KingofB's page

Organized Play Member. 14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


Order of the Penitent gives cavaliers the sense motive skill as a class skill. But Sense Motive is already a class skill for cavaliers and samurai. No archetype loses sense motive as a class skill. It seems entirely pointless, and it is the only Order that only gives one class skill/has overlap with the existing class.

Is this some sort of error?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First off, this is a thread asking about any traits, classes, feats, races, items, etc that can improve aid another besides the following;

Halfling Opportunist
Pathfinder Chronicler
Helpful (Halfling)
Swift Aid
Bodyguard
Order of the Dragon
Benevolent Armor/Weapon
Arcane Strike Gloves

Second, how many of the above STACK?

Benevolent and Arcane Strike Gloves specifically state they add to Aid Another actions, because they are designed to augment.

But Pathfinder Chronicler, Helpful (Halfling) and Order of the Dragon don't say they increase your Aid Another bonus, they SET it. OotD sets it at +3, which improves with levels, Helpful sets it at +4, as does Pathfinder Chronicler.

In addition, do any of these besides Benevolent/Arcane Strike do anything to help Swift Aid? Swift Aid says it gives a +1 bonus INSTEAD OF +2, but what if you no longer give a +2 bonus?


"The target is surrounded by a glowing green aura of ill fate. Each time the spell’s subject makes an attack or casts a spell, it must succeed at a Will saving throw with a DC = 10 + 1/2 caster level + Charisma (in the case of oracles) or Wisdom (in the case of clerics). If it fails the saving throw, it deals half damage with the attack or spell. You can dismiss this spell as an immediate action when the target confirms a critical hit; doing so negates the critical hit. The attack that you negated still hits, but only deals half damage."

My question; since the initial power, once it has been used, does not require an action and functions when someone else chooses to attack, and the second part of the power functions only by spending an immediate action when someone NEGATES a crit (two separate parts of the attack rolls), could you half someone's damage by having them fail, have them critically confirm against you, and then negate the crit too, effectively quartering their damage?


blackbloodtroll wrote:

No, am very sorry you were mislead.

Perception is what you use when examining anything. You accompany appraise to know it's value, and knowledge(history) to know it's history.

But that in itself doesn't make sense.

Knowledge History would be knowing what happened in Gettysburg.

Perception would be me noticing the tag that said it was the coat of a man, who, using Knowledge History, I knew to be a famous officer.

How can I POSSIBLY make an accurate appraise roll if I don't know that? If I appraise it, and find out it's worth a small fortune, but failed the perception check to see the insignia, am I supposed to say, "It's worth 560gp, instead of the normal 180gp one of these would normally be worth. I don't know why."


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hey, chatting with my GM.

We found a set of masterwork silver and bejeweled tools. It was a DC 25 Perception Check to notice the insignia of a local trader on them.

He did not tell us there was an insignia, or to make a perception check, so I made an appraise check. (28) So, when he later revealed there was an insignia of a famous craftsman on it that I didn't know about, I was a little ticked off. He said that appraise only says it determines the value. Every one of the players agreed it had always been used to determine things like guild insignias, craftsmen logos, the crests of houses on items, etc, because such things are intrinsic to the value of the item.

But, when we checked, we saw it was true. A lot of what appraise used to do was gutted from Pathfinder.

So, need a ruling. Can Appraise be used to find and identify the markings of certain people? I say so. Appraising examines an object in FAR more detail than any perception check ever would.


New question, relating to this. Does Wild Rager only apply when you are raging, or ANY time you reduce something to 0? I can read it either way, but I lean towards it functioning almost like a rage power..


Cheapy wrote:
The ability is when she reduces a creature to 0 or fewer HP, not when she herself is at 0 or fewer HP.

*Facepalm*

Fail of the day.


Uncontrolled Rage (Ex): A wild rager's rage functions as normal, except that when she reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points, she must attempt a Will save (DC 10 + the barbarian's level + the barbarian's Charisma modifier) or become confused. For the remainder of her current turn, she attacks the nearest creature other than herself. On the following round, refer to the confusion spell to determine her actions. At the end of this round, and each round thereafter, she can attempt a new saving throw to end the confusion effect. The rounds during which she is confused do not count against the rounds she has spent raging that day, but she cannot end her rage voluntarily, nor can she use rage powers while confused.

That is the description of the Uncontrolled Rage of the Wild Rager. It doesn't specify, but I am assuming that means that a Wild Rager is NOT knocked unconscious or even staggered when it goes below 0, but instead, does that. Correct?


