Koraxs's page
89 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|
Hi all.
Need an advice in next moment...
Situation:
1) Witch try cast hex (SU) Evil eye on target. This hex is "creep into the mind of a foe within 30 feet that witch can see" (so I unterstand that it is something like mind-effect - haven't visible effects).
Does witch understand about result of hex (succesful it was or not) automatically or GM describe result "chainmail that wear goblin lost some rings (so tell that AC is taking penalty)"?
2) Bard try cast spell Negative Reaction on another NPC before they will lie to guard. The target of this spell takes a –10 penalty on any Bluff check.
Does bard understand about result of spell (succesful it was or not) automatically or GM describe result "another NPC try lie to guard about who steal many gold from mearket, but he is stammer and his words is no good as yours (so tell that Bluff check of another NPC is taking penalty)"?

Diego Rossi wrote: Koraxs wrote: Diego Rossi wrote: DiegoRossi wrote:
Some spell work that way, Wizard mark as an example, but they are a minority, so a general statement like the one you made has no basis.
You have replied with a different specific spell example. My question was about you stating that as a general rule.
If the rule you want to argue is: "you can't use Detect Magic on a spell to which you have no LOS", there is no problem. But you said: "spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself.", so the rule you are arguing is: "you don't have LOS to yourself." Nope.
Read my first message - I give description of the spell. In last post I give quote for this spell which said where can placed effect of the spell.What different spells do you mean?
Part where you said about Detect magic and LoS is too hard to understood( Koraxs wrote: spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself. You didn't give a description of the spell in the first post. You argued that you hadn't LoS to yourself.
You added the description of the spell after my post.
You get replies on the basis of what you say, not of what is in your mind.
A person normally has LoS to himself. If the spell is in a specific point of the body that he can't see he hasn't LoS, but that applies to specific situations, it isn't a general rule.
It's a point - for me that was written in first post is clear as I've know where is mark.
So I was right and person haven't LoS on own face.
Thanks for pations and answer)
Diego Rossi wrote: DiegoRossi wrote:
Some spell work that way, Wizard mark as an example, but they are a minority, so a general statement like the one you made has no basis.
You have replied with a different specific spell example. My question was about you stating that as a general rule.
If the rule you want to argue is: "you can't use Detect Magic on a spell to which you have no LOS", there is no problem. But you said: "spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself.", so the rule you are arguing is: "you don't have LOS to yourself." Nope.
Read my first message - I give description of the spell. In last post I give quote for this spell which said where can placed effect of the spell.What different spells do you mean?
Part where you said about Detect magic and LoS is too hard to understood(
Diego Rossi wrote: Koraxs wrote: 1) I think that even after good check of Knowledge giving second chance to check Spellcraft it is...meh((( You can't retry to use spellcraft to identify a spell after it has been cast, you use Knowledge Arcana:
Quote:
Identify a spell effect that is in place Arcana 20 + spell level
Identify a spell that just targeted you Arcana 25 + spell level A different difficulty and a different skill. The second line covers the situation you depicted perfectly. I understood that the second line is more suitable.
But my opinion is next - that Knowledge check based on analyze.
If personage-target haven't line of sight on his cheeks he haven't information from Detect magic. As he haven't information from Detect magic he haven't reason to check Knowledge.

Diego Rossi wrote: Koraxs wrote: Diego Rossi wrote: Koraxs wrote:
- spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself.
Why?
I can see about half of my body,
so I would say that I have LoS to it. In our case visible effect of the spell is on the face of the player-target.
My opinion He can't use Detect magic cause he haven't line of sight on his own face (see line of sight/line of effect description). What?
Can you point out where on the rules it says that a generic spell effect is limited to a single point of a creature's body?
Some spell work that way, Wizard mark as an example, but they are a minority, so a general statement like the one you made has no basis.
1) Spell-Brand
Brand etches an indelible rune or mark of no more than 6 characters onto a creature, inflicting 1 point of damage. The mark may be placed on any exposed portion of the creature, typically the head or forearm...
In our case brand was placed on cheeks of personage-target.
2) Detect magic (3-rd round)
If the items or creatures bearing the auras are in line of sight, you can make Knowledge (arcana) skill checks to determine the school of magic involved in each. (Make one check per aura: DC 15 + spell level, or 15 + 1/2 caster level for a nonspell effect.)
So I see that so: personage-target haven't line of sight on his cheeks so he can't Knowledge (arcana) skill checks to determine the school of magic for spell that target his face/cheeks.

Chell Raighn wrote: Simple breakdown of how detect magic works.
1) round 1 they can see magic auras but that is all. They have not had time to count them, nor have they had time to identify anything about them.
2) round 2 they have had time to count the auras and can distinguish each individual aura in an area.
3) round 3 they can roughly tell how strong each aura is.
Note: aura strength is based on effective spell level if it is a spell or caster level if it originated from an item. This does mean that spells cast from items use the items caster level.
4) they may now attempt to learn about the auras one per round with knowledge arcana checks. This check will ONLY tell them the school of magic.
5) IF they identify the spell school of an aura they can continue to identify the properties of a magic item.
Note: detect magic does NOT allow you to identify a spell effect only it’s aura.
You CAN however use your knowledge of the magic aura in conjunction with any knowledge you have of the spell effect to follow up with your own spellcraft check to try and identify the spell. But this is NOT an effect of detect magic, rather it is simply an application of the Spellcraft skill.
As to if you can use detect magic to see auras on yourself or not… that is an ambiguous grey area. On one hand, you very much are capable of visually examining yourself and as such should be able to see auras on your own person. On the otherhand, nothing in the rules state that a magic aura must encompass an entire entity or object, therefore an aura could potentially only encompass a part of your body that you are physically incapable of looking at (such as your head), and as such should not be able to be seen… Additionally it might not make sense in a setting for you to see your own auras, or auras on yourself… as the DM it is your judgment call as to if a player can or cannot see auras on themself. If players disagree politely remind them that as DM you are the final arbiter of any rules disputes, and you have ruled on this matter.
Heh.
My teory about:
Detect magic-see aura-analize aura (step 3 know power and can make Knowledge check to learn school)-by power of aura can understand level of spell...
is very close to yours.
But...
1) I think that even after good check of Knowledge giving second chance to check Spellcraft it is...meh(((
2) How with all that we say and mine situation can combine with this variance of Knowledge (arcana) check
"Identify a spell effect that is in place"?
Diego Rossi wrote: Koraxs wrote:
- spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself.
Why?
I can see about half of my body,
so I would say that I have LoS to it. In our case visible effect of the spell is on the face of the player-target.
My opinion He can't use Detect magic cause he haven't line of sight on his own face (see line of sight/line of effect description).
Read rules once more and have update to my opinion:
- spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself. But somebody else can cast Detect magic (3 rounds) on personage-target, then that "somebody" check Knowledge (arcana) to know what school have this ongoing effect then MAYBE check Knowledge (arcana) to Identify a spell effect that is in place.
I edit first version to variance whith MAYBE last check cause read opinion that check Knowledge (arcana) based on Detect magic made possible to identify info only by Aura (RAW identify info about only school of magic for effect)...

Hello.
Can you help me with understanding next situation?
One of players became target of the spell. He see fact of casting, another players see visible resultate of spell (spell have ongoing effect and may be in simple and greater version).
But
- player-target haven't make Spellcraft check when see that enemy cast spell;
- another players don't say player what resultate of spell they see.
Now (1-2 hours later after spellcasting on player) in game we have a "fight" with player-target of spell.
1) his opinion that he can or just make check Knowledge (arcana) or cast Detect magic on himself and then make check Knowledge (arcana) to know what spell and what version of spell is it.
2) my opinion next (I may be wrong in some moments or absolutely wrong)
- he don't make Spellcraft in moment when clearly see the spellcasting, so moment gone and he can't make this check postfactum;
- as spell have a ongoing effect it have an aura, so somebody can first try to "know" about fact of this effect
- spell Detect magic must have line of sight so personage can't cast this spell by himself and on himself. But somebody else can cast Detect magic (3 rounds) on personage-target, then that "somebody" check Knowledge (arcana) to know what school have this ongoing effect then check Knowledge (arcana) to Identify a spell effect that is in place.
- even in case wben somebody have a good check Knowledge resultat he don't know about level of that spell only by Knowledge check.
Hope for help in understanding who is right in this situation...
Hello. Help me please to understand how many attacks can do creatures with many limbs for standart action.
I сan't understand about Hydra(((
It is rule that if you want to do more then one attack in round it must be full-round action
But in description Hydra melee attack I see "5 heads" so RAW it is 5 heads-in-one attack /thats like in cartoons, but I have in my mind thats mechanically it no so/
So how attack Hydra (if you please compared Hydra attack/*action with girallon)???

