Maliphian's page

18 posts. Organized Play character for Blindpunk.



Dark Archive

Hey I was wondering about this rogue talent acting as a pre-req for being able to cast druid spells. Here is the exact wording on the pre-req:
"Prerequisite(s): Nature Magic or the ability to cast druid or ranger spells; Vital Strike, Knowledge (nature) 5 ranks."

Here is the wording on the rogue talent:
"Benefit(s) A rogue with this talent gains the ability to cast a 0-level spell from the druid spell list. This spell can be cast three times per day as a spell-like ability.

The caster level for this ability is equal to the rogue's level.

The save DC for this spell is 10 + the rogue's Wisdom modifier. The rogue must have a Wisdom score of at least 10 to select this talent."

I know that spell-like's have the capacity to fulfill prerequisites sometimes, but I am not sure if these two interact. I was hoping I could take Wild Magic to fulfill the Winter's Strike prerequisite. This character was going to be for PFS so an interpretation in that light would be most appreciated.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am wondering if the Kitsune feat, Realalistic Likeness works with the Druid ability A Thousand Faces. Normally Realalistic Likeness only works with humans you shapeshift into, but could a Kitsune with A Thousand Faces turn into and small or medium humanoid and then use Realalistic Likeness to assume anyone's identity?

Dark Archive

I had a dispute come up in a Pathfinder Society game concerning how Weapon Snatcher operated. The GM (who is of some higher prestige than myself in my local area) says that since Weapon Snatcher specifically states:

Quote:


A rogue with this talent can make a Sleight of Hand check in place of a combat maneuver check when attempting to disarm an opponent.

It means that all the rules that concern a slight of hand check, also carry over into the check made for the slight of hand. These include but are not limited to:

1. The Target not being aware of the person using the skill (meaning I can't use Weapon Snatcher on a target who knows I'm there, as per the wording of Slight of Hand
Quote:
You cannot use this skill to take an object from another creature during combat if the creature is aware of your presence.

2. That the action is a standard action as said (as opposed to an Attack-Equivalent action that a Disarm attempt would be)

Quote:
Any Sleight of Hand check is normally a standard action.

3. It is possible to use Weapon Snatcher to try and disarm a weapon as a move action (as per Slight of Hand)

Quote:
[Y]ou may perform a Sleight of Hand check as a move action by taking a –20 penalty on the check.

4. I do not need the Improved Disarm feat to avoid the attack of opportunity since the skill check doesn't draw one normally.

5. Basically the only thing the Advanced Talent changes is that I can steal a weapon someone is holding from their hand using slight of hand.

When I originally designed this character, I had never heard (nor read on the forums) this interpretation of Weapon Snatcher so when I wanted to employ it in the game, I was completely taken aback by how much more underwhelming his interpretation made it. In addition, several other GMs (also more prestigious than I in our PFS circle) agree with his interpretation.

I understand the Advanced Talent to basically allow the user to replace the CMB check with the rogue's slight of hand bonus, and I've read similar interpretations on the forums. My question is this, what is the proper way this Advanced Talent functions in PFS?

Dark Archive

So I came up with a few questions while developing a character concept. I was looking at the Mounted Skirmisher feat which reads:
If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.

I take it to understand that my mount can charge and make an attack at the end of its charge, and as long as my mount moves its speed or less, I can make a full-round attack action at the end of that charge. The rules for riding on a charging mount are as follows (as quoted from the d20pfsrd):
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.

Note that the mounted charging rules do not say that the rider has to be charging to gain the pros and cons of a charge (namely the +2 to hit and -2 to ac). Here's my question: Would I, as the rider, gain the +2 to hit on all my attacks in my full-round attack action or only the first attack?

Here's a bonus question: If I were a cavalier and had the level 3 cavalier ability "Cavalier's Charge" Would I, as the rider, not get any penalties associated with a charge and gain the +4 to hit when my mount charges?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I recently played the first steps as a Fighter 1 using weapon finesse and Equipment Trick Rope as his feats. The question came up about whether or not I would be able to masterwork the rope as a weapon (since it is normally a non weapon item). Equipment trick allows me to treat the rope as a weapon or improvised weapon, whichever is more beneficial to me, but I need to know if a rope can be masterworked (so that I can enchant it later as a normal weapon). Thanks

Dark Archive

Hello all, I was wondering if the new feat in UC Death or Glory allows it to be used as part of a charge.
The wording goes

"Against a creature of size Large or larger, you can make a single melee attack as a full-round action, gaining a +4 bonus on the attack roll, damage roll, and critical confirmation roll..."

Does this feat work as part of a charge where the single attack you get gains this benefit?

Dark Archive

My Cavalier 5/Hellknight 4 in Pathfinder Society will be reaching 10 soon, so I figured that I would start planning on retirement, as it will be my first character to 12. One item I am interested in is the Silver Smite Bracelet from APG for him.

SRD wrote:
This heavy silver bracelet is etched with icons of purity, fidelity, chastity, and honor, and glows with a soft white light whenever its owner prays. The wearer of this bracelet treats her paladin level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of her smite evil class feature.

And the description for the Smite Chaos class feature is as follows,

SRD wrote:
This ability functions as the paladin's smite evil ability, but against chaotic-aligned creatures. This ability is twice as effective against outsiders with the chaotic subtype, chaotic-aligned aberrations, and fey.

I'm wondering if the Silver Smite Bracers would work for Hellknight because Smite Chaos works "[A]s the paladin's smite evil ability" would he be counted as 4 levels higher for determing Smite Chaos' effect?

Also was wondering if it increases # of uses per day and not just the amount of damage it would deal, thanks in advance

Dark Archive

If I rage as a barbarian, and I am also a level 5 oracle with the Lame curse, am I immune to the fatigue effect that comes after ending a rage? I'm wondering because I am wondering about making a rage prophet with the Lame curse for PFS. Spirit Guide grants a rage prophet the use of a single guidance whenever he or she rages so I was planning on starting and stopping a rage every turn to gain the benefit of a guidance use every round. Is this possible?