Narxzul's page

13 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Hey everyone, someone brought this up on my last session and I honestly hadn't thought about it before nor seen anything about it so I didn't know what to say.

The most obvious example would be the rings, most races have 10 fingers, but only 2 magic ring slots. So the question is, what happens if they equip a third ?
While that is the obvious example, there are a lot of characters in media that wear multiple necklaces or belts or bracers, etc

The only thing I could find giving an exact answer to this is in the DMG for DnD 2e that states if you have 2 rings and equip a 3rd one, all of them become nonfunctional until you remove one. To me, this seems like the most reasonable thing that would happen, but I was wondering if there's another ruling for Pathfinder or at least DnD 3.5.

Thanks in advance :)


Short question here and sorry if it was asked before but I couldn't find an answer.

I know the dragon bloodline from the Bloodrager progresses with and lets you qualify for Dragon Disciple but my question is, does the bloodrager get the features (the wings being the most important one to be honest) only while bloodraging or can he sprout wings whenever like a sorcerer would be able to ?

I lean towards working only during bloodrage, even though that would make it significantly worse than the sorcerer I think, but I couldn't find confirmation.

Thanks


I looked for this but I couldn't find anyone asking this question and is one I find quite interesting.

What are ways (maybe there are other apart from the 3 in the subject that I'm not thinking about now) you know to change your creature type permanently ?

I don't mean things like the Monk's "Perfect Self" that say you are "treated as an outsider" I'm talking about things that fully change your type, the 2 that come to mind are the Monk archetype Nornkith "Norn Transformation" that changes your type to Fey or the Antipaladin Knight of the Sepulcher "Undying Champion" that change your type to undead.

Cheers :)


A friend of mine wants to play a shield bashing character with shield spikes and the shield master feat which seems all nice and good but I started looking and I don't understand how these mechanics work together exactly.

Shield master let's you apply your defensive bonuses to your offense, seems strong but shields don't make the best weapons I guess, so far so good.

Shield spikes say that "An enhancement bonus on a spiked shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but a spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right." Shield master seems to break this and it also says that the spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon of it's own.

So my question is, how do these enhancement bonuses work together ? can I have a +3 shield with +1 (wasted since it would be the same bonus as the defensive part) shocking, corrosive spikes giving me, essentially a +5 "weapon" ,since all this would apply in a single shield bash, for the price of a +3 armor and +3 weapon ?

I'm thinking I must be wrong because this seems kind of insane if it works like this.

Thanks in advance.


I'm thinking about playing a chosen one paladin and I started to think about my (from lvl 7 onwards) smart familiar skills and abilities.

I would be using a Silvanshee, which of course, on it's bestiary entry has it's own skills but would it gain more skills as I gain levels or when it's intelligence goes up? or does it's intelligence go up at all? I'm actually not sure if the "natural armor, int, special" chart works the same for improved familiars.

Also, do I lose the "special ability" that regular familiars give when it transforms ? do I lose it only when it assume their outsider form and it stays / comes back if it's in animal form ? does it stay on both forms since it gains the "change shape" monster ability so it's technically not a different creature even when it changes from animal to outsider...?

Sorry for the question storm haha but I searched and couldn't find the answers I was looking for.

Thanks in advance :)


Kind of a short one here but i can't seem to find an exact answer, the magic creation rules says that the ONLY mandatory thing is the required feat, everything else you are missing is just a +5 to the DC but then there's this:

"While item creation costs are handled in detail below, note that normally the two primary factors are the caster level of the creator and the level of the spell or spells put into the item. A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell. Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal."

I'm a level 6 arcanist, i can cast up to 3rd level spells and i want to create a "lyre of building" which requires me to cast the spell "fabricate" which is spell level 5 and i would need to be level 10 myself to be able to cast it.

How would that work ?
am i just unable to craft the item ?
do i had a +10 to the DC for missing the spell + the caster level ?
and a question that is not so specific, what would the final caster level of that item be ?