My example of an evil character who is a life oracle is an anatomist. He goes around killing things like goblins, animals, bandits etc, so he can take their bodies and examine their organs. He will also take them alive, and literally vivisect them. (He is Vivisectionist Alchemist Godling with the Divine Portfolio trait, with Life as his Portfolio.) He actually has a genuine interest in life, but it's closer to a personification of evolution or predation: He is a lawful evil person who believes that the world should favor the strongest. His method of determining who is the strongest? Evolution. Who has the best traits? Keep them alive. They should reproduce. They should dominate. All other life should live in fear of the alpha predators.


The specific example was Craft Alchemy. He said I need to make a Knowledge (Nature) roll to know how to take poison from a spider. The only problem with that is, that would mean Craft Alchemy or even Craft Poisonmaking can only be used if you have the relevant Knowledge skill. Meaning Alchemists could not take poison from any creature they wanted. Hypothetically, only wizards and bards would.

The same would apply to Skinning. Someone who takes the hides of creatures would need four skills to be an effective skinner of all creatures, instead of relying on their one craft skill.


Having another debate about rules. I say that craft checks, since they are int based, contain all related knowledge rolls about their craft. A carpenter could make a craft (Carpentry) roll instead of a knowledge (nature) roll to tell which trees make good, sturdy furniture or housing. An alchemist can make a Craft (Alchemy) roll to determine if they know how to extract poison or other alchemical ingredients from a creature without needing the creature's knowledge roll (Nature, Dungeoneering, Arcana, etc). Need a weigh in. Do Craft skills give you knoweldge in your field, or are you just a guy with tools who knows nothing of the actual practice?

The example I use is a Winemaker, (Craft Winemaking) would know how to grow the best grapes to make their wine. They don't need to have Knowledge Nature to identify the best types of grapes or the best fermentors, they would know as part of the craft.


Getting into a rules debate with someone. He says that an evil life oracle cannot channel positive energy because it says "channels like a cleric" and clerics can only channel positive energy if they are good or neutral. However, as I said, it specifically says you Channel Positive Energy, "like a cleric," meaning you channel positive energy, using the channel positive energy ability. Can someone clear this up?


Having a debate with some people about alchemist discoveries, and I was hoping for some feedback.

The Alchemist Tentacle discovery says it 'does not give the alchemist extra attacks.' If you wanted to use it, you have to supplement a normal attack for it.

I read it as being like a normal natural attack in combination with manufactured attacks: To use it, you have to sacrifice a normal melee attack, unless it specifies otherwise. Like a sorcerer's claws. A sorcerer doesn't gain two claw attacks in addition to their normal attack, they have to use a full round action of natural attacks to use all their natural weapons.

However, here is the question: The tentacle is a natural attack. If an alchemist uses a feral mutagen to have three natural attacks, and makes a full round of natural attacks, can the tentacle be used then in addition to their normal natural attacks?

Normally, a creature can use as many natural attacks as it has available for a round. That is what makes Eidolon's so powerful. Stick 7 natural attacks on there, and let it rip.

I think the reason it says it doesn't give extra attacks is because the idea I see most often used against my claim, that most people will try to use a hand or tentacle to wield a weapon, and having an extra arm does not give you extra attacks with weapons. Like most other natural attacks, an orc's bite being a noted exception, if you are using a manufactured weapon, you have to swap them out. So I know and understand the tentacle can't be used to wield an extra weapon, or be used in addition to weapons without burning up an attack.

TL DR; Alchemist Tentacle discovery: If using a full round action of NATURAL ATTACKS ONLY, can it be used like a regular natural attack?


*Moving this to Rules discussion. Sorry. I'm new here.*

Having a debate with some people about alchemist discoveries, and I was hoping for some feedback.

The Alchemist Tentacle discovery says it 'does not give the alchemist extra attacks.' If you wanted to use it, you have to supplement a normal attack for it.

I read it as being like a normal natural attack in combination with manufactured attacks: To use it, you have to sacrifice a normal melee attack, unless it specifies otherwise. Like a sorcerer's claws. A sorcerer doesn't gain two claw attacks in addition to their normal attack, they have to use a full round action of natural attacks to use all their natural weapons.

However, here is the question: The tentacle is a natural attack. If an alchemist uses a feral mutagen to have three natural attacks, and makes a full round of natural attacks, can the tentacle be used then in addition to their normal natural attacks?

Normally, a creature can use as many natural attacks as it has available for a round. That is what makes Eidolon's so powerful. Stick 7 natural attacks on there, and let it rip.

I think the reason it says it doesn't give extra attacks is because the idea I see most often used against my claim, that most people will try to use a hand or tentacle to wield a weapon, and having an extra arm does not give you extra attacks with weapons. Like most other natural attacks, an orc's bite being a noted exception, if you are using a manufactured weapon, you have to swap them out. So I know and understand the tentacle can't be used to wield an extra weapon, or be used in addition to weapons without burning up an attack.

TL DR; Alchemist Tentacle discovery: If using a full round action of NATURAL ATTACKS ONLY, can it be used like a regular natural attack?