Jeon's page

Organized Play Member. 21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Thanks for the responses :)


From Core (cleric glory domain): Divine Presence (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of divine presence for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. All allies within this aura are treated as if under the effects of a sanctuary spell.....

My question is this: what is the size of this aura? Is it 30 ft radius from my character? Many other auras are a bit more specific but the cleric domain aura always have this wording.

Thanks for all responses


Regarding the beast-bonded witch archetype and the twin soul ability, under what conditions could I retake my body?

Say I leave my body at 0 hp and it then becomes damaged to the point of negative my constitution score (or lower). Could I heal the body and enter it again? Or would I need to resort to other spells such as restoration, reincarnation, or resurrection?

Twin soul(su):
:At 10th-level, if the witch or her familiar is gravely injured or about to die, the soul of the dying one immediately transfers to the other's body. The two souls share the surviving body peaceably, can communicate freely, and both retain their ability to think and reason. The host may allow the guest soul to take over the body temporarily or reclaim it as a move action. They can persist in this state indefinitely, or the guest can return to its own body (if available) by touch, transfer into a suitable vessel (such as a clone), or take over another body as if using magic jar (with no receptacle). This replaces the witch's major hex at 10th-level.


Under what conditions could i retake my body? Say I leave my body at 0 hp and it then becomes damaged to the point of negative my constitution score (or lower). Could I heal the body and enter it again?

Twin Soul (Su):
: At 10th-level, if the witch or her familiar is gravely injured or about to die, the soul of the dying one immediately transfers to the other's body. The two souls share the surviving body peaceably, can communicate freely, and both retain their ability to think and reason. The host may allow the guest soul to take over the body temporarily or reclaim it as a move action. They can persist in this state indefinitely, or the guest can return to its own body (if available) by touch, transfer into a suitable vessel (such as a clone), or take over another body as if using magic jar (with no receptacle). This replaces the witch's major hex at 10th-level.


This reminds me of a eidolon I built. It wielded a greatsword and had four claw attacks. We ruled that the feat multiattack and primary/secondary attacks worked better than considering two weapon fighting.

Or perhaps consider a barbarian using a greataxe and also having a bite attack (made at -5 like a secondary attack would be).


I actually think option A might be correct. Here is my reasoning:

First he spends his standard action to cast the spell, then (assuming he is in contact with his familiar) his familiar is designated as the toucher. Looking at the text from "touch spells in combat" the familiar could use a move action to move to the friendly target and use a free action to touch. Then a move action back. Or more accurately a double move action interrupted by a free action by the familiar.

Or am I missing something? I did find one issue in the section "holding the charge" right after Touch spells in combat. In this section touching a friend while holding a charge from a spell cast in a previous round did in fact require a standard action.

Core Rulebook: combat - Touch spells in combat:

Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Core rulebook: classes - wizard - Deliver Touch Spells (Su):

Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.

Holding the charge:

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.


How do i begin...I happen to have a permanent summon monster as a servant. Seriously, look at the antipaladin archetype from the advanced player's guide. I didn't think someone would give as much consideration as you have to the theme and mechanisms behind the spell so I didn't give a full background to the question. I expected a yes or no with a very short reason.

Thank you for going past my expectations in your answer.

Essentially I have a summoned monster that will be with my character for weeks or months and might have some role play with my antipaladin. Would it make sense for me to provide the creature a spell component?

Is a summoned monster truly incapable of using spells with an expensive component cost?

Edit: I have a broader problem with this same servant in this thread if you are curious http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pmxn?Antipaladin-feature-confusion


Dumb question but how do you have a familiar as a cleric? Are you multiclassing?


I think this might help:

This is a portion of the text for spell strike

Core Rulebook wrote:


..a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell..

So the weapon attack is part of casting of the spell. I would argue that the spell effect always comes after the character has finished casting the spell and therefore the harm spell would apply after the weapon damage.

However, I would like to hear what someone else has to say about the matter.


Full example:

A wizard summons a shadow demon. Normally a summoned creature can't cast a spell with an expensive component cost (what would count as too expensive?). However, what if the wizard gives the shadow demon the spell component (a gem or crystal worth at least 100 gp)for magic jar?

Does a summoned shadow demon not have access to the magic jar spell at all?


I don't see anything that explicitly says you can grapple a creature that is incorporeal. However, I would definitely agree that it makes complete sense that if you can damage an incorporeal creature with a ghost touch weapon that you should also be able to grapple them.

