Tiefling

Kyrian Ryskol's page

68 posts. Alias of Darkwolf117.




So, let's say you want a monk. Specifically, you want a monk archetype that isn't Martial Artist.

However, you also don't want the lawful restriction... so, you do look at Martial Artist.

Now, assuming the archetypes in question stack, does this let the monk be nonlawful?

I'm leaning towards yes, I think... It's more or less like replacing the alignment restriction, as archetypes normally would. That is...

Any Lawful -> Any Alignment
Base abilities -> Their respective changes/replacements
Base Monk Class -> New Archetyped Monk Class

Thoughts?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Fairly straightforward, I think, but I'm having some trouble with it.

I have a player who's a samurai, with a whole horse and stuff. What happens on a full attack?

-The samurai makes his attack(s). This is simple enough.
-But does the horse get all of its attacks too? (Bite, 2 Hooves)

It seems fairly simple, but I'm not very positive about how mounted combat works. The section in combat doesn't really address how mounts attack while they have a rider and I didn't see any threads on it.

I assume if there were any penalties for this, there would be some kind of documentation of course, so I gather it's nothing like that. I'm guessing either all or nothing basically (no penalties and horse makes all its attacks, or it's simply not possible).

I don't know. Help on this would be much appreciated.


Alright, so I looked through a couple threads on this, but they didn't really address this issue too well.
.
.
.
.

Touch Spells in Combat wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

The bolded part is the main question here, though I've got a followup to it as well.

Let's say we've got a fairly high level draconic sorcerer, going into dragon disciple, so we have 2 claw attacks and a bite.

Though it is clearly mentioned that you can deliver a touch spell through a natural attack (targeting regular AC rather than touch AC, of course), it doesn't explicitly say that you can still full attack.

So... can you? If our sorcerer casts Fleshworm Infestation, then waits a round, can he full attack and discharge it on any attack that hits his opponent? Or does he have to use a standard action to attack with a single claw or bite, and if that hits, the spell goes off with it?

That's my main question. Here's the followup though.

If you can make a full attack while holding a charge, what about Chill Touch? Say we use Form of the Dragon III, and get ourselves 6 natural attacks, then cast Chill Touch. If all 6 of those natural attacks hit, can we discharge 6 instances of Chill Touch into the opponent?

And lastly, Calcific Touch. It has the limitation of, and I quote:

Calcific Touch wrote:
"Once per round, you may deliver a touch attack that inflicts 1d4 points of Dexterity damage and slows the target (as the spell) for 1 round."

If we specifically choose to deliver a touch attack once per round this is pretty clear cut. If we can full attack for them though, does it discharge every time we hit them, or is it still limited to the once per round bit?

Some clarification on these would be much appreciated.


This seems like an awfully simple question, but I can't seem to find an answer to it in the rulebooks or on these boards.

Can a sorcerer (or other spontaneous caster) teach spells that they know to a wizard (or other prepared caster) without needing to, say, Scribe a Scroll for the wizard to copy from? (And assuming the spell is on both lists, of course.)

So, let's say the sorcerer knows Fireball, which the Wizard does not have in his spellbook. Can the sorcerer basically provide the access to the spell (probably losing a spell slot for the day, the same way a scroll would be spent) and allow the Wizard to write the spell into his spellbook, for the basic cost of the spell level (in other words, 90 GP for Fireball), rather than needing to find or buy a scroll to learn it from?

It seems like a really simple question, but again, I can't seem to find anything about it.


This is kind of a mix of questions, so bear with me please. I did a quick search for any previous threads, but if I missed them, my bad.

So! Form of the Dragon is a polymorph spell. As per the Magic section of the Core Rulebook, you can't have more than one Polymorph spell in place at a time.

The Exact Quote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

Now, Fiery Body is transmutation, but it is not a polymorph effect.

So Question #1: Am I correct in figuring you may have both of these in effect at the same time? I don't really see any reason to think you couldn't as it's not so much giving you a new form, but altering the one you have (for example, an actual dragon would be free to cast Fiery Body, and it would still look like a dragon, just made of fire). I assume this is why there is no polymorph descriptor in the first place.