Hello.
Need help with understanding rules by witch new spells...
Rules say 2 variance:
1) Page "Witch"
At each new witch level, she adds two new spells of any spell level or levels that she can cast (based on her new witch level) to her familiar.
2) Page "Witch’s Familiar"
Spells Gained at a New Level: A witch’s familiar learns a certain amount of lore and magic as the witch adventures. Whenever a witch gains a level, she may add two spells from the witch spell list to her familiar. The two free spells must be of spell levels she can cast.
I understand this wording in this way:
2-nd level - witch can add 2 spells of 1-st level.
3-rd level - witch can add 2 spells of 1-st level OR 2 spells of 2-nd level OR 1 spell of 1-st and 1 spell of 2-nd level.
4-th level - witch can add 2 spells of 1-st level OR 2 spells of 2-nd level OR 1 spell of 1-st and 1 spell of 2-nd level.
4-th level - witch can add 2 spells of 1-st level OR 2 spells of 2-nd level OR 2 spells of 3-rd level OR combination 1 spell of different levels?
Or it mean that:
3-rd level - witch can add 2 spells of 1-st level AND 2 spells of 2-nd level?
Hello.
Can you help me with understanding WHEN work this feat&
By text "When you witness a creature casting a spell, you can attempt a Spellcraft check to determine what sort of spellcaster the target is—specifically, what the target’s class is. Once you have identified the target’s class, you can add your Wisdom or Charisma modifier (whichever is higher) to Spellcraft checks to identify all spells the target casts from that class’s spell list. Additionally, after you have determined the target’s spellcasting class, you can attempt an Intimidate check as a free action to demoralize the target, gaining a bonus equal to your Wisdom or Charisma modifier (whichever is highest)."
So WHEN PC can attempt an Intimidate check as a free action?
1) on turn of enemy caster as soon as he can see that he/she casting?
or
2) on own turn (but what if PC see more then one caster that cast spells previous his turn)?
Thanks all for your answers!)))

OmniMage wrote: Okay. Lets take this magic item apart.
2780 gp - 10 gp for leather armor - 150 gp for masterwork armor - 1000 gp for +1 armor = 1620 gp. So what remains is 1620 gp.
The effect you are getting is the ability to cast cure light wounds once per day, as a swift action if an ally falls unconscious, or for the armor to automatically use it on you if you fall unconscious. It has only 1 charge per day.
I tried poking around with the price and effect of a metamagic quicken rod, but what I got was way way more expensive.
A magic item with the ability to cast a 1st level spell (like cure light wounds) once per day is worth 400 gp. 1 * 1 * 2000 gp / 5 * 1 (charges per day) = 400 gp. So the power in question appears to cost considerably more (its 1620 gp). That assumes it was just cure light wounds effect. So the person who priced the item deems the special effect to be worth about 4x more.
So I understand right, that by rules armor with cure light wound effect 1/per day must be divided by 4?
Maybe that price that Workman's armour have is higher cause this is triggering by special situation item?

