Jakers's page

4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


@breithauptclan and @aw3som3-117, thanks for your inputs. I reread the section on durations on nethys: https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=291

Spells with a duration in rounds decrement at the start of the spell casters turn. So sounds like Flammable Fumes become flammable at the start of the caster's next turn.

So interpretion #2 is correct with the adjustment being its teh start of the turn not end.

Thanks again for your help!


When does the spell Flammable Fumes becomes flamable? There are a few different interpretations in our group of the phrase "One round after" and I'd like your inputs on the different view points and a ruling I'm considering making on them.

Flammable Fumes - https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=913

The disputed portion of the spell happens in the 2nd half which reads:
--
One round after you conjure the cloud, the gases loses stability and become flammable. If an open flame is brought into the cloud, or if anyone within the area uses a fire effect, the cloud detonates in a massive blaze that deals 10d6 fire damage to all creatures within it, and the spell ends.
--

Interpretation #1: The cloud becomes flammable at the end of the next Round. This would keep it consistent with how a dragon's Breath Weapon works when it has a recharge time of 1 Round. For example if on Round 1 PC casts Flammable Fumes it stays non-flammable for Round 1 since no round passed yet. On Round 2 it stays non-flammable for the same reason since the round. Finally at the start of Round 3 the cloud becomes flammable before anyone's turn starts.

Interpretation #2: The cloud becomes flammable at the end of the player's next turn. Reasoning being that a Round has gone by relative to the PC casting the spell. Round 1 cast spell, not flammable. Round 2 spell becomes flammable after casting PC's turn ends. This perspective views the non-flammability as if it were a status condition that auto decrements.

I'm thinking of ruling in favor of interpretation #1 for the following reasons:
1) The explosion damage offers no save for 10d6 fire damage AOE
2) This approach keep the decrement logic in Rounds consistent with other powerful AOE abilities that have a cool down like a dragon's Breath Weapon
3) If interpretation #2 were the case I'd expect phrasing like "becomes flammable at the end of your next turn" similar to many other actions are worded.

Any thoughts on these two interpretations? Any similar spells that work similarly?


I have questions around how substituting in INT mod in Devise A Stratagem from the Investigator class impacts the bonuses and penalties used in the Attack Roll.

If an Investigator is Clumsy 1 and decides to strike with a DEX weapon against an enemy they've Devise A Stratagem against on this round and substitute in their INT modifier does the resulting Attack Roll get impacted by Clumsy 1 or since the substitution occurs does that mean Clumsy 1 applies still?

Similarly same scenario as before but the investigator is Stupefied 1 instead of Clumsy 1 does Stupefied apply?

Lastly if the investigator is under the effects of Quicksilver Mutagen (Lesser) and does the INT mod substitution does the item bonus from Quicksilver Mutagen still apply since the Attack Rolls ability mod is substituted for INT and may no longer meet the DEX based Attack Roll definition?

I couldn't find any clear rules for how ability mod substitutions like these are processed order of operations wise. But I'm leaning towards that subbing in INT makes Stupefied 1 apply and not Clumsy 1. Similarly Quicksilver Mutagen (Lesser) item bonus would not apply.

Does anyone have any ideas or insights into how the substitution process works in more detail?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have questions around how substituting in INT mod in Devise A Stratagem from the Investigator class impacts the bonuses and penalties used in the Attack Roll.

If an Investigator is Clumsy 1 and decides to strike with a DEX weapon against an enemy they've Devise A Stratagem against on this round and substitute in their INT modifier does the resulting Attack Roll get impacted by Clumsy 1 or since the substitution occurs does that mean Clumsy 1 applies still?

Similarly same scenario as before but the investigator is Stupefied 1 instead of Clumsy 1 does Stupefied apply?

Lastly if the investigator is under the effects of Quicksilver Mutagen (Lesser) and does the INT mod substitution does the item bonus from Quicksilver Mutagen still apply since the Attack Rolls ability mod is substituted for INT and may no longer meet the DEX based Attack Roll definition?

I couldn't find any clear rules for how ability mod substitutions like these are processed order of operations wise. But I'm leaning towards that subbing in INT makes Stupefied 1 apply and not Clumsy 1. Similarly Quicksilver Mutagen (Lesser) item bonus would not apply.

Does anyone have any ideas or insights into how the substitution process works in more detail?