Mike Vacco's page

10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Calthaer wrote:
I do agree that the idea of putting a bane in the blessings deck and having it threaten the characters is a really unique and interesting idea. I will definitely play with some form of that sometime...it does make players more cautious - they could hit it even if they're "resting" and chilling out.

Yes, I really love this idea!


Andrew K wrote:

When I play with my group of friends, we have no penalty for losing due to the blessings deck. However, when we start AP5 (pretty late to set the rule I suppose), I plan on suggesting the rule I've seen often online that I use with my brother. If the party loses due to the blessings deck running out, everybody banishes one random card from their deck. We've gotten lucky and banished things like Thieve's Tools, and other times we get really unlucky -- the last failure my brother and I had he lost his Great Club +3 as Valeros, and I lost my Mass Cure as Lini!!

I like your idea though. It keeps them from being safe just because they change their minds later :)

I was trying for more of a "realistic' penalty (If thats possible in an fantasy game lol) but I really like your idea as well and will try it in our next game.

I don't think this problem is just in need of a "House Rule" though and is something that should be seriously looked at for the next set of cards.

Not a great start being thrown into the "Homebrew" section....


I think a great way for players who abandon an adventure early (Choosing not to explore and waiting for the blessings deck to empty) when low on health points (to hopefully avoid dying) should have a penalty applied to them. Basically risk/reward to keep it interesting... you wouldn't want it to be automatic.

How about a wandering Monsters roll?
Any player who chooses not to explore on his turn (Outside of using powers like Kyra's healing etc) rolls a D6. On a 1 or a 2 he has to draw a random monster from the box and encounter it.


Flat the Impaler wrote:
1970Zombie wrote:

Permanently for that AP with the characters you are playing. If you are playing with different groups you may need to add them back in. (That would mean you might want to track which cards have been removed.)

For example, you would continue to remove the appropriate cards after they have been encountered all the way until the last scenario in Adventure Deck 6. You would not add them back in until you start over or play with another group of players.

Right. Think of the game box as the current state of a campaign (in RPG terms), with "permanent" being relative to that campaign.

Thanks guys!


Polyphemus wrote:
This is addressed on the Rise of the Runelords Adventure Path card.

Thanks!

So remove from game basically means remove it from the box permanently or just for the current game?

Just want to be sure.... I'd hate to find out at the end of the campaign we did it wrong!


I have read that you keep all the cards that have been added to the base set when adding new sets....

At any time do you remove "older" cards from the game when adding a new set?

Wouldn't the creatures or item/equipment/Spell decks get diluted with less than desirable cards over time?


TClifford wrote:
No not at all. She might be good at fighting but that doesn't mean she is good at defeating barriers or acquiring boons. Also, if you think Kyra is good at fighting, check out Valeros.

Thanks again for the fast reply!

What you say is very true and I never thought of it that way.

Nice to see I'm allowed to kick some butt!
It felt great after having our asses handed to use a few times earlier... before I gained weapons proficiency.


TClifford wrote:
All modifiers are added together once. So yes, it would be 1d6 +2 +2 = 1d6 +4.

Wow thanks for the fast reply!

Kyra seemed too tough for most of the creatures in the Approach to Thistletop scenario so I wanted to check. I'm glad we played it correctly but isnt she a little overpowered right now? Not that I didn't mind plowing through those creatures for once!


Ok, if use my Short Sword in an attack I reveal this card to roll my Melee skill (which is Strength +2) my Strength is curently 1d6 +2.

Does this count as rolling 1d6+4?


Hi Mike,

Thanks a lot for standing behind your game and taking the heat as well as praise for your work.

It's a breath of fresh air to see you on the boards so actively involved in the community.

Most company reps/designers disappear after a game has been released.

As a rookie game designer I have learned a lot from how you have handled yourself here.

Mike Vacco