Kiki_Pingu's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


I have a question about Savage technologist rage:

"Rage (Ex)
A savage technologist can enter rage as a barbarian, except she gains a morale bonus to Strength and Dexterity instead of Strength and Constitution , and she does not take a penalty to Armor Class. She retains the bonus on Will saving throws. When a barbarian ability would increase the savage technologist’s Strength while raging, it increases her Dexterity instead .

This ability alters rage."

Second bolded part doesn't make sense to me, it even contradicts (changes) first part of the ability which states that the character gets a bonus to strength and dexterity while raging.
I have looked through all the rage powers and found none that increase strength.
Even strength surge doesn't exactly increase strength:

"Benefit: The barbarian adds her barbarian level on one Strength check or combat maneuver check, or to her Combat Maneuver Defense when an opponent attempts a maneuver against her. This power is used as an immediate action."

That only leaves rage, greater rage and mighty rage as barbarian abilities which increase strength while raging.
Does that mean that the barbarian has a morale bonus of +4 to strength +6 to dexterity and +6 to constitution when he reaches greater rage (or just +4 to strength and +6 to dexterity) ?

It seems to me that Savage technologist rage should read: "When a barbarian ability would increase the savage technologist’s Constitution while raging, it increases her Dexterity instead", hence the title of the thread.

I have gone through some of the older threads but there were no concrete answers. Does anyone know how this was handled in PFS?

Thanks everyone for answering in my previous thread, I was too focused on work so I forgot to respond, it helped a lot! I do not want to bump the older thread so I wrote this here.

I was under the impression that magic item creator can set the cl to whatever he wants, with minimum caster level being the one needed to cast spells in the prerequisite of the magic item.
I remember reading older forum threads where the consensus were that you can set the caster level yourself, but in some newer threads it doesn't seem to be the case.

Specific example:

A wizard wants to craft a belt of physical perfection +2.
He only knows bull's strength spell from the spells listed in construction requirements.
Normal DC to craft would be: 5 + 16 (listed item cl) + 10 (5 for each missing spell in the requirement) = 31

Can he lower the item cl to 3 since all required spells are 2nd level (so it needs minimal caster level of 3) ?
The DC would then be: 5 + 3 + 10 = 18

Relevant faq entry:

"Does creating a magic item require the creator to be of the same or higher caster level of the item itself? This doesn’t seem to square with the CLs listed for specific magic items; for instance, a belt of giant strength +2 has CL 8th, but the only spell required in its creation, bull’s strength, has a minimum caster level of 3.

Am I missing anything here?

Though the listed Caster Level for a pearl of power is 17th, that caster level is not part of the Requirements listing for that item. Therefore, the only caster level requirement for a pearl of power is the character has to be able to cast spells of the desired level. However, it makes sense that the minimum caster level of the pearl is the minimum caster level necessary to cast spells of that level–it would be strange for a 2nd-level pearl to be CL 1st. For example, a 3rd-level wizard with Craft Wondrous Item can create a 1st-level pearl, with a minimum caster level of 1. He can set the caster level to whatever he wants (assuming he can meet the crafting DC), though the pearl’s caster level has no effect on its powers (other than its ability to resist dispel magic). If he wants to make a 2nd-level pearl, the caster level has to be at least 3, as wizards can’t cast 2nd-level spells until they reach character level 3. He can even try to make a 3rd-level pearl, though the minimum caster level is 5, and he adds +5 to the DC because he doesn’t meet the “able to cast 3rd-level spells” requirement."

Hi, I would appreciate some rules clarifications concerning alchemist admixtures and gunslinger grit.

1) Can you use admixtures with discoveries that modify bombs (for example shock bomb with targeted bomb admixture) ?

I have seen old threads where people discussed interaction of targeted bomb admixture and immolation bomb, so it implies that it works, but in that case this line of text of admixture confuses me: "This effect on your magical reserve has no effect on any discoveries that you use to modify your bombs"

2) What is the maximum number of grit per day for Mysterious Stranger gunslinger archetype? He gains his charisma mod amount of grit, but it doesn't say that his maximum grit per day depends on charisma modifier. If maximum grit is still equal to wisdom modifier, this would make the archetype significantly weaker.

"Instead of using her Wisdom to determine the number of grit points she gains at the start of each day, she uses Charisma. This ability works in all other ways like the Gunslinger’s grit class feature."

Same question could be asked about Inspired Blade Swashbuckler, it has similar text. However, since his daily allowance of panache is sum of charisma and int modifiers it wouldn't make sense that maximum panache is by default lower than starting (if it only depends on charisma)

"Each day, an inspired blade gains a number of panache points equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) plus her Intelligence modifier (minimum 1), instead of just her Charisma modifier."

3) How many combined girt/panache Inspired blade 1 / Mysterious Stranger 1 with 14 int and 16 cha has each day? 8 or 5 ?
Is it subject to the general rule that you cannot add twice the same ability bonus on something? On the other hand, in the sourcebook I have it states that you can add twice the charisma bonus if you combine luck and panache.

Thanks in advance !

1 person marked this as a favorite.
AwesomenessDog wrote:

but an Exploiter 9/Sorcerer 1 does not for example get the 9th level bloodline ability.

I have never seen it being ruled that way. Reading other threads it seems that most people assume that you get higher level bloodline abilities.

Thanks everyone for replies !

