Jagster87's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Teemo should definitely be a Ranger, since he's a scout after all! Also, you can double up on a couple of archetypes that fit quite well for him and stack with each other.

The Trapper (https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/ranger/archetypes/paizo-rang er-archetypes/trapper) basically gives up the Ranger's spellcasting ability to use traps instead.

The Poison Darter (https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/ranger/archetypes/paizo-rang er-archetypes/poison-darter-ranger/) was basically made for Teemo! It replaces Favored Enemy, Wild Empathy and Hunter's Bond. In exchange you get a poison that is generally much more powerful than the ones you can buy, plus cheaper! You also get Sneak Attack and the option to take Alchemist Discoveries or Rogue Talents that deal with poison/sneak attack instead of the regular Combat Style Feats.

The beautiful thing is that these two archetypes stack, and they pretty much make up what Teemo is all about :)


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hey guys,

So I have a player playing an Unchained Monk and in the current combat, he has taken a 5 ft step, performed a standard action and then spent 2 ki to use Abundant Step to teleport somewhere else.

I want to make sure that this is a valid course of action. The break down of the actions is the following:

5 ft step = free action
Attack = standard action
Abundant Step = move action

While taking a move action doesn't necessarily remove the ability of taking a 5 ft step in that round (i.e. drawing a weapon, standing from prone, etc), the fact that in this case Abundant Step allows you to travel some distance via magical/supernatural means, makes it a bit confusing for me.

As I understand it, you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance. So would using Abundant Step to teleport somewhere else count as "moving" or would it not? I'm guessing that if it does, then he can only do one or the other, but if it doesn't then the course of action is fine.

Thanks ahead for any input.


Hey folks,

I was curious in regards to how the Ninja Tricks Vanishing Trick and Invisible Blade interact with Detect Magic. As written, these abilities are stated to function as Invisibility and Greater Invisibility, so my guess is that they would still emanate some sort of magical aura and their use could be detected by Detect Magic. However, I wanted to get some input on this in case there has been something official said somewhere that I may have missed, or if anyone has a valid argument for why their use wouldn't be detected via Detect Magic.

Thanks in advance! :)


Curghann wrote:

From my accounting this spell does not interact at all with spells like scorching Ray.

Scorching Ray is not a "Range: Touch" spell (as written) which is what is intended for this ability to work with.

Hmm, that's a fair point. Given, Scorching Ray does say that it requires a ranged touch attack, so I'm not sure whether it is so black and white or not. That's why I need help in figuring it out :)

Thanks for the input nonetheless!


Hi again,

So one of my players is playing a wizard with the Sword Binder archetype. This archetype grants the wizard an ability called "Sword of the Mage," and we are both a little confused as to how that ability interacts with certain spells.

All the PCs are at 10th level by this point, so the wizard's ability allows them to do the following:

"At 8th level, when a sword binder casts a ranged touch spell or activates this ability to cast a touch spell through it, he can send his bound sword to deliver the spell and strike the target in one motion. Rather than a touch attack, he makes a ranged attack with the sword. If the sword hits, it deals normal weapon damage for hand of the apprentice and the spell automatically hits that target. If the sword misses, the spell lingers on the weapon and the sword binder can attempt to deliver the spell again by activating this ability as a standard action. If the sword binder drops or sheaths the weapon with the spell’s charge still held, the charge dissipates to no effect."

So with that in mind, how would this ability work with spells such as Scorching Ray? Would it require a single attack roll and all rays are used up against that single target? Or would it require multiple attack rolls, thus consuming more than a single daily use of the ability?

How about with spells such as Chill Touch, that hold multiple charges? My gut tells me that with this spell, a single use of the ability, would discharge a single charge (1d6 neg. energy damage plus 1 STR damage) per use of the ability instead of all of them. Otherwise at 10th level it would be discharging 10 charges of Chill Touch for 10d6 damage plus 10 STR damage in a single attack roll used by the ability.

I'd appreciate any thoughts and inputs on this that may clarify things for me and my player. Thank you in advance for your consideration :)


Thanks for the input guys!

I was considering doing just that, allowing her to use the readied MM against the attacker who just got the jump on her. It makes the most sense really, since that guy would be the most immediate threat to her anyway.


So if this is the last "hostile" action in the round, would the wizard then lose her action altogether? Or could she just take the readied action AFTER the attack by the invisible attacker?

I get that she is unaware of the attack for obvious reasons, but I'm trying to figure out if it would be possible for her to still cast her readied Magic Missile against her attacker after he surprises her with a rapier in the back.

Thanks for the input! :)


Hey folks,

So I've been trying to find info on this, and I haven't found something in these threads that deals specifically with such a situation.

I have a wizard in my game that has readied an action to cast Magic Missile against the next enemy that takes a hostile action against the party.

There is a bandit standing right behind her, who is currently invisible thanks to a potion. Said bandit is next up on the initiative, and is about to stab the wizard with its rapier.

How is the readied action handled in this case? I know that the rule is that they happen right before the triggering attack, but is there a clause for when the PC that has readied the action is unaware of said attack? Would the readied action trigger right after the attack? Would it not trigger at all in this instance, only to trigger against another enemy hostile act later in the initiative?

Any thoughts on this are much appreciated. Thanks in advance!