
![]() |

Hi
I can see earlier topics on this discussion but I'm still struggling to understand the wording used and would appreciate confirmation from rules team or a developer on the intended use of this ability please.
Fire at Will (Gunnery Phase, Push) You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty.
I'm reading this as the gunner can attack an enemy with two weapons attached to the ship regardless of their arc. So I could attack a ship that is in the forward arc with weapons that are not in that arc (hence the regardless of arc text). However, elsewhere on this forum it's stated that it doesn't work that way, and it's would have to be two attacks into the arc those guns are positioned (which, to me, is not regardless of arc as you have to honour the arc placement).
The penalty is the same as a Full Attack so I can see how it might be thought to be that way, and most examples I see used are saying you can attack with a turret weapon and a weapon in the arc facing the enemy starship - but turrets already allow you to act regardless of arc so it's not really saying how this is regardless of arc.
I can also see this as escalation of difficulty for attacking into an arc - a normal attack from an arc to an enemy ship facing that arc is made at +0, a broadside attack has to be into the same arc but fires all weapons in that arc at -2, while Fire at Will allows 2 attacks regardless of arc at a -4.
Any official support on this would be appreciated.