Peyton Lucas's page

Organized Play Member. 11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


FarmerBob wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
so with that i could always ready my action to attack on my opponent's swing attacking before he completes his swing and then taking a 5-ft step and if i diagonal in just the right way (so that an enemy or terrain blocks his 5-ft to follow) i can negate his attack sticking him with a move action each round. it works cause i readied the action.

Except ... once your readied action goes off, it changes your initiative to be after the attacker. Next round, the attacker moves into the square you just vacated and can attack before you ready again.

actually think this is the first time your wrong here

pcb 203 states
Quote:

For the rest of the encounter, your

initiative result is the count on which you took the readied
action, and you act immediately ahead of the character
whose action triggered your readied action.


kyrt-ryder wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
kyrt-ryder wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
Nebelwerfer41 wrote:
I can see it that way. It still seems kinda dick-ish to pull on a player. I would rule that this little maneuver could be counter-acted by the Step Up feat.
It is dick-ish. I find it hard to believe that if a charger bases his target he does not get to attack him especially when the chargie attacks the charger.... I just cant imagine attacking and moving out of the way dodging the charger's attack roll all together.
Don't forget that in order to do this the person readying the action has to sacrifice their standard action and their ability to move that turn. (Unless we were talking about the feats, in which case... he paid the feats)
readying an action is a standard action you can take a move action and then ready an action.
In order to use a 5' step with the readied action you can't have moved that turn. You can use a different move action, like say... draw a weapon, or drink a potion, but you can't have moved.

so with that i could always ready my action to attack on my opponent's swing attacking before he completes his swing and then taking a 5-ft step and if i diagonal in just the right way (so that an enemy or terrain blocks his 5-ft to follow) i can negate his attack sticking him with a move action each round. it works cause i readied the action.


kyrt-ryder wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
Nebelwerfer41 wrote:
I can see it that way. It still seems kinda dick-ish to pull on a player. I would rule that this little maneuver could be counter-acted by the Step Up feat.
It is dick-ish. I find it hard to believe that if a charger bases his target he does not get to attack him especially when the chargie attacks the charger.... I just cant imagine attacking and moving out of the way dodging the charger's attack roll all together.
Don't forget that in order to do this the person readying the action has to sacrifice their standard action and their ability to move that turn. (Unless we were talking about the feats, in which case... he paid the feats)

readying an action is a standard action you can take a move action and then ready an action.


Nebelwerfer41 wrote:
I can see it that way. It still seems kinda dick-ish to pull on a player. I would rule that this little maneuver could be counter-acted by the Step Up feat.

It is dick-ish. I find it hard to believe that if a charger bases his target he does not get to attack him especially when the chargie attacks the charger.... I just cant imagine attacking and moving out of the way dodging the charger's attack roll all together.


FarmerBob wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
... Guy B charges drawing his longsword while charging (because he has an attack bonus of more than +1)

For what it's worth:

Quote:
If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

Can't draw a weapon if you double move in a charge, which I assume that was.

*Changed* 60 ft to 30 ft, thank you.


Nebelwerfer41 wrote:
Readied actions are in response to an action, yes? So doesn't the active player have to finish his WHOLE action before the readied action triggers? The active player's WHOLE action is to attack AS PART OF HIS MOVE, then the player with the readied action would take his action.
Caineach wrote:
You ready on the enemy closing. This way it does not matter if he charges or merely moves to close. It changes nothing. Readied actions can interupt other actions, in this case happening before the attack of the charger.


James Risner wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:
Can a character ready an action to attack a character and move out of the way of a charge with their 5-foot step for that action.

Yes, but.

You can ready for an event.
You can take a 5 ft step on a ready action in addition to your action.

You may not be able to ready on someone charging you.
To ready, you must ready an action to happen BEFORE another action.
If you ready before a charge, you are not in range to attack.
If you 5 ft step out of the charge on a ready, but the charger still has "charge" line of effect to you he may still just charge you after your ready is done.

So, while you can do it, it doesn't help you much.

Peyton Lucas wrote:
i.e. (assume both guys have standard 5-ft reach) Guy A readies an action to attack and dodge Guy B, Guy B charges Guy A from 60 ft away, Guy's action triggers he attacks Guy B at the end of his charge and takes a 5-foot step back so he is out of range for Guy B's attack.

