Bloodrager + Dragon Disciple

Rules Questions

Short question here and sorry if it was asked before but I couldn't find an answer.

I know the dragon bloodline from the Bloodrager progresses with and lets you qualify for Dragon Disciple but my question is, does the bloodrager get the features (the wings being the most important one to be honest) only while bloodraging or can he sprout wings whenever like a sorcerer would be able to ?

I lean towards working only during bloodrage, even though that would make it significantly worse than the sorcerer I think, but I couldn't find confirmation.


The confirmation is in the introductory paragraph of the Bloodrager Bloodlines section and in the Dragon Wings power writeup:

Bloodrager bloodlines wrote:
Unless otherwise specified, [the bloodrager] gains the effects of his bloodline powers only while in a bloodrage; once the bloodrage ends, all powers from his bloodline immediately cease, and any physical changes the bloodrager underwent revert, restoring him to normal.

Draconic bloodline wrote:
Dragon Wings (Su): At 12th level, when entering a bloodrage, you can choose to have leathery wings grow from your back, giving you a fly speed of 60 feet with average maneuverability. At 16th level, your fly speed increases to 80 feet with good maneuverability. =Draconic

Slight confusion here:

There are 3 different (at least) wings that a Bloodrager who dabbles in Dragon disciple could have fly without items or spells:

1: He could have wings from his level 12 Bloodline power. These wings he only has while Bloodraging.

2: He could be a dirty but dumb primalist, and traded away enough of his bloodline powers to get Dragon Totem Wings, to fly worse (need to spend a standard to start flying, and spends 2 rounds of rage per flying turn) then he would with his normal flight.

3: He could have went for 9 levels in dragon disciple and gotten permanent wings this way.

In practice: Monstrous physique is a Bloodrager spell, and a really good one because you have the STR to make use of the secondary naturals you tend to be getting.

I was simply responding to the question about Bloodrager-specific powers. I think it's understood that Dragon Disciple powers are distinct from the Bloodrager ones, and available whether the character is bloodraging or not.

That said, the wings a Dragon Disciple gets at 9th level are the wings granted by the bloodline power, not permanent ones. Normally, the Dragon Disciple ties in with the Sorcerer's bloodline power, but in this case he's doing so with the Bloodrager's, and thus those wings are only available while the character is bloodraging.

As Phoebus said, dragon deciple gives specifically the Bloodline power. If qualifying as Bloodrager this means you get the Bloodrager version. If you are a primalist you STILL get the Bloodragers version. If you are an Eldritch Scion Magus you again still use the Bloodrager version. Only Sorcerer and Blood Arcanist (or anyone without access to a bloodline going into Dragon Disciple) get the Sorcerer version.

Dragon Disciple wrote:
Wings (Su): At 9th level, a dragon disciple gains the wings bloodline power, even if his level does not yet grant that power. Once his level is high enough to grant this ability through the bloodline, the dragon disciple's speed increases to 90 feet.

My bad, stupid question, I misread it.

I read it as it giving you wings not the wings BLOODLINE power. You are right, that is the confirmation for it working only during bloodrage haha

Thanks for replying and happy new year :D

No such thing as a stupid question, Narxzul. Also, Happy New Year to you as well!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bloodrager + Dragon Disciple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions