Maliphian's page

18 posts. Organized Play character for Blindpunk.


RSS

Dark Archive

Hey I was wondering about this rogue talent acting as a pre-req for being able to cast druid spells. Here is the exact wording on the pre-req:
"Prerequisite(s): Nature Magic or the ability to cast druid or ranger spells; Vital Strike, Knowledge (nature) 5 ranks."

Here is the wording on the rogue talent:
"Benefit(s) A rogue with this talent gains the ability to cast a 0-level spell from the druid spell list. This spell can be cast three times per day as a spell-like ability.

The caster level for this ability is equal to the rogue's level.

The save DC for this spell is 10 + the rogue's Wisdom modifier. The rogue must have a Wisdom score of at least 10 to select this talent."

I know that spell-like's have the capacity to fulfill prerequisites sometimes, but I am not sure if these two interact. I was hoping I could take Wild Magic to fulfill the Winter's Strike prerequisite. This character was going to be for PFS so an interpretation in that light would be most appreciated.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am wondering if the Kitsune feat, Realalistic Likeness works with the Druid ability A Thousand Faces. Normally Realalistic Likeness only works with humans you shapeshift into, but could a Kitsune with A Thousand Faces turn into and small or medium humanoid and then use Realalistic Likeness to assume anyone's identity?

Dark Archive

asthyril wrote:

my question is, if you are attacking 4 times in a round and on your 4th attack you decide to try to disarm them, are they disallowing you from using this ability at all? it specifically lets you make a sleight of hand check when you disarm someone, how can they interpret that as a standard action? the talent does not say anything about it having to be a standard action, simply replacing your CMD check with a skill check. i mean the description of sleight of hand says it is 'usually' a standard action, but the talent should be treated otherwise imo.

it is, after all, a level 10+ talent, i would think it should do something other than what they describe.

when taking a weapon from someone who does not know youre there, you can just use sleight of hand normally to take the weapon, why would you need this talent?(arguably it needs to be 'reasonably small' but thats really undefined) if you dont care if they notice you can pretty easily succeed at it, that interpretation makes this talent completely worthless.

it's a shortly worded talent, so i can see it being interpreted many ways, but i always took it to mean that when you make a CMB check to disarm, you use your sleight if hand modifier instead of your CMB. thats what the talent says.

srd wrote:
A rogue with this talent can make a Sleight of Hand check in place of a combat maneuver check when attempting to disarm an opponent.
in place of a CMB check means, to me, that you follow all the rules of CMB check replacing the sleight of hand check only, if anything else about the CMB check were to be altered, the talent would say so.

It gets compared to how the bard ability "Versitile Performance" works, which specifically states that you replace the modifier of one with another

Quote:
He can use his bonus in that skill in place of his bonus in associated skills. When substituting in this way, the bard uses his total Perform skill bonus, including class skill bonus, in place of its associated skill's bonus, whether or not he has ranks in that skill or if it is a class skill.

The biggest problem is that its a long invested character (ten levels) and I find out about their interpretation of Weapon Snatcher only after I have used it in a scenario (which forbids me from replacing it). I even referenced a James Jacob's post where he clarifies some things about how the ability works.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=294?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#14674
and just from his brief overview of it, it seems to work the way I thought. I just need to know how I can explain it to this guy so I can actually use the talent the way it was intended.

Dark Archive

I had a dispute come up in a Pathfinder Society game concerning how Weapon Snatcher operated. The GM (who is of some higher prestige than myself in my local area) says that since Weapon Snatcher specifically states:

Quote:


A rogue with this talent can make a Sleight of Hand check in place of a combat maneuver check when attempting to disarm an opponent.

It means that all the rules that concern a slight of hand check, also carry over into the check made for the slight of hand. These include but are not limited to:

1. The Target not being aware of the person using the skill (meaning I can't use Weapon Snatcher on a target who knows I'm there, as per the wording of Slight of Hand
Quote:
You cannot use this skill to take an object from another creature during combat if the creature is aware of your presence.

2. That the action is a standard action as said (as opposed to an Attack-Equivalent action that a Disarm attempt would be)

Quote:
Any Sleight of Hand check is normally a standard action.

3. It is possible to use Weapon Snatcher to try and disarm a weapon as a move action (as per Slight of Hand)

Quote:
[Y]ou may perform a Sleight of Hand check as a move action by taking a –20 penalty on the check.

4. I do not need the Improved Disarm feat to avoid the attack of opportunity since the skill check doesn't draw one normally.

5. Basically the only thing the Advanced Talent changes is that I can steal a weapon someone is holding from their hand using slight of hand.