As for grappling a creature that is already grappled- I don't think it does anything to have a condition twice. You are grappled or your are not. I would just attack the grappled creature with your whip if you have the whip mastery feat.

ghost touch weapon property:
Ghost Touch: A ghost touch weapon deals damage normally against incorporeal creatures, regardless of its bonus. An incorporeal creature's 50% reduction in damage from corporeal sources does not apply to attacks made against it with ghost touch weapons. The weapon can be picked up and moved by an incorporeal creature at any time. A manifesting ghost can wield the weapon against corporeal foes. Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as both corporeal or incorporeal.

incorporeal:

Incorporeal: Creatures with the incorporeal condition do not have a physical body. Incorporeal creatures are immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects. Incorporeal creatures take full damage from other incorporeal creatures and effects, as well as all force effects.


Thank you!

Now i just need to find ways to abuse this.


Do the +2 attack bonuses from flank and charge apply for combat maneuvers such as trip? Additionally, can you substitute a trip attack at the end of a charge? The table I play at says no... but i think this might be because they are confusing 3.5 rules with path rules.

Quote:


from core rulebook: combat

When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll.

Thanks for any help!


Can you use cackle to extend an evil eye that lasts just one round?

Quote:


(from core rule book:combat)
When the rules refer to a “full round”, they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.
Quote:


Evil Eye (Su): The witch can cause doubt to creep into the mind of a foe within 30 feet that she can see. The target takes a –2 penalty on one of the following (witch's choice): AC, ability checks, attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks. This hex lasts for a number of rounds equal to 3 + the witch's Intelligence modifier. A Will save reduces this to just 1 round. This is a mind-affecting effect. At 8th level the penalty increases to –4.

So in this instance, because a failed save evil eye lasts just one round, wouldn't the hex end before your hackle could extend the curse?


I'd like to note that in actual play most of hexes and spells used by witches allow saves. I would choose slumber or ice tomb over misfortune in most cases. Debuff for one round vs shutting someone down for several rounds.

Adding to what Marthian posted-
I played a witch in a recent campaign and was shutdown anytime something undead came around. They have Immunity to all mind-affecting effects, death effects, disease, paralysis, sleep effects, and stunning. Additionally most any spell that required a fort save was useless.

However, witches are amazing at control and debuff against most anything else. Low level sleep hex after evil eye hex was brutally effective.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe the antagonize feat allows diplomacy to perform some actions during combat. However, I don't think they would fit with a pacifist build.

Quote:


Antagonize

Whether with biting remarks or hurtful words, you are adept at making creatures angry with you.

Benefit: You can make Diplomacy and Intimidate checks to make creatures respond to you with hostility. No matter which skill you use, antagonizing a creature takes a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and has a DC equal to 10+ the target's Hit Dice + the target's Wisdom modifier. You cannot make this check against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence score of 3 or lower. Before you make these checks, you may make a Sense Motive check (DC 20) as a swift action to gain an insight bonus on these Diplomacy or Intimitade checks equal to your Charisma bonus until the end of your next turn. The benefits you gain for this check depend on the skill you use. This is a mind-affecting effect.

Diplomacy: You fluster your enemy. For the next minute, the target takes a –2 penalty on all attacks rolls made against creatures other than you and has a 10% spell failure chance on all spells that do not target you or that have you within their area of effect.

Intimidate: The creature flies into a rage. On its next turn, the target must attempt to make a melee attack against you, make a ranged attack against you, target you with a spell, or include you in the area of a spell. The effect ends if the creature is prevented from attacking you or attempting to do so would harm it (for example, if you are on the other side of a chasm or a wall of fire). If it cannot attack you on its turn, you may make the check again as an immediate action to extend the effect for 1 round (but cannot extend it thereafter). The effect ends as soon as the creature attacks you. Once you have targeted a creature with this ability, you cannot target it again for 1 day.


How many times can I use the first spell per day? Actually, the question should be why even have that second paragraph if the first one allows an unspecified amount of servant summons?

I took the second paragraph as a limitation of the class feature- a limitation on the number of times per day you can bring back the servant.

I'm utterly confused as to whey they would implement two spells that do the same thing if your interpretation is the correct one.

