Paladin

Mitoh's page

Goblin Squad Member. FullStarFullStarFullStar Venture-Lieutenant, South Dakota—Black Hills 3 posts (5 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 12 Organized Play characters.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Fourshadow wrote:
Markov Spiked Chain wrote:
Quote:
You can add up to one spell per spell level that you have selected with this masterpiece to your list of bard spells known each day.
It's pretty clear that you can only add one spell of each level you've purchased per day, so there's nothing to be gained by using it multiple times.

I think this says differently...unless I am reading it wrong.

"You can add up to one spell per spell level that you have selected with this masterpiece to your list of bard spells known each day."

That seems to say if you used a 3rd level slot, you could add up to 3 spells to your spells known for a day.

This masterpiece is bought per spell level. What is being stated is that each level gets only one swap out per day.


This becomes a debate on RAW vs RAI. In this case the intended rule is that you are only in a stance during Combat. While RAW would allow for you to spend your whole life in crane style, RAI is rather clear that you don't. The indicator that this is the intended interpretation is that it clearly states you can't use the feat out of Combat.


Since a feat exists called Step-up that specifies that:

Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability. If you take this step, you cannot take a 5-foot step during your next turn. If you take an action to move during your next turn, subtract 5 feet from your total movement.

I would say that, no, you can not take your 5-foot step on another players turn, even if it is classified as "no action"

This entire situation is muddied a bit by the fact that the example for Attacks of Opportunity on 181 of the core rulebook states that a 5-foot step is a free action. Not that this affects that actual rules in the book and other tables, just that it is a bit odd.