When I originally designed this character, I had never heard (nor read on the forums) this interpretation of Weapon Snatcher so when I wanted to employ it in the game, I was completely taken aback by how much more underwhelming his interpretation made it. In addition, several other GMs (also more prestigious than I in our PFS circle) agree with his interpretation.

I understand the Advanced Talent to basically allow the user to replace the CMB check with the rogue's slight of hand bonus, and I've read similar interpretations on the forums. My question is this, what is the proper way this Advanced Talent functions in PFS?

Dark Archive 2/5

What if the monk only has access to one weapon when he flurrys? For example, a level 7 Sohei monk has Weapon Training and can Flurry with any weapon that is under the weapon group she chooses for weapon training. Let's say she chooses Polearm and uses a Glaive. The Reach of the Glaive means that she only has access to the Glaive when she flurries. Would she be able to do her full flurry with it?

Dark Archive

The black raven wrote:
Trikk wrote:
If you charge with the mount, you've already made your full-round action before you reach your target. You don't charge when you reach your target, you charge when you begin moving as the charge has movement rules in itself. You have no actions left to take.

When you are mounted, it is your mount which is using a full-round action to make a charge. The rider merely benefits from the bonus to attack rolls and suffers the penalty to AC.

The way the feat is worded, there is nothing preventing you from using it on a charging mount, as long as your mount does not move more than its speed while charging.

Concerning the bonus to attack, the charging while mounted rules in the CRB state that : "If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." It does not specify that you make a single attack. It only checks if you are making an attack at the end of the charge. Since you are indeed making an attack (and usually several) when taking a full-attack action, you receive the bonus from the charge. Since it is not explicitely restricted to a single attack, the bonus applies to all your attacks at the end of the charge (same as what happens with Pounce)

Also, since you are charging on horseback, you get the aditional damage from the lance on all attacks.

I do not think that making a full-attack with a lance while from the back of a charging mount will grant the bonus to damage. There is a distinction drawn in the rules. For Example:

"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." Is making the assumption that the rider is not using the charge action but the mount is. However what comes after:
"When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)." directly states that you have to be charging from horseback meaning the rider (and his or her mount) has to be using the charge action. Mounted skirmisher would not work with the bonus damage when charging with a lance because there is a distinction made in the rules between when a mount is charging and when a rider+mount are charging.

Dark Archive

Trikk wrote:
Quote:
Benefit: If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.

A charge is a full-round action. A full-attack action is a full-round action. If you charge, you cannot do another full-round action. For this feat to work your mount first has to move more than 5 feet (otherwise it isn't even activated).

Quote:
Normal: If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only take an attack action.
This is the rule it's replacing.

The feat only requires your mount to move its speed or less. It doesn't say you can't make a charge as long as the charge is only the mount's speed or less. The fact is that the feat doesn't even bring up 'actions' that the mount has to take in order to fulfill this requirement. Theoretically, the attack of the mount and the full-round attack of the rider would be happening simultaneously, not one after the other.

Another question I'd like to mention comes up when we look at the rules for a charging mount, as follows:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.

So if a rider has Mounted Skirmisher and his or her mount charges, does the rider get +2 on all the melee attacks made that round or only the first. I'm also curious how the 3rd level Cavalier ability "Cavalier's Charge" would play into this situation (namely, would the cavalier get no ac penalty and +4 to hit when his or her mount charged)

Dark Archive

So I came up with a few questions while developing a character concept. I was looking at the Mounted Skirmisher feat which reads:
If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.

I take it to understand that my mount can charge and make an attack at the end of its charge, and as long as my mount moves its speed or less, I can make a full-round attack action at the end of that charge. The rules for riding on a charging mount are as follows (as quoted from the d20pfsrd):
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.

Note that the mounted charging rules do not say that the rider has to be charging to gain the pros and cons of a charge (namely the +2 to hit and -2 to ac). Here's my question: Would I, as the rider, gain the +2 to hit on all my attacks in my full-round attack action or only the first attack?

Here's a bonus question: If I were a cavalier and had the level 3 cavalier ability "Cavalier's Charge" Would I, as the rider, not get any penalties associated with a charge and gain the +4 to hit when my mount charges?

Dark Archive

Fake Healer wrote:

So I am looking to start up a new PC and I would like to fill a couple holes in the group if possible....

The group is in need of a trapfinder/disabler and low on arcane casting....I would like to combine the 2 although Arcane Trickster PRC isn't all that attractive to me.
Any thoughts?
Rules---core and APG only, stats will be rolled (not too worried about them anyway).
I am just looking for class combos and feats, not really gear or any of that. I also am not looking for the most Uber-great means of doing this, just hoping to be decently effective and fun to play.
Thanks all.

Seeker archetype from Pathfinder Field Guide. Makes a Sorc have trapfinding.