My initial feeling is that paizo copy pasted from the paladin and changed flavor/fluff. Heal to hurt, celestial mount to evil servant. There should have been a unified paragraph with how many times per day the spell can be cast, casting time, and the spell's interactions with dispel, dismiss, and banish.

The summoner is a great example of this implimentation. One spell to ritually summon and another to move the eidolon around (maker's call).


For reverence, here is the full applicable text:

Quote:


The second type of bond allows an antipaladin to gain the service of a fiendish servant. This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and that creature must either have the chaotic and evil subtypes or it must be a fiendish animal. Once selected, the choice is set, but it may be changed whenever the antipaladin gains a level. Upon reaching 7th level, and every two levels thereafter, the level of the summon monster spell increases by one, to a maximum of summon monster IX at 17th level.

Once per day, as a full-round action, an antipaladin may magically call his servant to his side. This ability is the equivalent of a spell of a level equal to one-third the antipaladin's level. The servant immediately appears adjacent to the antipaladin. An antipaladin can use this ability once per day at 5th level, and one additional time per day for every four levels thereafter, for a total of four times per day at 17th level.

I read the second paragraph as the actual spell that my character would use to gain/call the servant, say after i dismissed it or after the 30 day wait period if it did die. So i don't know if i agree it is just gravy. It might be just an extra spell if you have a real horse such as a paladin would.


It seems strange that the antipaladin's servant is subject to dispel and the paladin's mount is not. Additionally, you would think the publisher would stipulate that dispel also triggers the 30 day wait time as it does do very much the same thing as banish (as you pointed out). I can foresee this being very common occurrence in the campaign I will be playing.

And to answer your last question about why i worry about teleport and component cost-
The summon monster spell has a section that states that a summoned creature can't summon other creatures, teleport, or use spells with an expensive component cost.

Thanks for helping me btw :)

edit: and referencing an earlier post about "call" and "summon"
I mentioned that to show the peculiarity of the section. The spell I use to bring my servant to me has the exact same wording as the paladin's. Yet, the spell effect seems to be much different. One just transports a mount to your location while the other is a summoning spell apparently.

Quote:


Once per day, as a full-round action, an antipaladin may magically call his servant to his side. This ability is the equivalent of a spell of a level equal to one-third the antipaladin's level. The servant immediately appears adjacent to the antipaladin. An antipaladin can use this ability once per day at 5th level, and one additional time per day for every four levels thereafter, for a total of four times per day at 17th level.


There are a couple major implications if the servant is summoned:
-can the servant be dispelled?
-would their be spell limitations for the servant such as teleport and spell component cost that go along with a summoned creature?

I am about to play an antipaladin in a campaign and I am trying to avoid future debates at the table.


As I compared paladin class features to those of the antipaladin I noticed some wording that has confused me regarding fiendish boon.

The wording of divine Bond and feindish boon are nearly identical. However, there seems to be a vast difference in the mechanics of the two features in the sections dealing with the mount/servant.

The paladin refers to a druid animal companion while the antipaladin refers to the summon monster spell (the level of which changes as your character levels).

Here is the confusion I am having: both the antipaladin and paladin have a mount/servant that is said to be an individual creature that is permanently with you (unless banished or killed). The antipaladin section states: that the servant is "permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature". Additionally, both paladin and antipaladin use the term "call" in the sections dealing with bringing the mount/servant to them.

How can this be consistent with a summon monster spell in the case of the antipaladin? summon spells are supposed to be different from calling spells in that you create a manifestation of a creature that goes away when the spell ends or when the creature is killed (not really, as the creature is reformed in 24 hours on it's home plane.

From core:

Quote:


Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation). Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.

Points to consider:

-Why would paizo switch the class feature to a real animal companion to a summoned manifestation?

-Why would they use the term "call" when referencing bring both mount/servant to you when call and summon have such different meanings? To see my point just compare the spells summon monster and planar ally.

-why the 30 day restriction on calling the servant again if it is killed or banished? This makes sense with a mount because it is real and died. There is no problem if my character summons a meat shield and have it die for me daily using the summon monster spell.

From APG:Antipaladin

Quote:


Should the antipaladin's fiendish servant die or be banished, the antipaladin may not summon another servant for 30 days or until he gains an antipaladin level, whichever comes first. During this 30-day period, the antipaladin takes a –1 penalty on attack and weapon damage rolls.

The only way this makes sense to me is if you actually gain a servant chosen from the summon monster list. It can die and is not just a summoned creature.