I didn't think about specific trumps general thing for sunlight bomb (silly of me), thanks for pointing it out. Sometimes I forget that pathfinder is built as exception based ruleset.

It seems there is no consensus about the rime spell interaction.
The explanation provided by Mysterious Stranger seems most reasonable and fair to me, but I can see other interpretations as equally valid.

Regarding the exploiter wizard and extra exploit feat, I vaguely remember a faq stating that class abilities that are functionally the same count as having the same "name" or something like that.

EDIT: found it

This should be a good case for the extra exploit on exploiter wizard, it even has an example with slower progression.

Thanks for the reply!

AwesomenessDog wrote:
2) Unless the discovery says it does something, it doesn't do something. This includes changing or removing damage from the normal use.

So the bombs do their damage, same as smoke and the rest in the faq.

AwesomenessDog wrote:
Perhaps you have mixed up the 2e and 1e sources or are in the wrong forum, but you seem to have been using other 1e rules.

My mistake, I meant the sunlight bomb discovery, which I quoted.

Question still stands. The way I see it, the sunlight bomb does not stagger undead directly hit because it works like a blinding bomb. Those in splash area may get staggered because it is a reflex save? In any case seems unclear and counterintuitive.

AwesomenessDog wrote:
5) You do not gain any bloodline feats unless you have an actual sorcerer level high enough to have been granted them. The feats listed on each bloodline are simply a selection you can choose from when the class itself grants you one.

So no to feats then, that is what I thought.

AwesomenessDog wrote:
Again, technically by RAW the crossblooded bloodline is a different ability and would disqualify the exploit, but it can be looked at as a build-your-own-bloodline. In such a case, only any abilities you have already selected will benefit from the increase in bloodline. (You do not gain later abilities from having an effective bloodline level higher than your sorcerer bloodline, you only gain them from actually being granted them by the sorcerer class or directly...

I honestly do not understand what you mean. Do you mean that with bloodline development you gain only the level 1 ability of the sorcerer bloodline?

"If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline."
This should mean that you gain your whole bloodline with sorcerer 1 / arcanist X. I just asked if it works with crossblooded bloodline.

AwesomenessDog wrote:
6) Being able to dominate a construct is not quite nothing, they can still be compelled to fall on the floor laughing, they can still be suggested to aid you or even think of you as an ally for whatever they might be guarding. The Arcane arcana is one of the most powerful arcana's there is for anyone wanting actually wanting to use metamagic spells as the entire name of the game is creating saves and pumping their DC's.

Sure, domination is nice and all, but the list of spells that work is sparse that was all I was saying. I get that it works that way RAW, I was just kinda disappointed and grasping at straws.

I know that arcane bloodline arcana is nice, I was asking about impossible.

Your last comment about me not getting wording systems is a little bit hurtful. There are multiple posts with the same questions without definitive answers, which means that it is probably not the best written. Also playing sorcerer is not even in the same universe as playing a wizard with full bloodline, and you probably know why. I am not a new player, just haven't actively used a forum.


I have tried searching for answers to following questions but haven't found anything definitive. There are arguments for either side, but most of the threads are old, so I wondered if there is a consensus or an official answer that I couldn't find.

1) Can you prepare a Rime spell fireball, and then at the moment of casting use versatile evocation to change its descriptor to cold ?
If not it should at least work with preferred spell or with a rod of rime spell, right ?

2) Do Tanglefoot bombs and blinding bombs do damage ? The faq about bomb damage doesn't mention these discoveries.

3) In the entry for blinding bombs it reads "The alchemist can throw bombs that explode with a searing radiance equivalent to that of sunlight and that act as blinding bombs. Undead, fungi, molds, oozes, slimes, and creatures to which sunlight is harmful or unnatural take +2 damage per die from the bomb. Undead that are harmed by sunlight and that fail their saves against the bomb are staggered for 1 round."
Which save is that? If it is the same as a blinding bomb it shouldn't work on undead because they are immune to fort save effects, right?

4) Can exploiter wizards take extra exploit feat ?

5) Does bloodline development exploit work with crossblooded archetype (corssblooded sorcerer 1 / exploiter wizard X), and how ?
Do you get the bonus feat from your bloodline(s) this way?

6) The Impossible bloodline arcana doesn't make sense to me. If it removes only the mind-affecting immunity, constructs are still immune to sleep, stun and paralysis.
There are only a couple of compulsions spells left that can affect them (they aren't humanoids so its even less). if this is accurate, the arcana is pretty lackluster in my opinion. Did I misunderstand the bloodline arcana?

Any help with these would be greatly appreciated.

Hi, first time poster here.

My group is starting a fresh campaign and I have decided to make an android Magus (Iron gods adv. path).
I have a few questions regarding some rules interactions:

From what I have read online it seems you can use weapon finesse with touch attacks (spells like shocking grasp).
Where is this stated ? I am aware that delivering touch spells counts as an 'armed' unarmed attack, and unarmed strike counts as a light weapon.
If this is enough to make weapon finesse work for touch spells, can you use weapon focus(unarmed strike) to get a bonus when delivering touch spells? If not, why ?

Second question, can you make a full attack action with spellstrike and held charge? It seems to me that you should be able to.

Third question, I have seen the faq regarding magus spell recall and metamagic (regarding spell level). If you recall intensified shocking grasp, does it retain its metamagic or is it just a regular shocking grasp?

Final question, does dervish dance still work with spell combat ?

Any help is appreciated.