Belafon wrote: Koraxs wrote: But what will be if I want to make "upgrade version" for my home game that will cure moderate wounds (or even critical wounds) - how much will have that armor and how to calculate it price? As has been mentioned a few times upthread, there isn't a clear formula to answer your question. It's more art than science when it comes to customized abilities.
Inner Sea Gods page 250 wrote: For higher-level characters, remember that these armors can be upgraded like any other magic item by adding "plus equivalent" or "gp value" abilities, then paying the difference between the original item's price and the price of the item when upgraded with the additional special abilities. "plus equivalent" abilities means upgrading +1 to +2, or adding light fortification (a +1 equivalent) or similar. "gp value" means adding glamered (2,700 gp) or other fixed-cost abilities.
"Able to cast cure light wounds as a swift action once per day (on yourself or an adjacent ally when unconscious)" doesn't have a plus equivalent or a fixed gp value in a table. Inner Sea Gods doesn't consider that to be an upgradable special ability. We can work backwards and find out that the price on this item is 1620 gp. But that doesn't really let us separate out the costs of each part of the ability, so there's no definitive answer to your question.
If you want an opinion on how you should price this item if you want to make upgraded versions available in your home game, here's how I would value it:
-Magic Item Caster level is equivalent to the highest Caster Level property on it. Milanite Armor's Caster Level of 3 is set by the enhancement bonus of +1. (Caster Level for enhancement bonuses is 3x the enhancement bonus.)
-Minimum Caster Level for cure moderate wounds is 3, so that would not change the armor's CL.
-Minimum Caster Level for cure serious wounds is 5, so that would change the armor's CL to 5.
-cure moderate wounds costs 6 times as much as cure... Thanks a lot)))
VoodistMonk wrote: Some magical properties are unique and have completely arbitrary costs associated with the effect. It may be impossible to reverse engineer the actual price.
But, to be fair, CLW is a 1st-level spell, and requires a CL 1...
CMW is a 2nd-level spell, and will require a CL 3...
Cure Moderate is roughly a 500% increase in price over CLW... a wand of CLW is 750gp, a wand of CMW is 4500gp... for reference.
You say about caster level of PC, but I've asked about CL of magic armor.
For workman's armor that cure light wound almost clear - its CL is 3, cause we take ench.bonus (1) multiplied by 3.
But what will be if I want to make "upgrade version" for my home game that will cure moderate wounds (or even critical wounds) - how much will have that armor and how to calculate it price?
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-armor/specific-magic-armor/workm an-s-armor/
Here is it.
Workman's armor
Hi all.
Need help in calculating price of Workmann armor...
1) Official version price is 2.780 gp.
1000 gp is for +1 bonus.
10 gp is for Leather armor.
Help understand how calculate other 1770 gp...
2) And once more question - how much will cost Workman armor if it will Cure Moderate Wounds and what CL it wiil have?
Hi all.
Have a problem with understanding next moment.
Somebody of undeads have next ability: Anyone targeting an ... undead with a thought detection, mind control, or telepathic effect makes direct contact with its tortured mind and takes 1d4 points of Wisdom damage.
What kinds of thought detection, mind control, or telepathic effect it can be?
I have misunderstanding in that cause undead are immune to mind-effectts...
Thanks for your answers.
Last question - does spell resistance work against Hexes?

avr wrote: 1) Ability checks and skill checks aren't save DCs. The +5 doesn't apply to save DCs. Ability checks and skill checks aren't attacks or damage either.
2) This fool's gold? No one needs to wield the coin or coins for them to take effect (I think you may not understand the meaning of the word 'wield'). It only matters whether an enchanted coin is in someone's possession when you cast another spell at them. How it got there doesn't matter, you can give them to one person then they can pass them on to another, it still works.
3) Obscuring mist is usually fixed to the map. It's not ever tied to the spellcaster. The second part of your question is harder.
What matters for concealment is the amount of mist between the attacker and defender. The mist works in both directions. But - the attacker needs to count the distance to all parts of the defender's square. If the defender is hiding in one of the back corners of their square inside the mist and attacker/defender are adjacent, then 5' of mist/concealment applies. If the attacker in this example is outside the mist (and remains outside it), then when the defender's turn comes around the former attacker doesn't benefit from concealment.
Is that clear? I'm not sure I explained it well.
So...
1) Almost clear.
2) Understand about wielder, but have last question: Hexes (all or maybe part of them) is harmless or not?
3) So, if one ranger 1-st lvl is in Obscuring mist and another behind zone of Obskuring mist then first have concealment from shot of second, but second haven't concealment from shots of first ranger?
And does effects of concealment stack?
Maybe from Blur and obscuring mist? Or from the Obscuring mist and natural concealment?

Hi guys.
Can you help me please with understanding rules and specific of next spells...&
1) Visualization of the Body/Mind
As I read on forums this spells are "Meditative spells fall into an unusual category and share the “meditative” descriptor. Meditative spells are not cast like other spells—they are cast during the period of the day when a spellcaster prepares her spells. A meditative spell must already be prepared at the time when you start your 1-hour spell preparation ritual, and at the end of that time, the meditative spell of your choosing is cast, leaving you with that one spell slot used for the remainder of the day. You can have only one meditative spell in effect on you at any one time. All meditative spells have a range of personal and a target of you, and they can’t be brewed into potions or part of similar one-use items like elixirs. A meditative spell can be placed on a scroll or in a wand, but the act of casting the spell must always be incorporated into the user’s spell-preparation time; it also takes 1 hour for a character who succeeds at an appropriate Use Magic Device check to operate such an item" - is ot true?
When this spells give +5 bonus on ability checks and skill checks associated with that ability score this bonus apply to spells DC based on one of the Mental abilities or give bonus to ranged/melee attacksdamage when take Visualization of the Body?
2) Fool's gold.
Will it be working chained (if first wielder of tat coins give them anybody else)?
In any case, "if wielder of that coin fails a saving throw against a magic ability of yours that is not harmless and has a duration, the duration is doubled for that creature" - in such situation any Hexes is harmless? I think yes, because "magical tricks, called hexes, which grant her powers or weaken foes."
3) Obscuring Mist
This spell surounded wielder and move with him or stacionary=stay at starting point and covered area 20-ft. radius, 20-ft. height?
A creature 5 feet away has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker cannot use sight to locate the target) - it is work for that who is outside from center of the mist or for that who is inside of the mist? Or for the both of them?
Thanks)
But does somebody know answer or have thoughts about my question (price in RP and type of race trait that need to take ability "pixie dust" for arrows)?
Nai)
For now it isn't trouble with number of AoO.
I've search opinions how community understand that moments what I've describe and how used that moments in own game.
Thanks a lot for detailed answer MrCharisma and thanks all for their opinions!)))