I really don't know what you are commenting on. Perhaps i need to explain the example in as much detail as possible.

Guy A is at initiative 15 and is 30 ft away from Guy B. Guy B is on initiative 10. Guy A draws his dagger and readies an action to attack Guy B after he closes for his charge then move 5 ft back out of the way of Guy B's attack. Guy B charges drawing his longsword while charging (because he has an attack bonus of more than +1), Guy A's action triggers when Guy B reaches Guy A. Guy A attacks Guy B with his dagger and takes a 5-ft step back, Guy B gets no attack.


Slacker2010 wrote:
Peyton Lucas wrote:

I am playing in a campaign where I charged an enemy monk who at the end of my charge (after we based) the monk attacked me with Hold the line, and then took a 5-ft step away at an angle that wasn't in line with my charge (i charged him at an angle and he side stepped away at an angle to leave the line of my charge.) and the DM said this negated my attack I was quite furious because how could he get an attack off before i swung my sword?

Any thoughts?

I can understanding the first time the NPC monk pulling this off, but why would you let it happen again? You dont have to charge, you could have just moved into his range, if he side stepped then you can follow up.

On a side note, when he 5ft stepped the first time, that should have put him 5 ft from you. At that point I dont believe you can charge him. I'm fairly sure you need 10ft to get a charge off(don't have books in front of me). So you shouldnt have been able to make the 2nd charge. But you could have 5ft back into range and full round attacked.

I charged once.....

he 5 ft stepped away after attacking me but somehow before i attacked him (things in parentheses are additional explanation upon a statement that can support itself?).


Slightly different spin on this. As far as I can tell, as long as you still have movement left, you could turn to engage someone that moves away, even at at angle. If you read the description of Charge carefully, you:


  • must move directly towards the target
  • need a clear path
  • can't charge over difficult terrain
  • need to move to the closest square from which you can attack
  • can't charge if a line between your starting square and ending square hits a square that has a creature or something that blocks or slows movement
  • need line of sight

In normal cases, this results in a Charge in a straight line. However, if you start a Charge and the target moves as a readied action, as long as you still have movement left, I don't see why you couldn't move towards the target and attack. As long as all of the above constraints are met, it appears legal to me. It isn't a requirement that you can only charge in a straight line.

That actually is pretty interesting. I never thought about it that way, and it seems to work well, but with the situation i was put in if i were to follow my opponent to his new location there would of been a table obstructing the line from my starting space to my new (modified) ending space.


Caineach wrote:
I disagree with the Grandfather. As far as I know, what your GM did was legal. The readied action interupted your charge and the entire readied action happens before your attack.

I charged him from his front but one square left of him. So the closest square to him was his front left and the line of my charge was the row directly to his left. so at the end of my movement when we were based he attacked me and took a 5-foot step to his right out of the path of my charge.

kyrt-ryder wrote:
The grandfather is somewhat right about this, with the basic game mechanics. You cannot ready an action and include a 5' step in that readying.

I know for a fact you can 5-foot step as part of your readied action.

Pathfinder Core Book pg203 wrote:

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action,

but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during
the round.


Can a character ready an action to attack a character and move out of the way of a charge with their 5-foot step for that action.

i.e. (assume both guys have standard 5-ft reach) Guy A readies an action to attack and dodge Guy B, Guy B charges Guy A from 60 ft away, Guy's action triggers he attacks Guy B at the end of his charge and takes a 5-foot step back so he is out of range for Guy B's attack.

Also i was wondering what about the 3.5 feats Side-Step (Whenever you take an AoO you can take a bonus 5-ft step Miniature Handbook 28), and Hold the line (You get an AoO against an opponent who charges you, Your attack is resolved before the charge finishes CWar 100)

I am playing in a campaign where I charged an enemy monk who at the end of my charge (after we based) the monk attacked me with Hold the line, and then took a 5-ft step away at an angle that wasn't in line with my charge (i charged him at an angle and he side stepped away at an angle to leave the line of my charge.) and the DM said this negated my attack I was quite furious because how could he get an attack off before i swung my sword?

Any thoughts?