![]() ![]()
Ixal wrote:
He has Gentle Repose, so there should be no problem casting it every day on the way back. But in regards to dragging it, why should it not work? Did I read the rules wrong?
Quote: In some situations, you might drag an object or creature rather than carry it. If you’re dragging something, treat its Bulk as half. So, to drag the dragon would only be 6 Bulk. All 4 Characters have a strength modifier of +4 currently, with two of them even having the Hefty Hauler feat. Without any equipment on, each of them, while then under penalty due to the weight, could even carry it, as they have a bulk limit of 14 or 16 respectively. ![]()
Sorry for my late response, but I just went to bed after my last message and had a long day of work. Malk_Content, I really love the idea. But they already have an NPC in mind to help them with the skinning and harvesting of the carcass. I will keep this in mind for something they might not be able to get back to town. As to how they can get it back, see below in my response to Ixal. Captain Morgan wrote: You wouldn't happen to be playing Ironfang Invasion would you? Nah, I am currently running a homebrew campaign after we finished “The Fall of Plaguestone”. The party continued their journey to Almas and after some side quests established a small base of operation there. They are now leading a small guild and – following the rule of Pokemon – try to collect every NPC they like for their guild. Ixal wrote:
They actually lucked out on this one. Their party normally consists of a Fighter, Champion, Warpriest Cleric and an Alchemist. For this mission the Alchemist stayed back in their guild due to a decision of the player, which led to their barbarian guild member NPC to come along, controlled by the Alchemist player, so that he had something to do. Following their quest, they just came back from a dwarven mine and were guarding a huge delivery of iron and other metal ores on its way to a cargo ship. They were attacked quite close to the harbor town they wanted to reach and were able to slay the dragon on the spot. Now they plan to drag the dragon to port and get it shipped over on the cargo ship with the iron. It will then be harvested at their guild. They most certainly will have to pay the captain something to take it along, but this is something they already accepted.![]()
Thank you for your responses. So I will go with around 240 gp worth of dragonhide for now, as this seems to be more reasonable. If they can get the amount needed for high-grade armor from an Ancient Dragon is something I have to consider when we get there. But as the campaign will be close to over by then, it would not matter that much anymore. And yes, they would not even be able to craft the item level 19 dragonhide armor, but what would stop them from selling the hide? So staying with the standard-grade for now seems to be a good idea, to not break the economy in their current hometown/city too much. ![]()
As I said, I am really glad the spell does not exist in our campaign. Otherwise, I would need to worry about Golarion without any monsters. :) But back to the dragonhide problem: I just tried to figure out how much they could get out of the Black Dragon, but the problem I have now is with the standard-grad and high-grad dragonhide. If it were only enough for standard-grade equipment and I go by the above rule from 1e, they would only get around 240 gp of dragonhide (Hide armor and every medium armor is 2 Bulk, so 200 + 40). But if it already were enough for a high-grade armor, they would get 19,200 gp in dragonhide (16,000 + 3,200 for the Bulk). It overall just feels a bit problematic to find the correct equivalent of the above rule in the 2e ruleset. ![]()
I had to look up the spell, as you had me worried what kind of shenanigans the party could do with it. Luckily it seems to be a homebrew spell, so for now there are still some Ancient Black Dragons alive to fight against later. And thank you for you response. If there is no official rule for 2e I overlooked, I will just follow the one I quoted. ![]()
Hello everyone, I most likely overlooked it while searching the Core Rulebook, but I can't seem to figure out what amount of dragon parts the party could harvest from a dragon. The party was just able to slay an Adult Black Dragon und want to transport it back to their guild. How much could they harvest from it? I don't want to hand out too much and later regret it. The only rules I found about this are from Pathfinder 1e: Quote: Armorsmiths can work with the hides of dragons to produce armor or shields of masterwork quality. One dragon produces enough hide for a single suit of masterwork hide armor for a creature one size category smaller than the dragon. By selecting only choice scales and bits of hide, an armorsmith can produce one suit of masterwork banded mail for a creature two sizes smaller, one suit of masterwork half-plate for a creature three sizes smaller, or one masterwork breastplate or suit of full plate for a creature four sizes smaller. In each case, enough hide is available to produce a light or heavy masterwork shield in addition to the armor, provided that the dragon is Large or larger. Thank you all for any possible help. ![]()
Thank you all again for the helpful information. I actually did not realize that bandoliers were taken out with the last errata. Most of the information I have comes from the Core Rulebook and Advanced Players Guide I have at home as well as sometimes Archives of Nethys if I want to look something up real quick. And as only the last one is updated with the errata, I completely missed it. Time to download and read the 2nd print version of the rule book to check what changed. ![]()
I did not realize that items in the sleeves are considered stowed. My mistake was reading over this part of the sleeves’ item description that says it functions as a bag of holding. This lead to me missing the bag of holding description stating that Quote: You can Interact with the bag of holding to stow items… Because of this I missed the one important word that could have helped me with this. Especially considering that I checked the rules for carrying and using items and felt that the way the sleeves function would rather put the items inside of them in the worn category, as items in the sleeves can be retrieved relatively quickly. Quote: A character carries items in three ways: held, worn, and stowed. Held items are in your hands; a character typically has two hands, allowing them to hold an item in each hand or a single two-handed item using both hands. Worn items are tucked into pockets, belt pouches, bandoliers, weapon sheaths, and so forth, and they can be retrieved and returned relatively quickly. Stowed items are in a backpack or a similar container, and they are more difficult to access. Next time I have to be more careful while checking the rules. And some sleep before posting would have been great as well. This way my first post would not be missing important words that I am now unable to add. Thank you for your help and have a wonderful day. ![]()
Hello everyone. I tried searching for my question but found no thread about it while on my investigation through the forums. In the campaign I am running one of my players considers getting the Quick Bomber feat for his Alchemist. As far as it is written, this would allow him to get out and throw the bomb from pouches, bandoliers and other easy-to-reach pouches with the same action. But what we were wondering is the following:
When I asked a friend that ran Pathfinder 2e before, he told me that it should not work, as the way a magic item works could not be influenced by a feat. But I found no rule like that in the Core Rule Book. There even is the skill “Trick Magic Items”, so he most likely is wrong.
Thank you all in advance for any insight you could give me. |