MrCharisma wrote: ATTACKS OF OPPORTUNITY
Nowhere on that page toes the phrase "free action" appear. It says "free attack", but not "free action".
The terminology used ... could be better, but essentially it isn't a "Free Action" because it isn't called one and it doesn't act like one. It' "free" in that it doesn't take a Move/Standard/Full-Round/Swift/Immediate Action, but it also isn't a "Free Action" exactly either. Free Actions follow their own rules, and AoOs don't follow those rules.
This is one of those cases where an AoO is it's own kind of action simply because it doesn't fit within the framework of any other kinds of action in the game. I hesitate to call it "not an action" because ... well because attacking someone is definitely some kind of action, so that'd be stupid.
I understand why you're reading it differently, and it's not even an unreasonable way to read it, but they are different.
HOWEVER
As I said earlier, I don't think I've ever had more than 3 AoOs in a round, and I'm playing 2 characters (level 12 and level 8) who are the only melee character in their parties. That's months, or maybe years of gameplay, and I can count on 1 hand the number of times I've made 3 AoOs in a round.
So if you want to limit on the number of AoOs in a round to 3 then go nuts. I doubt it'll ever matter.
What I WOULDN'T do is limit it based on the flavour of their character. Just because one is a Ninja and one is a Knight doesn't mean the Ninja is going to be better at taking advantage of AoOs. The Rogue spent time learning poisons while the Paladin was learning to fight. The Ninja spent time learning minor magics while the Fighter was learning to hit things harder. If anything it's more likely the other way.
See that table in theme Combat, that I use as pruf.
Option-AoO,
Type - basic,
Action - FREE ACTION!!!
It's written clearly on d20.
Unfortunately it's one of bad thing by PF - rules of one mechanic may be in different place (and it's party time if they are in one article).
Hello.
Need advice.
One of players want to play pixie. I read different posts about disbalance of that race and so on, but still have questions to understand mechanic of creating new race.
Question - what race trait or qualities I must take and how many RP it will be cost if I want to have "magic dust" ability like pixie in Bestiary (dust that pixie use on their arrows and have 3 effects)?

Ok, I understood all opinions about AoO and Combat Reflexes...
But what about why AoO must not reduce quantity of free action?
1) Each round’s activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character’s turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round’s worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.) - so I can make AoO even not on my turn, but on turn of enemy that pass through a square threatened by me.
2) "There are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM."
I think that opinion of Design Team from Thursday (10/3/2013) "limit you to performing 5 free actions per round if each is a different free action, or perhaps 3 free actions per round if two or more are the same free action." is almost reasonable.
3) My PC have an enconter with goblins.
1 free action on PC turn - he make AoO by goblin that was tripped and try to stand up in 5-ft. from my PC.
Another goblins scared and try to run away from my PC on their turn, but single way pass through a square threatened by me.
1-st goblin run = AoO (2-nd free action of same type).
2-nd goblin run = AoO (3-d free action of same type).
3-rd and 4-th goblin don't take AoO cause my limit of free actions is ended.
Answer by question why AoO = free action is here...
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Free-Actions
/Table: Combat Options Overview
Source PZO9468/
About "cosher/non cosher" by quantity of free actions per round...
My opinion next:
1) knight/paladin/warrior in full plate Can't make more then 3 AoO per round (even if he has Combat Reflexes feat).
Just because he is an Iron Man in Mark I - he is armoured, can hit painful but can't do it fast.
2) ninja/swashbuckler/another character based on Dex Can make more then 3 AoO per round (if he has Combat Reflexes feat and wear light/medium armour).
Just because he is like Winter Soldier - fast and haven't heavy armour that slow his action.
Table: Combat Options Overview from Gamemastering/Combat say that AoO is free action.
Is it false?

