
Jamie Steier |
Jamie Steier wrote:
Just a sheer drop of 15'. They were technically behind a barrier as per the rules, but they would absolutely be able to hear it. Like you said, Spread doesn't exist any longer in 2e in general and I think that is my hang up. I came from 1e, and I played and GM’d for years there. I just need to separate those differences better and look at rulings in a different light. See my fancy illustration as follows for the original question.~~~~~~~~~C S
~~~~~~~--------
~~~~~~~|
~~F & W|
--------
C = Cleric - not part of the conversation
S = Sphinx - 60' emanation
F = Fighter - 25' away (hypotenuse)
W = Wizard - 20' away (hypotenuse)
~ = Open airI still don't understand the situation exactly (meaning the exact geometry). But it looks like characters below could have been fully covered from the effect (and consequently not affected at all). GM ruling is fine, but if you want consistency, I'd try to use straight lines from the source to potential targets.
'Auditory' doesn't mean that hearing an effect is enough to be affected. Line of effect still works. You could describe it as a difference in effect potency or straightline spread of magic (if the effect is magical).
Also there's no such thing as 'type of effects blocked by a barrier' last I've read the rules. Only that a barrier should be continuous.
Ya after a heavy re-read and discussion over the course of days it was indeed shown that the two that were 15' below the tower were indeed not applicable to the effect. Consistency is exactly what I tell my players and why I run RAW as much as possible. Again, at the end of the fight they defeated the sphinx without issue. The wizard lost a spell from deafness (DC 5 failed lol). Going forward, now we know. Thanks for the feedback!