Dark Archive

I think you should have made the Salamander make the CMB check to maintain the grapple. The force was made against the entity doing the grappling, away from the cleric so he should of had to maintain his grip and at a penalty. The cleric was probably actively trying not to move, the Salamander had no choice.

Dark Archive

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
You can get masterwork tools for use with various skills, so I do not know why you could not buy a masterwork rope as well. But you would have to buy it that way since you cannot upgrade anything from normal to masterwork in PFS play. I also have no clue how much a masterwork rope would cost or if there is even one listed to buy in any of the legal PFS source materials. Also, it would have to be a listed item to buy for PFS since you are not allowed to craft your own equipment in PFS either.

Yes I can get a masterwork rope, but if I attack with it (using it as a spiked chain for example as per the Equipment Trick) would I get the +1 to hit? Would I be able to enchant it, giving it a +1 or a weapon quality? Would I be able to buy a spellcasting use of Masterwork Transformation (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/m/masterwork-transformation)? I can treat a rope as a weapon so is that enough to do what I need?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I recently played the first steps as a Fighter 1 using weapon finesse and Equipment Trick Rope as his feats. The question came up about whether or not I would be able to masterwork the rope as a weapon (since it is normally a non weapon item). Equipment trick allows me to treat the rope as a weapon or improvised weapon, whichever is more beneficial to me, but I need to know if a rope can be masterworked (so that I can enchant it later as a normal weapon). Thanks

Dark Archive

Hello all, I was wondering if the new feat in UC Death or Glory allows it to be used as part of a charge.
The wording goes

"Against a creature of size Large or larger, you can make a single melee attack as a full-round action, gaining a +4 bonus on the attack roll, damage roll, and critical confirmation roll..."

Does this feat work as part of a charge where the single attack you get gains this benefit?

Dark Archive

I am very curious as to what Chelish Hellknights do get from this. I currently play a 5 Cavalier/5 Hellknight and would like to know what I can pick up for him before I play next.

Dark Archive

Bobson wrote:

I would say "No, but...".

Smite Chaos is similar to and based on Smite Evil, but isn't Smite Evil. The same way Wild Shape is similar to and based on various polymorphing spells, but isn't those spells. (Edit: An analogy to channel energy would probably be closer, but in those cases it usually says "You channel energy as a Xth level cleric", which is different from "This works like a cleric's channel energy")

However, I would also say that you can buy an item for the same price which does exactly the same thing for Smite Chaos as the Silver Smite Bracelet does for Smite Evil. So you can't just pick up a paladin's bracelet and benefit, but if you're purchasing it works out the same.

Would the stipulation in the Smite Chaos text define the ability as just a different version of smite evil, eg

"This ability functions as the paladin's smite evil ability, but against chaotic-aligned creatures"
Does the phrasing "function as the paladin's smite evil ability" means that it works as and is treated as smite evil for all intensive purposes?

Dark Archive

Scharlata wrote:

As GM, I'd allow it to treat the HKn's level 4 higher - in analogy to other level increasing magic items as it seems to be a nice gadget not too overpowered.

Kind regards

Thanks for your response, getting this item will actually be a determining factor in how I continue to level as Hellknight, most DMs I've talked to agree with what you have said so I hope that will be what the ruling would be. It seems to me that it could be either way.

Dark Archive

My Cavalier 5/Hellknight 4 in Pathfinder Society will be reaching 10 soon, so I figured that I would start planning on retirement, as it will be my first character to 12. One item I am interested in is the Silver Smite Bracelet from APG for him.

SRD wrote:
This heavy silver bracelet is etched with icons of purity, fidelity, chastity, and honor, and glows with a soft white light whenever its owner prays. The wearer of this bracelet treats her paladin level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of her smite evil class feature.

And the description for the Smite Chaos class feature is as follows,

SRD wrote:
This ability functions as the paladin's smite evil ability, but against chaotic-aligned creatures. This ability is twice as effective against outsiders with the chaotic subtype, chaotic-aligned aberrations, and fey.

I'm wondering if the Silver Smite Bracers would work for Hellknight because Smite Chaos works "[A]s the paladin's smite evil ability" would he be counted as 4 levels higher for determing Smite Chaos' effect?

Also was wondering if it increases # of uses per day and not just the amount of damage it would deal, thanks in advance

Dark Archive

If I rage as a barbarian, and I am also a level 5 oracle with the Lame curse, am I immune to the fatigue effect that comes after ending a rage? I'm wondering because I am wondering about making a rage prophet with the Lame curse for PFS. Spirit Guide grants a rage prophet the use of a single guidance whenever he or she rages so I was planning on starting and stopping a rage every turn to gain the benefit of a guidance use every round. Is this possible?