Hi all.
Need an advice for limitation of free actions by round...
By rules "Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM."
Next answer from designer: Although there are no specific rules about how many free actions you may take in a round, it is reasonable for a GM to limit you to performing 5 free actions per round if each is a different free action, or perhaps 3 free actions per round if two or more are the same free action.
Part of this is for the sake of game balance (as some abilities used together may allow you to perform an unlimited number of useful free actions on your turn).
Part is for realism (as just because you can do something as a free action doesn't really mean you could realistically perform that action 5 or more times in 6 seconds).
Part is to speed up gameplay (as one character taking a dozen actions on his turn slows down the game compared to a character who only takes a standard action and move action on her turn).
Again, these are guidelines, and the GM can allow more or fewer free actions as appropriate to the circumstances.
Example: In one round you could speak, cease concentrating on a spell, dismount (with a DC 20 Ride check), drop a weapon or shield, and drop prone, as each is a different free action.
Example: In one round you could reload a pistol three times (using alchemical cartridges and Rapid Reload [pistol]), or speak and reload a pistol twice, as you are repeating the same free action multiple times.
—Pathfinder Design Team, Thursday (10/3/2013)
So my questions:
1)how many free actions you allow in one round (in 6 sec)?
2)do you deduct AOO from totally quantity of free actions per round?
Rays of good for all)))
Thanks!
VoodistMonk wrote: You don't get the Fighter's bonus feats for the Magus Fighter Training class feature. You simply can count your Magus levels as Fighter levels for the purpose of qualifying for feats. That is it. So I take Kensai and he is take 7 lvl.
From this lvl he count as Fighter 4.
What he have for this? Only title of Fighter 4 and can take combat feats that have in prerequisite Fighter level ...?

Hi all.
Can you help me please understood next moments of this archetype:
1) How much feats from Fighter Training (EX) will have Kensai on 11 lvl?
I've think like that...
1 lvl Normal Feat, Bonus Feat: Exotic weapon proficiency, Bonus Feat: Weapon Focus/
3 lvl Normal Feat
5 lvl Normal Feat, Bonus feat.
7 lvl Normal Feat, Fighter Training (Kensai level - 3 = Fighter level 4 so can take 2 combat feats for 2-nd and 4-th Fighter level) MUST take feat ONLY for chosen weapon.
After 7 lvl (on 9. 11. 13. 15. 17 and 19 lvl) Kensai can take bonus feat ONLY for chosen weapon as Fighter 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 lvl.
9 lvl Normal Feat
10 lvl Fighter Training (Magus level DIVIDE BY 2 = Fighter level 5 Sooo... and here I've break my brain).
11 lvl Normal Feat, Bonus feat.
2) How work Canny Defense (EX)?
On each level Kensai can take +1 dodge bonus to AC (but no more than his Intelligence bonus - Int 10 (+0), Int 12 (+1), Int 14 (+2) and so on) when wielding a melee weapon, wearing light or no armor and not using a shield???

