NickSullivan's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. ***** Venture-Agent, Iowa—Davenport 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 23 Organized Play characters.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
GM Rednal wrote:
This was brought up and addressed as a readability issue - in quite a few cases, the Critical Success is based on the Normal Success, and it's weird to have that above the normal success. It just doesn't flow that well. It may seem a bit odd this way right now, but it's ultimately better.

What "flows better" is just your opinion, not fact. People can look down to the next item just as easily as they can look up to the previous.

11 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I propose that the order of outcomes be changed to:
Critical success
Critical failure

I find the current order (S, CS, F, CF) cumbersome to read because the best outcome falls in the middle. My proposed order ranks the outcomes from best to worst in an ordered list.

5/5 Venture-Agent, Iowa—Davenport aka NickSullivan

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I had a barbarian at my table when Tonya announced Troy's campaign coin and new organized play number. The first thing he said was "7-8-7? What a coincidence! Those are my character's mental stat ability scores!"

5/5 Venture-Agent, Iowa—Davenport aka NickSullivan

In regard to the core campaign and the use of certain boons, here is the relevant rule from the original blog post.

Mike Brock wrote:

For players participating in the Core Campaign, only the Core Rulebook, Character Traits Web Enhancement, and Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play may be utilized for character creation.

At no time may any trait, feat, equipment, magic item, skill, animal companion, familiar, or any other character option come from a source beyond these three resources unless it appears on a Chronicle sheet. Race boons found on Chronicle sheets may not be used in the Core Campaign.
If an item appears on a Chronicle sheet, a PC may purchase and use it regardless of the book it comes from, with the exception of a boon that opens up a different character race.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The Barbarian has the following class feature:

Core Rulebook wrote:

Fast Movement (Ex)

A barbarian's land speed is faster than the norm for her race by +10 feet. This benefit applies only when he is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor, and not carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the barbarian's speed because of any load carried or armor worn. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the barbarian's land speed.

And the Bloodrager has the nearly identical class feature:

Advanced Class Guide wrote:

Fast Movement (Ex)

A bloodrager's land speed is faster than is normal for his race by 10 feet. This benefit applies only when he is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor, and not carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the bloodrager's speed due to any armor worn or load carried. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the bloodrager's land speed.

Finally, the Advanced Class Guide says:

Advanced Class Guide wrote:
Parent Classes: Each one of the following classes lists two classes that it draws upon to form the basis of its theme. While a character can multiclass with these parent classes, this usually results in redundant abilities. Such abilities don't stack unless specified. If a class feature allows the character to make a one-time choice (such as a bloodline), that choice must match similar choices made by the parent classes and vice-versa (such as selecting the same bloodline). The new classes presented here are all hybrids of two existing core or base classes. (source)

Since both abilities say that they stack with any other bonuses to speed, does this mean that a character who takes a level of both Barbarian and Bloodrager will get +20 feet to his or her movement speed?

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The Opalescent White Pyramid Ioun Stone says:


Each stone of this type is keyed to a particular kind of weapon (heavy flail, light crossbow, short sword, and so on) and grants you proficiency with that weapon.

Cracked: The stone grants the wearer weapon familiarity with the keyed weapon (it is treated as a martial weapon for him).

The bastard sword is an exotic weapon that says:

A bastard sword is about 4 feet in length, making it too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon.

And finally, the rules about weapon sizes say:

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

Here's the question: Can my fighter use the cracked Ioun stone to wield a large bastard sword? I believe RAW say the stone would turn a medium bastard sword from a one-handed exotic weapon into a one-handed martial weapon for me, which would let me apply the rules about using an oversized one-handed weapon as two-handed with the -2 penalty. This is similar to how the iconic barbarian uses a large bastard sword, but I intend to do it with the Ioun stone rather than the feat Exotic Weapon Proficiency.

I am aware of the following FAQ entry:


If a weapon is wielded two-handed as a martial weapon and one-handed with an exotic weapon proficiency, can I wield it one-handed without the exotic proficiency at a –4 penalty?


Note that normally you can't wield a two-handed weapon in one hand. A bastard sword is an exception to that rule that you can't wield a two-handed weapon in two hands, but you must have special training to use the bastard sword this way. Without that special training, wielding a bastard sword one-handed is as impossible as wielding a greatsword one-handed. (The same goes for other weapons with this one-handed exotic exception, such as the dwarven waraxe.)

But I believe that this doesn't apply here, since the Ioun stone makes the weapon martial, and my class makes me proficient with all martial weapons.