If they do work together, then let's move on to the next bit.

Form of the Dragon III gives you immunity to an energy type, and certain dragon forms have vulnerabilities as well. Let's say we turn into a White Dragon, giving us Immunity to Cold, Vulnerability to Fire, and dragon breath for Cold damage. Just in general, we also get Fly 120 ft.(Poor), and 6 natural attacks.

We're free to cast in dragon form, so let's also put on Fiery Body. We now have Vulnerability to Cold(not explicitly stated, but we take 150% damage from it. Pretty much same deal). We've also got Fly 40 ft.(Perfect) and +3d6 fire damage on unarmed strikes.

We also have immunity to Fire... except that it is a bit different from regular immunity.

Fiery Body wrote:
In fact, every time you would normally take damage from fire, you are instead healed of damage at a rate of 1 point per 3 points of damage the fire attack would have normally inflicted.

So in summary, we have:

-Immunity to Cold
-Immunity to Fire (Healing through Fire, actually)
-Vulnerability to Cold
-Vulnerability to Fire
-Fly 120 ft. (Poor)
-Fly 40 ft. (Perfect)

Question #2: How does all this stuff resolve? What happens when we take fire or cold damage? How far can we fly in a given round, and what distances are we using for fly checks? What bonus/penalty do we have on those fly checks as well? Okay, I guess that's not a single question, but still.

This is what I'm most curious about, how these all play out. I'm guessing the immunity to cold trumps the vulnerability, since 50% extra means little if it all gets canceled anyway.

But how does the vulnerability to fire factor into how much is healed? If 30 points of Fire is coming at you, it's technically getting negated. But it would have inflicted 45 without that immunity, so are you restoring 10 HP or 15?

How the Fly speeds interact in this case is also interesting. It'd be easy to say take the better if it were 120 ft.(Perfect) vs. 40 ft.(Poor), but with one offering better distance and the other offering better maneuverability, what happens there?

Primarily, I'm most interested in RAW on these interactions.

And lastly, Question #3: This is kind of just an extra thought, but how do the breath weapon and natural attacks work out? In theory, we still have access to Cold breath, despite the fact that we're made out of fire. We're also getting 3d6 Fire damage on unarmed strikes, but does this apply to natural attacks, as well?

RAW, I can't see any reason to say we no longer can breathe Cold, and technically there's no reason to apply the Fire damage to natural weapons, since it only says unarmed strikes. Both scenarios seem a bit odd, though.

In this case, I'm interested in both the RAW and RAI.

And if there's any obvious oversights in this scenario, so that it doesn't make sense, I apologize. Please let me know if that's the case.


So, I'm looking to participate in this Arena thing. Basically, 1 on 1 battles (barring class companions), and I've got an Oracle that I would love some advice on. So please, click here or on this Alias to see his stats.

For an outline of the idea, the basic premise is mobility and adaptability. I'm hoping he'll be viable at range (what I most plan to use), but also in melee if I want to chase down casters.

Got a Fly Speed of 90 feet that will pretty much always be on, so that hopefully will cover most positioning. Most of the spells I picked up are buff or debuff, as well as a couple things that might be good for control, like silence to stop casters, darkness for concealment, since I've got darkvision, and a number of wind from my mystery which can do pretty cool battlefield control.

The basic plan for battle depends on who I'm facing. If it's someone with a big sword and armor, I'll probably go invisible and take to the air, then start buffing or doing whatever else I need to do. On the other hand, if it looks like a squishy caster, I may just take flight, then either charge or spend one round casting a buff before charging. Maybe not though, I'm really not too positive.

But that's kind of the general idea, and I would greatly appreciate if anyone would look over the build and see if you've got any recommendations.

I would also really greatly appreciate it if someone would look over my selection of items and/or give some advice on the gear I've got. For starters, I'm not entirely positive if I priced things correctly, and I haven't even grabbed consumables yet, though I have a +19 UMD, so I think I should be able to activate plenty of different things. If you think something might come in handy to cover a weak point of the build, please let me know.

And if you see any problems with my calculations somewhere, please definitely let me know about that. Thanks.

-Darkwolf