OmniMage wrote: Are you sure you want a staff instead of a wand? The staff is going to cost you over 8 times what the wand will cost.
Also note that you are using the prices to determine the craft cost of the staff, not the base price. The base price, and market price, will be twice the craft cost. I don't know why the developers used the craft numbers instead. I think it'll confuse some people.
Koraxs wrote: avr wrote: A staff may use more than one charge to cast a spell. If your 10-charge containing staff takes 2 of those charges to cast cure light wounds then it costs 3200 / 2 = 1600 gp. And can you tell me please, what is^
A staff comes with 10 charges. Normally each spell on the staff consumes 1 charge. However, some spells use multiple charges to reduce the price. So if you made cure light wounds use 2 charges, that spell will cost half as much (3200 gp / 2 = 1600 gp).
Thanks for your answers, OmniMage)
I've read about wands and there is no problem, but for myself want to understand how calculate staff...
avr wrote: That's if your staff has other spells it can cast. If it has only one spell in it those costs don't apply.
Say you've got a staff which can cast silence (cleric 2), cure light wounds (cleric 1) and create water (cleric 0). The caster level is the minimum of 8. This is just as an example, I'm not suggesting you create this staff exactly. The cost for this staff is:
400 * 8 (caster level) * 2 (spell level) = 6400 for silence,
300 * 8 * 1 = 2400 for cure light wounds
200 * 8 * 0.5 = 800 for create water
Or a total of 6400 + 2400 + 800 = 9600 gp for the whole staff.
Thanks for your answers, AVR)
avr wrote: A staff may use more than one charge to cast a spell. If your 10-charge containing staff takes 2 of those charges to cast cure light wounds then it costs 3200 / 2 = 1600 gp. And can you tell me please, what is^
plus 75% of the value of the next most costly ability (300 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster), plus 1/2 the value of any other abilities (200 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster)?
Sandslice wrote: 3200 gold:
Magic item creation rules, staff wrote: The materials cost is subsumed in the cost of creation: 400 gp × the level of the highest-level spell × the level of the caster, plus 75% of the value of the next most costly ability (300 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster), plus 1/2 the value of any other abilities (200 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster). Staves are always fully charged (10 charges) when created. The caster level of a staff cannot be lower than 8th, so it works out to 400 x 8 x 1 = 3200. If you want the spell to cost more charges, then you divide 3200 by the number of charges you need to use.
I've a little misunderstood with "If you want the spell to cost more charges, then you divide 3200 by the number of charges you need to use"...
400 x 8 x 1 = 3200
That's for staff with 1 spell or 1 charge?
New-create staff almost have 10 charges...
Hello.
Need help in calculate price of magic staff for home game.
It's a staff with 10 charge and only one spell in it (Cure light wounds).
How much it can be?
Thanks for full answer!)
Cayden Cailean's blessing in your tankard))

Hi all.
Help me please to understand how to use variant channeling...
I read it so:
1) Variant channeling describe in Cleric class, so I understood that any cleric can change use one alter variant of channeling based on one aspect of her deity’s portfolio but with only half if its might.
In other words each cleric have variant channeling ability, yes???
2) But it is a feat Channeling Variance, that say...
"If you already have a variant channeling ability, this feat instead allows you to channel energy without the modifications of your chosen variant channeling ability (including reductions to the damage dealt or healing performed by your channeled energy) three times per day."
So cleric with this feat can channeling energy 3 times per day without "penalty" (in all might available to him D6 by his level) and without special effects by alter variance based on one aspect of her deity’s portfolio?
Other uses channel energy will be used with that special effects and "penalty" (halved)???
3) Feat Channeling Variance can be taken 2 times.
How it will work when it takes second time?
Cleric will have possibility to decide how he will channel energy /with or without special effects and "penalty" (halved)/, each time when he channeling?
4) Feat Extra Variance have prerequisites Channeling Variance or variant channeling ability.
So any cleric can take this feat without Channeling Variance, cause any cleric have variant channeling ability (my question #1)?
So if PC (guide/ranger) attack with flaming composite bow +1 and ranger focus/favorite enemy his damage will be next:
Damage roll+1(enchantment weapon)+Strength modificator (for composite)+bonus from ranger focus/favorite enemy+1d6 Extra damage (for flaming weapon)?
Hello.
Need advice.
Rangers have EX, that give them chance to increase damage.
Will this EX work for the special damage from flaming weapon (or other weapon like it)?
Example:
Guide mark by his ranger focus skeleton (or Ranger with favorite enemy undead attack this skeleton) and shoot in it Multishot from the Flaming bow.
Bonuses from ranger focus/favorite enemy undead (+2 bonus on damage rolls against the target) will work on both physical and extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit or only +2 to the physical damage?
In rules said that additional dice of damage are not multiplied when the attacker scores a critical hit, but I haven't see that bonuses from EX don't work with enhancement weapon...

