rounds in one melt all the party's potions, pit their blades and unravel their cloaks?

Dark Archive

Can you hide in Hallucinatory Terrain/Mirage Arcana/Veil?

Dark Archive

Quick question - Is there any way to make the Ninja's Smoke Bomb ninja trick be faster than a standard action? Feats and items are preferred, but I'll take any method out there, including races and class dips if necessary.

Swift action would be preferable, but move action is fine as well. Or if there's a way for a Ninja to get more than one standard action I'm all ears for that too.

Edit: Removed bump post following this one. --Jessica

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm having trouble understanding what exactly intelligent items do when they become Dominant. This especially applies to Bladebound Magi who can have an intelligent item at 1st level.

Specifically:

- "it resists the character's desires": What does this mean? Can you just not use it in combat? Not wield it at all? Can it physically/mentally control the character in some way, and if so, can it do so if you're not holding it?

- "Demands concessions": Can the character refuse? What happens if you don't? For example, if it demands you remove associates, and they don't leave the party, will the blade make you attack them? What if the intelligent item is a ring or some other non-weapon item? Or if it "demands you to seek out and slay hateful monsters" - what if you don't know where any are?

- "Extreme situations": These are even more confusing because it seems like the blade is dominating you. "Force you to surrender" for instance - does it actually control what you say to your opponent?

Is there a FAQ or blog post that covered intelligent items that I missed? If not, is there a clearer rule that I didn't see?

Dark Archive

In 3.5., supernatural abilities were purely mental - no verbal, no somatic, and no material components.

Can someone point me to where this is stated in PF? The closest I've come is this line:

Quote:
natural ability's description includes information on how it is used and its effects.

Which indicates it should be decided on a case by case basis.

More in spoiler:

Spoiler:

What makes this a difficult question for me is that there are quite a few supernatural abilities with components in PF. A Witch's Cackle makes noise (verbal), and an Alchemist's bomb requires both a catalyst vial (material) and a throwing motion (somatic.) So they wouldn't be purely mental actions.

So if a supernatural ability mimics a spell, does it have the components of that spell? Like a Witch's Flight Hex - can she use it while paralyzed?