I'm sorry to be dredging up old questions, but doing a number of searches has yielded few results, if any of these questions have been answered BY PAIZO STAFF in another thread, please do not say it's been answered in another thread, instead link the thread so that I can find it.
These questions arose during a pathfinder society event, with the Australian Venture-Captain in the room. As a result we're looking from an official ruling from Paizo's staff.
These questions concern the Sythesist Summoner:
1. Natural Armour Evolution at 1st level: I am aware of Joshua Frost's ruling on this but as this comment was made on the playtest and he was not a member of Paizo's staff, there is still some doubt, can the Summoner take the Natural Armour Evolution before 5th level.
2. Eidolons and Antimagic fields:
Quoting from Ultimate Magic: Page 80, Fused Eidolon:
'Neither the synthesist, not the eidolon can be targetted separately as they are fused into one being.... In all other cases, this ability functions as the summoner's normal eidolon ability.'
Quoting from Advanced Player's Guide: pg 55, Eidolon:
'Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures....The eidolon cannot be sent back to it's home plane by means of dispel magic, but spells such as dismissal and banishment work normally.'
Quoting from Pathfinder Core Rule Book: pgs 242-243, Antimagic Field Spell:
'this barrier is impervious to most magic effects, including spells, spell-like abilities and supernatual abilities.... Summoned creautes of any type and incorporeal undead wink out of existance if they enter an antimagic field. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away.... (The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only it's result)... Elementals, corporeal undead, and outsiders are likewise unaffected unless summoned.'
Points of note:
Eidolon and similar abilities have no type and are therefore not Supernatural or Spell-like (This is not a typo as the 3 archetypes that modify it also have no type, meaning 4 instances of the eidolon having no type)
Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures, but the ritual to summon them likewise falls outside the barriers and thus there is dispute as to whether the conjuration has summoned them.
In the case of the synthesist, there is not even a summoned creature, but another set abilities labelled as an outsider, and whether this counts as a summoned creature for the purposes of the antimagic field.
In this senario the field is permanent, and so upon entering it, if the Fured Eidolon counts as his summoned creature, he would lose it, as it would be left behind at the field's edge and could never be retrieved.
What happened during the game: The summoner entered the field and the eidolon disappeared, but reppeared on him when he left.
Whether the Eidolon counts due to his life bond with the summoner, or even more in the case where there still is only one creature, as something that can be banished by the field is uncertain.
RAW: Eidolons can be used freely in an antimagic field
or
Eidolons are removed and irretrievable until the spell ends
Possible Middle: Eidolons can be used in the field but they cannot be summoned by any means while the summoner is in the field.
3. Sythesist Armour and Normal Armour:
Quoting from Ultimate Magic: Page 80, Fused Eidolon:
'The Synthesist uses the Eidolon's base attack bonus, and gains the eidolon's armour and natural armour bonuses.'
There have been conflictions over this. If the Synthesist is wearing armour can he still use his own armour bonus instead of the eidolons. GMs have said no you must use the Eidolon's armor bonus, but then Mage Armour gets cast, which does the same thing, despite them ruling you use the Eidolon's armor bonus. A few even said they stack.
This also goes to interactions with bracers of armor and amulets of natural armour.
4. Augment Summoning and the Eidolon
Augment Summoning has been acknowledged as working on the Summon Monster ability and though I have heard anecdotally that it works on the Summon Eidolon Spell I would like official confirmation. I've also been told that on this board is a thread that says Augment Summoning works on the Eidolon when summoned by ritural.
Is that true?
Thank you