![]() ![]()
I have put together some content for Vinst, although some of it is player specific here is what I have that is not. [description for initial appearance]
Who are you?
Random Lore Limmerick:
Both are in anapestic provided you use open vowel pronunciations when appropriate. The first limerick is his "explanation" of why his eyes are red and the second is a reference to Treerazer's familial connections and banishment. ![]()
Universal Monster Rules wrote: Trample (Ex) As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature's slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature's trample attack is 10 + 1/2 creature's HD + creature's Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature. If target of the trample is flat footed without Combat Reflexes are they denied a saving throw? I haven't seen this adjudicated before and I anticipate it may come up in a future session so I was hoping to get feedback on how others in the community interpret this situation. I imagine it is intended that a creature who could take an AoO but doesn't threaten for whatever reason would still be allowed make a save (at least that is how I intended to rule it). ![]()
I have been searching the forums for an answer to this but to no avail. After reading the trample description I was left unsure as to how it plays out in game. Since the text doesn't say movement doesn't provoke AoO's such as whirlwind I assume that moving out of a threatened square provokes and the description of trample indicates the act of trampling also provokes, so if both actions provoke then can the tramplee take the AoO against the movement without the penalty? If the tramplee has combat reflexes he/she could then take or forgo the trample AoO as he/she saw fit. In that situation if the tramplee doesn't have combat reflexes he /she would not have an AoO to forgo and would have no choice but to eat the full damage?. This ability would play out much better if only movement or the act of trampling provoked and not both and if it really does work the way I think it does then the whole -4 penalty would only ever be taken if someone takes two AoO's via combat reflexes. How is this mechanic supposed to work? How have you implemented it or seen it implemented? ![]()
I found an official post regarding tremorsense, but it doesn't really provide any clarification for this question:
Ross Byers wrote:
![]()
In a recent game a DM ruled that tremorsense can only detect creatures or objects that are moving, thus creating a tremor. However, reading the rule that doesn't appear to be the intent. Does tremorsense really require movement to detect? Quote:
Basically "sense vibrations" vs "anything in contact with the ground" If it is only movement then how the heck does an earth elemental move in its own plane without running into things? ![]()
When using the kusarigama with both hands (not using it as a double weapon) are we attacking with the ball for bludgeoning damage and does that end grapple on crits? Can we also use it in this manner (with both hands and not as a double weapon) for trips? I ask because the item description appears to be fluff since it mentions blocking (which isn't a property of this weapon) and doesn't explicitly redefine the range when used as a double weapon such as the double-chained kama. From the real life uses of this weapon I could see how the ball end could be used for both grappling (wrapping the chain around the head or arms) or tripping (wrapping the chain around the legs and pulling). Using the sickle for reach attacks doesn't seem to make sense, but not all mechanics are supposed to translate to real life I guess. Anyway, can you explain what you think or know the intention of this weapon to be? ![]()
Do you honestly find yourself needing to take 150' shot often enough that as a melee class you would invest into a fairly expensive weapon? I honestly can only remember a single time when a shot like that was even possible and useful. The gold required to invest in a weapon to do what you are suggesting would be better spent on something else. If a Pistolero wants to waste resources for such a rare contingency then by all means. ![]()
As a melee pistolero after level 3, or 4 depending on if you take toughness at level 1, you have no AoO for shooting in melee (Deft Shootist Dead) and there is not -4 to hit when shooting "in melee" only when shooting "into a melee". Also, a ranged shot with a -4 against touch is probably better than a melee attack against AC when bosses are concerned. For example, Skeletal Champion (CR-2) has a 21 AC and a 12 touch which makes a -4 look pretty good. ![]()
You said "Pistolero is considered one of the most powerful Archetypes there is. Mainly because most campaigns tend to be in tight spaces making the Shorter Range less of a hindrance." Implying that I said Pistolero was worthless. I said that having gun training as a Pistolero is not necessarily worthless because it would allow you to pick up another archetype. ![]()
The most relevant source I found is another thread that is current which means continuing to discuss this in this thread is silly Mysterious Stranger / Pistolero legality ![]()
Just because someone thinks an interpretation is fairly obvious doesn't mean it is right. I hate to be nit picky but I want to rely on facts and RAW not interpretations that might be right or should be right. They are worthless if the only archetype you play is a Pistolero, however, the modification of that ability affects what archetypes you can legally use with Pistolero, so it actually has "value" by being there. ![]()
I didn't know about the altered part, good to know. Where does it say that Pistolero replaces Gun Training? Both Hero Lab and d20pfsrd d20pfsrd indicate that Gun Training is not replaced. Edit: I checked into the altered clause you mentioned:
Quote: A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different. Pistolero doesn't alter it as another class feature, it is the same class feature at a different level, but I guess that is just wishful reading. ![]()
I picked up the Class Acts pdf for Gunslingers and I really like the Grim Outlaw archetype, however, I want to be certain it can be combined with the Pistolero archetype. I see two possible conflicts: 1)Pistolero changes the level you get Deadeye and Grim Outlaw replaces it (I don't think this would create a problem, but I wasn't sure) 2) Grim Outlaw replaces Gun Training 1-4 (As far as I know Pistolero doesn't remove those abilities, however, I have seen discussions regarding the redundancy and didn't know if an errata had been put out that changed the Pistolero archetype to now replace them). Is anyone aware if this combo is legal or has anyone played this combo in Society play? |