Mark Hoover 330 wrote: Consult your GM, they are the final word on all this. I haven't had folks with Animal Companions wanting this kind of communication, but I have had folks with Familiars at low levels want what the OP is saying.
In the case of a Familiar, usually we're starting at approximately Int 6 instead of Int 3. Also the Familiar has an empathic bond so they and the PC are usually more in synch.
All of that being said, I've allowed PC and Familiar to develop a kind of call and response language. The PC sends the Familiar to scout a chamber ahead. When it returns, the conversation might look like:
PC: so, my owl friend, did you see anything dangerous?
Owl Familiar: nods head for yes
PC: was it some kind of trap?
Owl: shakes head for no
PC: so a creature of some kind... how many?
Owl: taps talon on PC's hand three times
PC: 3 of them eh? Well, did they have 2 legs, like my companions and I?
… and so on. In other words, a Familiar with a base Int of 6 can count a significant amount, answer yes or no questions, identify colors or even scratch out very crude shapes in dirt or soot. Again, your own experience with your GM may vary based on this being an Animal Companion of Int 3 instead.
Thanks
Belafon wrote: Koraxs wrote: Thanks to all who answer.
But!
I'm still have misunderstanding and burn my chair for next moment...
- Why if my PC find potion of cure light wounds after combat and drink it in that moment must calculate his wealth by level lesser by 25 gp???
He find disposable item and heal his wounds. WHY he must be more poor in that case???
He's poorer because he used the item.
Wealth by level is not something you calculate multiple times. It is really only a guideline for how your money should be allocated when starting a character above level 1.
As soon as you start adventuring your wealth will depart (higher or lower) from that number. Thanks

Name Violation wrote: Koraxs wrote: Mysterious Stranger wrote: The ranger learning Catfolk is not going to do anything. Catfolk is the racial language of the humanoid race of the same name, not the language of cats. Normal cats don’t speak this anymore than they speak any other language. Considering that catfolk can be spoken by other humanoid it is highly unlikely that a big cat actually has the physical capability to learn this language.
The cat can learn to understand most languages. Two way communications with the cat is going to be a lot harder to achieve. The only way I can see that is going to be able to be done would be to create a new language for the cat to speak. That would require that both the cat to actually learn two languages. One language the ranger can speak so it can understand the ranger. The second language would be the new language the cat can speak. The first language could be something the ranger already knows so he would only need to learn the new language. The cat on the other hand needs to know both.
So it is next picture with speaking animals...
Boost Int by 3 not cool, cause animal smart enough to understand a language, but cannot speak humanoid languages.
Ranger know Common language and his cat after take Int=3 will Understand Common.
They both drop 1 point in Linguistic and learn "special language" (that language based on cats sounds and articulate). After that ranger can understand what mean the sounds, that "talk" his can.
After all that "street magic" ranger-cat talking have next form...
Ranger: Cat, go there and then tell me what you see...
Cat: Mrrr-frrrr. Meaow! MTHFK!!!
Ranger: Oh, I see...My cat see two ogres and 3 orks with bows. I don't want go there...
It doesn't get common for free. It needs a rank in linguistics to understand that.
No "special language" isn't a thing unless your GM is a push over.
Use speak with animals spell, or the magic item.
A hunter can get skirmisher tricks on their pet and give it cunning... Aha.
So for that form which I'm describe in last post we have 2 variance:
1) Variant for GM.
Ranger drop 1 point in Linguistic and learn "special language" (that language based on cats sounds and articulate) and his companion must drop 2 point in Linguistic (1 for understanding Commion, 1 for learn "special language").
2) Legal variant:
Circlet of Speaking or Collar of speaking that wear animal companion.
In which of that variance ranger and his cat can "speak" as I've wrote in last post???
Thanks to all who answer.
But!
I'm still have misunderstanding and burn my chair for next moment...
- Why if my PC find potion of cure light wounds after combat and drink it in that moment must calculate his wealth by level lesser by 25 gp???
He find disposable item and heal his wounds. WHY he must be more poor in that case???
/Sorry for bad English))) I'm from foreign country../
Guys, help, please, with understanding Wealth by level rules.
Treasure that consumed in the course of an adventure (disposable items) will be taken into account when calculate wealth by level?
Example:
PC level-up to 9 level.
He spend no more than 25% of their wealth on weapons, 25% on armor and protective devices, 25% on other magic items, 15% on disposable items like potions, scrolls, and wands, and 10% on ordinary gear and coins.
He buy disposable items for 6900 gp (15 %).
Then PC will use this disposable items (heal by the potion of Cure moderate or teleport by the scroll of teleport. etc.). He can now have (found or buy) new potions/scrolls/etc. for the amount they cost or he must wait for next level-up because he is spender and don't tremble by each potion/scroll?
I think that logical system: use disposable item = now you can buy or find new on that cost (have free "money" in your wealth by level).
But I can't find any confirm or denied that moment...
|
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
Claxon wrote: Just buy a Circlet of Speaking for your animal friend. Yep, I've see this wondrous item.
But it was interesting how to talk with Intelligence animal without spell/Circlet of Speaking
|