Ivalios's page

9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


So quick question: The Darkblight states that long range teleportation can't cross the border between blighted and non blighted portions. I have a player who's prefered method of slaying baddies is to forcefully planeshift them into the plane of positive energy and let them explode eventually...

How does Planeshift interact with the blight? It doesn't technically cross any border.


Looking for input/suggestions/thoughts regarding the Draugr encouter in Joskaldalr.

The captain has an axe which gives temp negative levels, harsh but ok, sure. How would you deal with a PC who has multiple negative levels become permanent?

I don't figure that the PCs end up having enough resources on hand after trying to buy gear from the ship, and anyone with multiple permanent negative levels, at lvl 3-4, is going to be hard pressed even surviving most encounters, let alone be helpful.


IMHO, the GP penalty is enough of a stopper at a lower level to make players learn the lessons...

That being said, as was previously mentioned, the triple 20 rule is nice to have... but it leads to situations like these, where there is no control to be had at all on the "significance" of death.

BUT, if you're going to play it out as RP, I'd go for the Witch, possibly throwing in an extra twist in addition to that little herb quest. Maybe a favor to be claimed at a later point?

Keep in mind, as the story progresses, that the players will eventually be able to resurrect themselves at some point. In our group, we have a fighter that just keeps on dying (running gag at this point), and we have me (Mystic Theurge - 3 CLE/3 WIZ/8 MT), an Oracle and a support speced paladin with Ultimate Mercy? Death is a thing from the past at this point... This WILL happen as your party progresses...


Axolotl wrote:

Can a mute Oracle scream?

If so...

As this is a different situation (and I haven't seen a curse that makes the Oracle mute), it's beyond the point. Were the Oracle, for whatever reason, not able to produce any kind of sound, AT ALL (and mute people can still moan and create sound), I would say that yes, he would by default take the full effect. Again, only in the very unlikely event he would not, under normal circumstances, be able to emit some form of sound (or mental communication) to signal that he is suffering.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ok, so, from what I am reading, there's really no question here

Silence wrote:
Upon the casting of this spell, complete silence prevails in the affected area. All sound is stopped: Conversation is impossible, spells with verbal components cannot be cast, and no noise whatsoever issues from, enters, or passes through the area. The spell can be cast on a point in space, but the effect is stationary unless cast on a mobile object. The spell can be centered on a creature, and the effect then radiates from the creature and moves as it moves. An unwilling creature can attempt a Will save to negate the spell and can use spell resistance, if any. Items in a creature's possession or magic items that emit sound receive the benefits of saves and spell resistance, but unattended objects and points in space do not. Creatures in an area of a silence spell are immune to sonic or language-based attacks, spells, and effects.

For this, we can determine that Silence stops sound from being *perceived*. We can write off the spellcasting to the lack of accuracy in the sounds because, really, if you can't hear yourself, the odds are you won't be able to tune your voice to accurately create the sounds required for spellcasting which should by any rights be fairly complex.

Does Silence stop you from screaming? No. Does it stop sound from being perceived? Yes. Why this conclusion? Because it prevents sound from *travelling*, hence it stops the vibrations that carry the sound, thus preventing the perception of that sound. It does not prevent the sound from actually being created.

As a sidenote; Good job on keeping things civilised :)


Hi,

Just to clarify, while you can select up to 6 abilities, only the first 3 will be active.

Each instance of "Intelligent" counts as an ability in and of its own.

This means that, you could have Foe-bitter, Intelligent and Upgradable active at tier 3, and then each tier, you would unlock another "Intelligent" unless, as mentioned by Melkiador previously, you take Mythic Paragon.

As a side note, there's one major reason why you would want to take Legendary Item at tier 3 or 6: To push it to minor or major artifact.
That means that taking Legendary Item at tier 3 would allow you to have Foe-bitter, as it specifies the items needs to be a minor or major artifact.


Hello,

While playing a game, me and my companions stumbled about a perplexing combination of effects, and we're just wondering if our interpretation is correct...

The druid of the party cast a Stonecall (difficult terrain which doubles the cost of movement) and then cast Sirocco (causes fatigue and exhaustion later on)

So, right now, just to be sure: Fatigue/Exhaustion decreases movement speed by half (From 30ft to 15ft for your standard character) and to move 3 5ft squares, it'll cost him his full round... if the math if correct...

Now come the interesting part: Our Arcanist cast Mythic Slow on the poor chaps, causing the staggered condition and decreasing movement speed down to a quarter. Are we only going to be taking the biggest penalty here (1/4 movement instead of full) or are we stacking them?

Because, to us, it looks like this 3 spell combination will lock down a group of enemies, as they cannot full round (Staggered)thus negating the minimum movement rule (See below)

Minimum Movement Rule:
Minimum Movement: Despite whatever penalties to movement you might have, you can take a full-round action to move 5 feet (1 square) in any direction, even diagonally. This rule doesn't allow you to move through impassable terrain or to move when all movement is prohibited. Such movement provokes attacks of opportunity as normal (despite the distance covered, this move isn't a 5-foot step).


Hi,

I've come across an interesting situation where the player wants to use a corpse as a meat shield against archers and I did not see anything in the core book that would cover that...

Now, I would like to know your opinion as to how to rule this...


Lately, I've been thinking of doing an Oracle of Metal, with the Iron weapon revelation. However, the question that came up among that group was wether a weapon created with Iron weapon had the same durability as a weapon bought normally, the best example being a Spear.

If someone could shed light on this matter, it would be greatly appreciated.