
Gazragar |

So I had an interesting conflict come up in a game I played last night, in which the Cavalier had the Impressive Mount dedication feat (https://2e.aonprd.com/Archetypes.aspx?ID=53), making his mount mature and unlocking "During an encounter, even if you don't use the Command an Animal action, your animal companion can still use 1 action on your turn to Stride or Strike."
The issue came up when someone else at the table pointed out the Mounted Combat rules (https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=463) - TL;DR, if you don't command a mount, your mount can't act.
"You must use the Command an Animal action to get your mount to spend its actions. If you don’t, the animal wastes its actions. If you have the Ride general feat, you succeed automatically when you Command an Animal that’s your mount.
For example, if you are mounted on a horse and you make three attacks, your horse would remain stationary since you didn’t command it. If you instead spent your first action to Command an Animal and succeeded, you could get your mount to Stride. You could spend your next action to attack or to command the horse to attack, but not both."
So there's the question - which rule overrides which, given the context? It seems rather odd that such a Feat would get a portion of it hampered just by virtue of being in the saddle rather than next to the animal, but it could also be argued that you still get the intrinsic benefit of having a hardier steed.